We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ogunquits Best...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Save
You added The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
85 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ogunquits Best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Been coming here for over 10 years and have never been disappointed with The Sparhawk. Great service and the cleanest rooms i have ever stayed in. The grounds are spotless and the staff is Great .Look forward to our Trip every year.

Room Tip: Always stay in Ireland house rooms 77 to 79 ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    25
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
46
87
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oakville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Over 30 yrs and counting ...spectacular vistas, cosy, fresh air, friendly folks , plus plus plus....
Set out from here early morning for a stroll along the marginal way or head to the beach and let your toes dig into the sand ...let the ocean sounds lull you to sleep....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

On Memorial Day, the large breakfast room had fresh flowers and a small American flag on each table. It's touches like these that set Sparhawk aside from the rest. I enjoy sitting and looking at the ocean. The small balcony and large windows in my room allowed me to do just that, even when the weather turned bad. Will return

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was our first visit to Sparhawk. From the moment we steppedinto the office to the time we left after a stay of 4 nights we were overwhelmed by the attention to detail. Our accommodation was superb, the grounds were immaculate and the proximit to themain street was easiy walkable. The continental breakfast offered various selections and the staff was very well trained. Everything relating to Sparhawk is clean and excellent wuality. How could you not wan to come back?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adk mts, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for first time for an anniversary get away. Reserved a ocean front sea wall level room but changed to an available upper level room. So worth the switch! The upper level rooms are recently renovated and much brighter with bigger windows overlooking the ocean. Renovated rooms have softer beds in my opinion. Book early as many visitors are repeats. Clean, comfortable and quite.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We booked a last minute weekend in Ogunquit, staying at the Sparhawk. It is a combination inn and motel. We were fortunate enough to stay in great room with a view one of the inn buildings. The room was great. Clean, well decorated and a separate seating area from the sleeping area. There was a balcony overlooking the property and the ocean. This would be a great hotel to stay in during the summer - they have great amenities - pool, tennis court, and beautiful grounds. There is a path directly leading onto the Marginal Way. The only negative I would say about this hotel is the breakfast was so basic, and awful!! However, I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Sparhawk is our favorite place to stay on the southern Maine coast. It's location directly on the water can't be beat. One can walk to local attractions and restaurants, plus town trolley runs. Nice breakfast buffet too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Address: 85 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.