We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Can walk to the beach and other attractions!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Juniper Hill Inn to your Saves list
Juniper Hill Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 Main Street, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Can walk to the beach and other attractions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We visit Ogunquit every year. We have previously stayed in the Gorges Grant Hotel, but we decided to try something new because it was booked. But I'm glad we did! We got one of the beautiful renovated rooms. There were comfortable beds, a nice updated bathroom, a hairdryer and a coffee maker. I know that not all of the rooms are renovated, but the hotel is in the process of renovating some of them. There is a nice indoor pool and hot tub, and also two outdoor pools and an outdoor hot tub, too. The breakfast they offer is nice for a continental breakfast, certainly more than you would get elsewhere. The best part, though, was that they have a path to the beach from the property. It's a little bit of a walk, but not too bad because our 5 year old didn't complain. If you have kids, there is the Portland Children's Museum. It's definitely a little bit of a drive, but totally worth it. The kids LOVE it! I would definitely recommend it to others! (P.S. There is a great ice cream place down the road that is very popular with the kids, too!)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    113
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
84
141
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed one night and were pleased with the value; the cleanliness; and the location. This is a dated hotel; has a good breakfast in a separate building across a small parking lot. So, it served our needs. The trouble is we went back a second time at the end of our trip. This time the rates were jacked due to a "pumpkin event" in town; and they have us room 510. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 510. It is in a corner; there is a whole lot of noise; it seems as if every water pipe is in the wall; the heater clanked away; the herd of elephants above us ran around the room all night; and we had an attack of spiders. I was up most of the night killing them. When I reported this the next day they said, "we will tell maintenance"; no real apology; no attempt to modify our bill in any way shape or form. This was a BAD experience. Folks, there are many other choices in this town especially if you like B and Bs which this is not. Also, there is only one computer for their business center; always dominated by someone else; and NO printer so you can't print out a boarding pass; are you kidding me? We won't go back; look at other places; there are a ton of them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallingfordCT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We have now stayed at the Juniper Hill Inn several times over the last three years. The rooms have been nicely updated and are always clean, the staff are always very friendly and accomodating, the location is terrific, and the prices represent a real bargain! We will gladly stay here again when we are back in the area!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My boyfriend & I returned to Juniper Hill for another well needed Maine getaway October 15, 2010. We've been here several times before and always had wonderful accomodations. From a neat clean room with comfy king bed to a relaxing indoor pool with exercise room, our stay was so enjoyable. The hotel staff were more than helpful and pleasant. Lots of info available in a very welcoming lobby. The inclusive continental breakfast is a great way to start the day. Eager to return when we're due for another getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We had planned on staying only 2 nights at the Juniper Hill Inn in Ogunquit Maine. Our stay was excellent and the location is very convenient for doing many things so we extended out stay by an extra night.
The hotel was busy but you would never know it form the quietness. We occasionally could hear a person passing in the hall but nothing room to room! Everything was bright and clean. All the staff we met were helpful and pleasant. It was nice that they all seemed to know the area and could give you helpful recommendations for things to do and places to eat. I had found a reduced rate on line and it was cheerfully honored, even for the extended night. The breakfast in the morning was more than adequate and the attendant was immediately refilling any item that ran low. The outside pool was closed when we were there but the grounds were immaculate. While we were there the groundskeeper service was removing the summer plants (most still looked wonderful) and replacing them with brightly colored mums. We made the hour commute to shop at the LL Bean outlets with out a hitch. From what I saw the Ogunquit area had far more general shopping and restaurants than the Freeport area. We definitely would recommend the Juniper Hill Inn to anyone visiting Ogunquit or the Wells-York area in general.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend in July with friends and 2 1/2 yr old daughter. the staff was great and the accommodations were good and clean. Not your 4 star hotel, but not what you are looking for when you want a family beach vacation. The pool was great, free breakfast was minimal but adequate. The rooms were good size and we asked for a fridge (received at no additional charge). The walkway to the beach is a little long and it's a short hike to the main strip but very very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Juniper Hill Inn has it all - location, facilities, and delightful staff, along with comfortable rooms in a charming setting. In summer, the outdoor pool and whirlpool are a fun place to start or end the day, but there is also an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room, so this form of relaxation is always available. Excellent shower, very comfortable beds, and a staff that is helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
The Inn is about 1/2 mile from the center of town, thus perfectly situated for dining, shopping, or going to the beach.
TIP - The Old Village Inn - less than 1/2 mile away - offers exquisite food in a relaxed yet elegant setting. We stay at Juniper Hill often, and try to dine here whenever we can

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Juniper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Inn

Address: 336 Main Street, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Juniper Hill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hill Inn, a Three Diamond AAA property, with its five tree studded acres has the feel of beautiful rural Maine. Walk down our hickory lined path and you're just a short walk from the sparkling shores of Ogunquit Beach... A stroll down the hill and you're ready to explore the village's distinctive shops, galleries and restaurants. In season town trolley provides another travel option with a stop directly in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Juniper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Hotel Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.