We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our first trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marginal Way House and Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marginal Way House and Motel to your Saves list
Marginal Way House and Motel
22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not our first trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have to agree with one of the reviewers: this place does require an overhaul. However, in spite of its age, the Marginal Way House is absolutely lovely. Great location, at only a few minutes walk from the beach, Ogunquit downtown and the Marginal Way. Clean and quiet with an exceptional view over the ocean. This is not our first trip here, we love it and keep coming back, never get tired. Will not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: The Dockside motel has the best views over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Room 11 in main house Sept 29. Checked reviews and booked here for one night. What is drab and dated in a hotel or motel is quaint and charming in a guest house, as this spot is. Enjoyed location, decor, ambience and crashing waves. Just as advertised, and better views than higher rated spots we've visited before. Perfect get away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I should have read these other reviews more carefully before booking here! The location is great and the views are wonderful, but that's where it ends. While the staff (maybe the owners and their family?) were nice, I think that they just don't have a clue about how old, outdated, and in need of repair this place is. The bathroom was so old I didn't even want to use it. The sink would not drain so my husband took it upon himself to clean the drain in the middle of the night--disgusting. They left shampoo bootles that were obviously re-used and not even full, the refrigerator was rustly....I could go on and on. And it's really too bad because they have a great piece of property that I know I could make into a world class inn with not a lot of money. If you are used to motel type rooms you might be OK with all of this; if you usually book higher end hotels with granite, etc., this place will not meet your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Waking up to the sunrise over the Atlantic made our stay to the Marginal Way house a good one. We stayed on the third floor in a room looking out on the ocean, and while the configuration of the room was a little odd with the sink by the window away from the bathroom we were happy with the place. It was clean, the bed was fairly comfortable and the location made it an easy walk to everywhere we wanted to go in town.Our room was large for the age of the house, however the age did show through in parts of the house. Overall good stay for our first trip to the Maine Coast.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was in the perfect location (it's in the center of town yet you can easily walk to the beach).

And I didn't care that the place is old - the stairs to rooms are steep and narrow, the rooms are small, the furniture is older, the rooms don't have phones, the bathrooms don't have any electrical outlets, there isn't a pool, and WiFi is available only in the main building in the evening.

But t seems like the owners are doing the bare minimum on the upkeep on this place. In our room, the cushions on our wicker furniture were stained (and they had already been flipped once as the other side had even worse stains), the bathroom faucet leaked, one lamp didn't work (which we told management and asked for a new lightbulb but never received one during our 5-night stay), one set of sheets and towels were stained, the stand for our fridge was ancient and badly rusted, and one bed had seen better days. Outside of our room, the screen of a screen door continuously fell out, the ceiling of the porch in our building badly needed scrapping and repainting, and an iron railing was badly rusted. The staff consists of college kids.

There are too many nice places to stay in Ogunquit and while I loved the location, we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location and views are great. The property offers lots of opportunity to be outside. The walk to the beach is short. Everything was perfect except for the temperature of the ocean! Our room had a fabulous view. It would be advisable for rhe housekeeping staff to do a more thorough cleaning before turning over rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The only positive comment about our stay was the location. We stayed in an appartment for 6, we were 3, small and not very clean. Our first night there, we found a clump of hair between the sheets. I've been going to Ogunquit for several years now, I will not be staying there again!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marginal Way House and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marginal Way House and Motel

Address: 22 - 24 Wharf Lane, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tradition of Maine's summer resorts, the Marginal Way House has been welcoming visitors since at least 1911. Located on Wharf Lane, two blocks from the center of town, directly across from the Ogunquit Beach, the Marginal Way House offers incomparable views of the beach and coastline. Offering 3 types of rooms including hotel rooms in our Main and Wharf House buildings, motel rooms in our Dockside Motel, and efficiency apartments which are located through out our 5 building complex. Pets are accepted off season only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marginal Way House and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marginal Way House Hotel Ogunquit
Marginal Way Hotel
Marginal Way Motel
Marginal Way House And Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marginal Way House and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.