We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run and friendly Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abalonia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abalonia Inn to your Saves list
Abalonia Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well run and friendly Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we stayed only one night in Ogunquit. it was kind of off season by then (mid October), which was a bit of a shame, but it meant the accommodation prices were cheap, though some restaurants etc had already closed for the season and the Abalonia was in its last 2 weeks of opening. the Abalonia was good value, clean and well run, though the rooms were quite sparsely furnished (eg no chairs to sit on), but had everything we needed. Jimmy was very friendly and when we fancied Thai for dinner he set us up in the reception / lounge area with a candlelit table & chairs, crockery, cutlery, wine bottle opener etc. it was very much appreciated, and we really enjoyed our thai take-out. i would recommend the Abalonia, although if i stayed in Ogunquit again i would be tempted by the hotels overlooking the sea (if their prices were cheap enough - that i can't tell you!) but that has no reflection on the Abalonia, just personal preference regarding views. we were very happy with our stay and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    21
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great place. to stay. Easy walk to beach. Park your car and leave it. My husband & I had a very relaxing stay. There were great eating places nearby and several shopping options. The Marginal Way was very scenic walk. Jimmy was full if suggestions. and ideas-he never steereds wrong.We watched the sun rise &yesterday took moonlight walks on the beach. The summer crowds were gone and the town was decorated for Halloween. & fall- very quaint.We would stay here again. We left 3sat days before Hurricaine Sandy- we hope everything is intavt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Abalonia Inn is in a great location to explore Ogunquit, with plenty of good restaurants and shops to enjoy. We ate dinner in the Village Inn which was perfect and served great lobster.
The rooms are nicely done with a modern and stylish feel and the exposed beams in the ceiling add real character. The fridges in the rooms are handy and there is a kitchen which you can use, although we didn't use it as we were only there for a night.
Ogunquit is a beautiful place with a great beach and some really beautiful buildings and shops and we would love to go back. Breakfast in Bessie's was a real hit as well! Jimmy was also very friendly and gave us lots of helpful advice of where to go and what to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay at the Abalonia Inn. The location was a short walk to restaurants, stores, and the beach. Jimmy was very friendly and helpful. The pool was closed for the season, but we enjoyed hanging out at the firepit. There are so many hotels to chose from, but we were very happy with our choice to stay at this newly renovated inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Abalonia is everything you need if you don't want fancy. Perfect location, great manager, and comfy rooms. After walking around town at night, we wandered back to the Inn and sat on the couch in the sign in area. We had bought some beer and were about to enjoy one when the manger Jimmy came in to chat. He offered chilled beer mugs from the freezer and told us to hang out as long as we wanted, just lock up when we leave. Great host, great inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This charming Inn is perfect for a short or longer stay. The rooms are all different with elements of the mid 1800s structure visible in each. Jimmy, the inn keeper, is unbelievable! No need went unmet and his knowledge of the area was most helpful.
The location just a block from the beach was perfect. And Kennebunkport and the Cape Neddick lighthouse were close by as well. We hope we can return to the Abalonia Inn some day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Although we have been to many other places in Maine, I had never visited Ogunquit. My daughter and I came over Columbus Day weekend to celebrate her 30th birthday. What a beautiful place. The Abalonia is right in the center of town, so once you park the car, ( and parking is tight, but adequate) you can walk to everything. In the summer months, this is a plus, as the traffic in the village can be crazy. We were welcomed to this beautifully restored Inn by Jimmie , the owner.. so friendly and helpful with information about the area..entertainment,restaurants,shops,etc....He showed us to our room which was cozy, clean, cute, welcoming, I loved it !! The king bed was very comfortable..I loved the antique furniture touches and the sparkling clean bathroom. Nice flat screen TV also. We settled in, then later walked around the town to some of the cute shops and had dinner at a nice little restaurant. Slept well. Even though the Inn was full, we didn't
really hear much noise from other guests with the exception of hallway noise, but everyone seemed to be very considerate in that dept also. The pool looked beautiful , and the firepit is a nice touch at night also. Jimmie has muffins and coffee in the main office in the morning, but we headed to the bakery a few doors down for pumpkin spice coffee and a melt in your mouth WARM apple turnover.Yum !! There is so much to see and do, I was sad we could only be there for 2 days...the fabulous beach is a short walk away, as well as the entrance to the Marginal Way which is a MUST !!! Spectacular ocean views and great exercise too. Ogunquit is a beautiful place ,especially this time of year, all the businesses and Inns are decorated for fall and Halloween...so fun !! Thank you Jimmy, for a wonderful stay ...it is obvious he loves his charming Inn...he treats you like family. Hope to stay again next year !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalonia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalonia Inn

Address: 268 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#19 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abalonia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abalonia is an 1840’s New England style farmhouse that has been lovingly restored with particular attention to the period detail, including the original post and beams. Under new management in 2012!The Ideal Location! Abalonia is located right in the center of the village, only one block to the Ogunquit beach and the entrance to the Marginal Way, Ogunquit’s famous cliff walk leading to Perkins Cove. Yet, the Abalonia is set back from the road, has open gardens so guests are able to peacefully enjoy being in the heart of the village, with its famous restaurants, clubs, and historic movie cinema.Amenities Include: All inn rooms have new Flat Screen TVs, individually controlled air conditioners, wireless internet, and heat.Our Rooms -The new foundation is in, and our renovations have uncovered some amazing exposed beams and great character. We have two types of room accommodations: rooms with king sized beds and rooms with queen sized beds. All rooms have private baths.If you would like to amenities of a full-service resort, you can check out our sister location, The Admiral's Inn.We understand it is not easy checking out places online and figuring which one is right for you. If you want an inn that is clean, friendly, and in a great location, you have found your home in Ogunquit!We truly strive to give you the best customer service and the best value you have probably not at a hotel, inn or B&B received in years. We are also real. If you want to be left alone on your romantic getaway, you can do that. If you want to be social and hang out with our other guests, you can do that too. The choice is yours. If you have any more questions, please go to our Questions and Answers page.Proud member of the Ogunquit Chamber of Commerce, Maine Innkeepers Association, and Maine Tourism Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abalonia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalonia Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalonia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.