We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room on the ocean, breakfast included, caring staff-who could want anything more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort
Save
You added The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
85 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“A room on the ocean, breakfast included, caring staff-who could want anything more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This has been our eigth year at Sparhawk and it seems that we can't get enough of this lovely resort. We always stay on the top floor of the oceanfront motel-style units. The water on high tide literally is directly below the balconies. We leave the windows open all night, since there is no need for air conditioning, and smell the salt air and hear the waves crashing all night. Even if there is a rainy day, guests can sit in the new chairs that Sparhawk has just purchased, and look out the big window at the ocean. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The housekeepers are wonderful and make sure everything is just right.

The inground vinyl pool has been replaced with a new gunite one and it is heated. The water was very clean and the towels were bigger this year. There is a tennis court, too. Beautiful flowers are everywhere and the Marginal Way, a path that follows the coast to Perkin's Cove, starts at Sparhawk.

The hotel is in the middle of town and guests can walk to just about anything. There is also plenty of parking for cars, and the trolly makes a stop near. As for breakfast, it is included, and each morning fresh warm muffins of different types are baked, and there is cereal, breads, fruit, yogurt along with coffee, juices and other beverages.

I love Sparhawk. It is my favorite place to vacation. There is no single type of guest at Sparhawk: families can be seen having a fantastic time along with retired couples. There is something for everyone. Don't miss out!!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront motel syle rooms have the best view. The top floors have the best sun, while the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    25
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
45
84
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Have been staying in Ogunquit for 23 years. The Sparhawk has been our vacation home for 21 years. NEVER have we been disappointed. The grounds and the accomodations are beautiful and very well maintained. The service staff and the front desk people always go out of their way to be helpful. The continental breakfast is varied and very satisfying. This resort is a great value for your dollar.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Sparhawk was highly recommended to me to visit in Ogunquit. I was fortunate to find accommodation there as I went in high season. The room was wonderful overlooking the river and the ocean. The staff were very friendly and particularly the fabulous woman who cleaned our room. It is not usual to find someone in her position who looks to help, but she was really good. The hotel does not provide a coffee machine on the room but does have coffee in the office all day for free. The breakfast was also good and the whole feeling was one of being in a B&B with a proper hotel room. The room does have a fridge although I only found it at the end underneath the sink. The location is outstanding in terms of the town and for walking along the Marginal Way. My only thing I would change would be that the furniture in the rooms could be freshened up a bit. Otherwise a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We go to Ogunquit 2 or 3 times a year and wouldn't stay anywhere but the Sparhawk. It is perfectly located in the village on the ocean. The ocean views are outstanding. The grounds are beautiful. A wide varitity of room options are available. Breakfast is included as part of your stay. Jennifer and her staff are always so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohoes, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is the best place we have stayed at in Ogunquit or Wells. There is nothing negative to say here at all. We have an oceanfront room with a very comfortable king bed. This is our first time staying here and we did not know what to expect. At other places around here we have had certain expectations and then its a major disappointment. This place does not disappoint. Its spotless!!! Plus I had overlooked the continential breakfast description online when I made the reservation so this was an added surprise to us. What a great place and we can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My wife and I love this place. We have stayed here for the past 13 years in late August as our "end of the summer" finale. The room we book is a oceanfront unit with a little deck that overlooks beautiful Oqunquit Beach. The rooms are always spotless and well kept. We never hear noise from the adjoining rooms and the only sounds are the ocean.. The included breakfast is outstanding! Highly reccomended vacation spot!!

Room Tip: Lots of repeat visitors so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had an oceanside room with a magnificent view of the Ogunquit River, the Beach and the Ocean from the room or the balcony. In the morning, beautiful sunrises. Our room was big, had 2 easy chairs, a desk and a mini refrigerator. The hotel is right on the Marginal Way, the 1+mile walk along the rocky coast and only a 10 minute walk to the beach. Great because parking at the beach costs $25/day. The pool was clean and heated so great for a late afternoon dip. Continental breakfast buffet with delicious homemade muffins, but there are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk for full breakfasts. All staff were so gracious, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort

Address: 85 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Hotel Ogunquit
Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit
The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.