We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Motel to your Saves list
Sea View Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   417 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Boston, MA, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Sea View Motel on Main St., Route 1, in Ogunquit, Maine, has an excellent location only a few minutes from some excellent restaurants such as The Egg and I (for breakfast) and Angelina’s (for dinner). The trolley stops nearby and makes more sense than trying to find a parking space downtown. There is a CVS and a mall with a supermarket a miles north and the Ogunquit Playhouse is a few miles south. (Summer of Love is currently playing and really brings you back to the flower power ‘60’s.) Kittery, with its outlet malls and Kittery Trading Post, is about fifteen minutes south on Route 1.

We stayed in the Garden Terrace building next door to the main motel because it had been redone last year. The room had a new (but fairly small) flat screen TV, new AC, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, free Wi-Fi, and included a continental breakfast. The building is set back far enough from the road so that you won’t be bothered by the traffic noise.

The staff were very accommodating. We arrived in Ogunquit early and called to see if we could check in early. Since the previous occupants had already checked out, the desk clerk said he would ask the maid to do our room and it would be ready in an hour, which it was. I’ve certainly been to enough other hotels that kept strictly to their check-in policy to appreciate the desk clerk going the extra mile for us.

The Sea View is very reasonably priced for what you get and we’ll definitely be returning. The only disappointment we had was driving up to Kennebunkport and not seeing George and Barbara. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    50
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kensington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

In June, my wife and I returned to Ogunquit and stayed at the Sea View. We have stayed there several times over the past few years. It was nice to see the improvements that have been made over the years. We had a great visit and enjoyed ourselves. The Sea View's location is ideal as you can easily walk to the town center to the south and many nice restaurants. Our favorite for breakfast is "The Egg and I" just up route 1 a short walk from the Sea View. We were fortunate to have some nice weather while we were there. JJ (the owner) was very friendly and even showed us how to cut a pineapple.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange, vt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

July 4th weekend 2011 my husband and I decide to go to Maine with our Porsche Boxster convertible. Unfortunately the weather turned bad and we had forgot our car cover. The owner JJ Mokarzel and Eric from the hotel staff offered to clean out the hotel garage and let us keep our car in there overnight. I can't say enough nice things about the staff at this hotel. We also received great service from the hotel front desk with any questions about the area. The place was clean and very close to the action. We will definately stay there again. S & K Town

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

we stay at sea view june 9-11 let me say the motel was clean it was the perfect location a 5 minute walk to the center and beach , we meet the owner JJ he was great when we got there there we ask him for a microwave in the room with in minutes he was at the door with one his staff is very pleasant always greet us with a smile in the morning we will defintely be back to stay with jj and his staff again thank you jj for a pleasant stay see you soon
donald and michelle

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We have been staying at Sea View Motel for more than 20 years, wouldn't stay anywhere else, rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is fantastic, especially Cathy.
Have recommended this motel to friends and they feel the same way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Have been here for the last 4 years. It keeps getting better and better! Good location, clean, owners and employees very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to getting back for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We have stayed at the Seaview numerous times over the years and marvel at how nice the people are, how inexpensive the motel is and how clean the rooms are. The staff is the friendliest and thoughtful bunch of people I have ever experienced at a motel. For example, one day we forgot to remove the Do Not Disturb sign from our door and after a day of sightseeing, we came home to a neat package of clean towels for the next day sitting in front of our door to our room. The staff wanted to make sure we had clean towels and had left them for us - on the chance that we forgot to remove the Do Not Disturb tag. Who does that for customers! Kathy at the front desk is incredibly nice and a font of valuable information and tips for the area. Whenever we come to New England, the Seaview is one of the places we make sure we stay at. It's like a breath of fresh air!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Motel

Address: 417 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#22 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale Resort Style motel located less than 1/2 mile from beautiful Ogunquit Beach. All rooms have been recently updated, and we have many complimentary ammenities. These include Free Wi-Fi, Free Continental Breakfast, Free Parking, Free Long Distance Phone calls to all of the USA AND Canada! Rooms have AC, Phones, 32 or 36 inch flat screen TV, Duvet bedding with multiple pillows, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refridgerator, in rom safe. Irons and Ironing borads are available upon request. Guest reviews speak for themselves, we are totally focused on our guest experience. Thanks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Ogunquit
Sea View Ogunquit
Sea View Motel Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.