We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Juniper Hill Inn

Save Saved
You added Juniper Hill Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Juniper Hill Inn
336 Main Street, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
Shrewsbury, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a fun getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed at Juniper Hill for a Saturday night just to get away. We intentionally go off-season to avoid the crowds. The beach is about a 10 minute walk, but we usually just drive down and park to walk the Marginal Way. We go specifically to enjoy the hot tub, which we did this time. Never very crowded and the water is always hot. The pool is heated and makes a nice, refreshing change after the hot tub. The rooms are always clean, could use new TVs, but everything is always in working order. The Blue Elephant across the street has good Thai food, and the owners are very pleasant to talk to. If you're just looking for a nice, quiet place to relax this is the place to go.

As for the earlier review, we always play music in our room and have never been asked to turn it off. The staff there are very friendly & accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    99
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
68
122
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

My husband took me there for 40th birthday. It was 1 am on the morning of my birthday and he put a cd on and the security came and told us to turn it off. We turned it down to 3 (lower than a tv) and he could hear it. It was worse than being unreasonable. He said he would call the police if we totally didnt turn it off. Rediculous ! We are not loud party going people. Not the place to stay, the also advertise that you have beach rights... (if you want to walk 10 minutes to get there ! )

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Sure it may not be the most luxurious hotel in the area but I don't stay for luxury - We stay because weI feel comfortable, releaxed and for all around services. This hotel is it; continental breakfast that is satisfying, a 15 minute walk to the beach (but buy a beach cart), a few minute walk to the center of town and heck, at 53 & 57 we can even walk to Perkins Cove without wishing for a taxi or the car. A word of advise, the walk to the beach involves a small hill so at the end of the day you really need a little effort but you can walk back via the town which has less of a hill. The beach cart does make it so much easier. We are also away from that crazy 3 way corner so we don't have to fight traffic and wait and wait to get on Route 1 as you do with other hotels or if you park at the beach (20$ each day). Beds are comfortable and clean; daily maid service is impecable and the front desk are always so helpful. The small fridge in the room is great to keep our staples for the next day at the beach. With the options of outdoor and indoor pools make anytime of the day a relaxing moment. Have dirty clothes or sand in your shorts - no problem as there is a coin operated laundry on the site. It's also a pleasure that we can sit outside in front of my room. As to suggest room improvements, maybe a small microwave and an upgrade of the TV to a LCD panel type. I usually stay here several times a year (Spring, Summer, Fall & Winter). We've also stayed at other places that offer more on-site activities or that are next to the Marginal Way (done during fall or winter to compare) but we always come back to the Juniper Hill in summer. Stephen Andrew (Montreal)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Our sightseeing trip was a real joy, except for the price of hotel rooms in New England. We kept saying "we don't want to buy the place, just sleep here" but, alas, it didn't work. But this hotel/motel is really reasonable, at least by today's prices, and we didn't even have to grovel for a rate. $79 gets you a very large, quite room with windows you can even open, and sort of a breakfast ("here, have a donut") in the morning. The location is right in the center of things and only about 1/2 mile or so from the lobster place (where you can easily drop $100 on 2 lobsters!...what happened to the cheap lobsters we heard about on the news anyway?) The Juniper Hill has nice staff and they even act glad that you stay there, unlike other places we stayed at during our week of leaf peeping. The beaches are scenic, but too cold the end of October to do much but drive along and ohh and ahh. We will come back here, but earlier in the year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wynnewoodpa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

From the minute we arrived the staff was top notch with any of our needs. great location. clean rooms , great indoor pool and work out room near shopping and many very good restaurants. Great breakfast always fresh daily.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I have been coming here for years. It's starting to be rundown. Needs some freshening up. The staff is still trained to be very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallingfordCT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Ogunquit, Maine was terrific, and our stay at the Juniper Hill Inn made it complete. the rooms were fine, expecially considering the reasonable prices. Location wasterrific, out of the bustle of the little downtown area, but close enough to walk to most things we wanted to visit.

The staff at the Juniper Hill Inn were very cordial, and took care of all of our wishes. The hotel and grounds were kept in very neat condition, we only wish we could have stayed longer.

This was a very relaxing getaway, we will definitely do it again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Juniper Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Hill Inn

Address: 336 Main Street, PO Box 2190, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Juniper Hill Inn, a Three Diamond AAA property, with its five tree studded acres has the feel of beautiful rural Maine. Walk down our hickory lined path and you're just a short walk from the sparkling shores of Ogunquit Beach... A stroll down the hill and you're ready to explore the village's distinctive shops, galleries and restaurants. In season town trolley provides another travel option with a stop directly in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Juniper Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Hill Hotel Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Ogunquit
Juniper Hill Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juniper Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.