We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay near the Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abalonia Inn to your Saves list
Abalonia Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay near the Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in July, 2014. Place was very neat and clean, Jimmy and staff very friendly and helpful to any requests. Jimmy shared lots of helpful info with us regarding places to eat and things to see. The pool was great as it was too cold to swim in the ocean! It was within walking distance to beach and all restaurants and Marginal Way. Parking was safe and we really didn't need the car to go anywhere. The queen room we had on second floor was just fine for two people. Air conditioning worked great. Non smoking environment which is always appreciated. Being able to use the refrigerator and freezer in the kitchen area was also helpful. Would highly recommend the Abalonia Inn.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor on the north side and did not have any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    21
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prospect CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Had a great, one night stay here at the Abalonia Inn - very charming, great staff, pretty, well maintained grounds....pool, a bonus....close walk to the center of town, beach, Marginal Way - just park your car and you never have to move it. The only "negative" is that since it is wood floors throughout, and not carpet, you can hear your neighbors on the floor above you, but that's about it. We took advantage of the coffee and pastry in the morning which was very nice and there's lots of seating outside to sip your coffee and just relax. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor that way you won't hear the footsteps of the people above you as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My partner and I have been coming to Ogunquit for the last four years. We usually stay at one of four or five of the larger inns/hotels, depending on availability and time of year. While in town last month, Danny encouraged us to visit Abalonia for a quick tour and consideration for our next visit. We showed up, got a great tour, and decided to book a weekend for earlier this month.

Abalonia is a great change of pace from the larger inns and hotels in the area. Danny and Jimmy are the most friendly and helpful hosts! They greet you by name when you walk in the door, make you feel right at home, and take the time to always make sure you’re having a great time. Our room was charming, spacious, warmly yet currently decorated, and spotless. We started the morning by the pool with a book. The pool, by the way, is a beautiful salt water pool heated to just the right temperature. After spending the day at the beach, we returned in the afternoon to relax in the pool. It was a perfect area to get together and get to know the other guests, and share stories about the weekend.

EXCELLENT LOCATION! Right at the edge of downtown without the noise. Several minutes' walk from the beach.

Some rooms are more private, some have their own outside entrances and porches… I know there was a complaint earlier about getting a room on the first floor close to the parking area. I personally thought these rooms with the private sitting area would be fun to book next time. Danny and Jimmy will do their best to accommodate you, but being an inn and not a chain motel, there are only so many rooms to go around, so you can’t really request a specific room and be 100% assured of getting it.

We originally thought this going to be a “one-off”, but we’re definitely adding Abalonia to the top of our favorites of places to stay in OGT. Hope to see you again in August!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

As soon as I entered into the front doors of the Abalonia, I was greeted by Jimmy and Danny. It was my first time to Ogunquit, though they made me feel like I've known them for years!
The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect, right in the heart of town and yet far enough for the serenity that the Abalonia offers. The saltwater pool was absolutely amazing. But the best part about my stay was the unparalleled attention I received from the entire staff. My room was absolutely immaculate and the private terrace overlooking the pool was very peaceful.

I cannot wait to return. Please disregard the negative review that someone posted, I understand we all have our own opinion, but from my experience, I haven't a clue why anyone would complain about this place. Keep up the good work boys.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Abalonia is a wonderful little B&B very close to everything in Ogunquit. The hosts are extremely warm and friendly, the other guests couldn't have been nicer, and it's about the closest accommodation to the beach one can stay in without having to deal with a super-crowded motel. hotel. Clean, quaint, and nice amenities. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were lucky from the start to get a room for one night only (generally a 2 night minimum) in Maine in the middle of July, the 19th that is!!!! We're so happy it was the Abalonia!!! Our stay was awesome! From the friendly staff, to the quaint room and Inn itself, the in-town location, salt water pool and fire pit at night, this couldn't have been a better place to meet up with old friends!
The Inn is an 1800's farmhouse that has been restored and refurbished with love and care......it's absolutely charming!!!! It was nice to see that so much of the original character was kept and not all modernized (with say an elevator because it's 3 floors...Really?? Exercise people!!!!!). We sat around the fire pit and met, talked and laughed with such nice people!! We even chatted with the friendly people walking by!!! If you want to stay in-town to be close to activity, stores, beach, restaurants you have to expect foot traffic and some noise. Juice, coffee and muffins for breakfast then off to the beach . A quintessential stay in Ogunquit!!!!!!!! Thank you so much Jimmy and Danny!!!! See you next summer! Pat and Dan Weinreich.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Really, really enjoyed our stay at the Abalonia Inn. The rooms were immaculate and Jimmy went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect for us. The Inn is at a great lcation to walk to everything in Ogunquit and Jimmy was great at giving us directions. He seems to be a man who truly loves his work and loves the area. The pool area is beautiful, the landscaping is beautiful, and the firepit is wonderful. We sat in the evening, enjoyed a beverage and relaxed as we watched the world go by.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abalonia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840’s New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. Under new management in 2012!The Ideal Location! Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way, Ogunquit’s famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove. Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema.Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat.Our Rooms -The new foundation is in, and our renovations have uncovered some amazing exposed beams and great character. We have two types of room accommodations: rooms with king sized beds and rooms with queen sized beds. All rooms have private baths.If you would like to amenities of a full-service resort, you can check out our sister location, The Admiral's Inn.We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page.Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalonia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.