We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Inn in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abalonia Inn to your Saves list
Abalonia Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable Inn in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Abalonia Inn in October 2013. I booked it rather last minute after reading some great reviews here on TripAdvisor. We were overall very, very happy with our stay here. The innkeeper, Jimmy, was friendly and greeted us with many great recommendations for our stay including places to visit and to eat. He seems to absolutely love the town of Ogunquit and it was great to see such enthusiasm - his energy and knowledge helped us (tired travelers) to make the most of our time while relaxing and taking it easy. We enjoyed our room - definitely not the fanciest of accommodations, but very comfortable and clean. Our room had its own bathroom and shower.
The one complaint that we had was our room location. Our room happened to be above a room that had its own screened-in patio. Unfortunately on this particular night, the guests below us were quite loud, which made it difficult for us to fall asleep. When you check in, I would definitely avoid one of the rooms above the screened-in porches if possible. Once we were able to fall asleep, however, we slept great and were very comfortable.
We would recommend this Inn to friends and family who are traveling as we enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    21
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover Twp
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Abalonia Inn is a great place to stay. It is close to the shops and restaurants, the Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. It definitely gives you the feeling of old New England. The innkeeper is one of the best, always ready to help with any request or any question about the area, as well as, other parts of Maine. We have stayed there two years in a row and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

On a positive note, Innkeeper Jimmy was great. He recommended a local florist for us, and put wine and flowers in our friends room before their arrival. Jimmy was friendly and helpful. The best thing about the Abalonia Inn is the location - just steps from the heart of Ogunquit dining and shopping, and a short walk to the beach and Maginal Way.

The downside of this inn is the actual accommodations. Our room was clean, but although recently "renovated", had issues. I found the bed uncomfortable (although I could just have been missing my own wonderful mattress). The bedding was clean but worn. The antique dresser had an unusable drawer that required repair. Decor was a bit of a mish-mosh of styles. Nonetheless, it did have a homey feeling. Lots of hot water and great shower pressure!

No coffee until 8am at the inn. But you can walk toward town to the Village Market and get great coffee and to-go breakfast.

This was our first stay in Ogunquit, and we will probably not stay there again. Just not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Travelling from Australia we found the Abalonia Inn very charming. I loved our room with the exposed beams. It was very conveniently located being walking distance to all the restaurants and specialty shops. Would definitely recommend staying at this inn with its historical background. Thanks Jimmy for your helpful suggestions about local amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location, only a few minutes walk to town restaurants and pubs. Jimmy, the manager, was very helpful and always happy.
We prefer the smaller non-chain hotels and inns so the smaller room size was ok. Bed was very uncomfortable as were the pillows. Bedding was worn and dated. The room furniture was dilapidated, drawers would jam or fall apart when opened. Sink faucet was falling off. Housekeeping was marginal. Nice sun porch, but several broken windows that needed replacing.
Great potential, but needs some attention to detail.
Lots of similar properties in the area, so would recommend shopping around and giving this one a pass.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We first stayed (3 nights) at Abalonia Inn, Ogunquit, in late Sept, 2012. In 2013, we returned again for 3 nights, this time earlier, Sept 4-6. Asked for and got the same king-bed room that we had the first time we visited. It's one of their largest rooms and nice shower. If you're staying, check out rooms on web site. Some rooms are smaller, for less money, and one room has tiny shower stall. Jimmy, innkeeper, was great and friendly as usual. He sincerely remembered us, and greeted my wife a hug, which was very nice. Me, I like a handshake. The Inn (not a B&B, since the only breakfast offered is coffee and store-made muffins) is only a couple of minutes walk from the commercial centre of Ogunquit centre. There's a great coffee/bakery in town (just before the grocery/deli/wine store.) It's a take-out place with all kind of baked goods. Service is great. Pastries and things are delicious. Very little foot traffic in front of the Inn, which is about 75 feet back from the main thoroughfare/old highway. Walk to the public beach takes 5 minutes. Marginal Way Perkins Cove is so pleasant with benches along the way. We had a lunch at Lobster Shack in Perkins Cove after a 25 km (18 mile) bike ride along the coast east to Cape Neddick. No shoulder to ride on but cars/drivers were very considerate while going around us. My wife and I have Giant bikes (Roam XR2 and Rove) meant for road and off-road. We were on a road/bike trip, and Abalonia has some safe spot for us to lock them up and out of elements. Before Ogunquit, we spent 2 nights in Burlington, Vermont with friends and rode great trails there, and after Ogunquit we went to Mount Desert Island/Bar Harbor for Carriage Trails (will write in a separate review) for another 3 nights, before heading to Montreal, and then back to Toronto. We ate at Barnacle Billy's in Perkins Cove - great lobster and swordfish, nice view of the harbour. Walked back to Ogunquit along dark Marginal Way - had a small flashlight, it was fine. Also, ate at an Italian restaurant a few minutes north of Ogunquit - Angelina's. Jimmy, our innkeeper happily made us a reservation, which was a good idea, because it was packed on a Friday night. Food good, not as great as reviews suggested, and it was very loud, tables are jammed close together. Services was friendly and bit too fast. Parking lot was small and difficult to find a spot to park. We also ate at Lobster Pound restaurant, also a few minutes north of the Inn. Overrated, especially for the prices. Better food and prices at Barnacle Billy's in Perkins Cove.
On a rainy day, went shopping with our Canadian money to Portsmouth. Great outlet malls along the slower highway (#1, I think), Tommy Hilfiger, Columbia, and many more. Portsmouth has a Trader Joe's (Gosling Road), which is special for us from Canada. And, finally, breakfast one morning at Amore Restaurant, Perkins Cove. Very busy, so ate at take out area on the patio. Probably make the Maine bike trip again next year, and Abalonia provides all the comfort we need.

Room Tip: Rooms with king beds are bigger. Stayed one night in a room with a Queen bed, it was very small and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent three nights during Columbus Day at Abalonia Inn. The service was perfect. Jimmy is a great owner and always ready to help. The room was not that big but the King Bed was really comfortable. Continental breakfast is fair (coffee, orange juice and muffins), but there are many restaurants in the area. The heated swimming pool was greatly appreciated as well as the exterior fireplace. Very well located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abalonia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840’s New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. Under new management in 2012!The Ideal Location! Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way, Ogunquit’s famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove. Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema.Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat.Our Rooms -The new foundation is in, and our renovations have uncovered some amazing exposed beams and great character. We have two types of room accommodations: rooms with king sized beds and rooms with queen sized beds. All rooms have private baths.If you would like to amenities of a full-service resort, you can check out our sister location, The Admiral's Inn.We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page.Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalonia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.