We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and accomodating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   276 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2 night package -$249
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and accomodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely spot. Actually arrived the day before my daughter's wedding and were to move into the inlaws home for the wknd. The Grand was so comfortable that we decided to stay there for the duration. They provided the suite and moved us immediately. They were gracious and attentive ... as I left I forgot my iPhone in the room and they chased me down leaving and got it to me. The best continental breakfast, clean spacious rooms and wonderfully located. Will certainly go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Shelby G, It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for the special occasion of your daughters wedding. We are also pleased you were so comfortable here that you chose to extend your stay and that we were able to assist you in that way. Our best wishes to the newlyweds for a long and happy life together and our thanks to you for allowing us to play such a small part of such a happy occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    78
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
55
141
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Grand Hotel in Ogunquit ME has been a faithful friend to us trough the years. Always super clean, comfortable, roomy, it also has great parking. The staff is always welcoming and smiling. The best thing about the Grand are their packages that include restaurants and coupons. Our favourite is the Yankee Clipper. My only negative point has to be the over sweet breads, peanut butter ect, poor choices for diabetics.
Merci beaucoup for great vacations down the years,we will visit again with great pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Suzanne C, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We appreciate your having chosen our Hotel for your lodging choice in Ogunquit and are very pleased to know you find us welcoming and dependable.

We appreciate your comment regarding the lack of diabetic choices from our Continental Breakfast. We try to satisfy as many guests as possible with the choices we provide. We do not have actual cooking facilities so we are somewhat limited as to what we can offer but we will certainly give your suggestion consideration.

Thank you again for your very nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed at The Grand Hotel at least 5 times....wonderful staff, nice breakfast choices and the cookies and coffee in the afternoon, early evening is a treat! Location is perfect --- can walk both directions on Shore Drive and walk the Marginal Way. Quiet hotel and rooms are large and very clean. Will be visiting again in the fall or late summer.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect, Be sure to enjoy sitting on the front porch in the morning with your cup of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear BerkTraveler2014, There is no finer compliment than for our guests to return for subsequent visits. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty and look forward to seeing you again in the Fall. Thank you also for your very nice review. We offer you our best wishes for a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

All aspects of our stay at The Grand Hotel were fantastic. The room was well appointed with a sleeping area (King bed!) and separate living space with microwave, kitchen and sink. The private balcony was wonderful! The outside deck by the indoor pool was nice but the 2nd floor deck facing Shore Drive excelled and in particular while eating the continental breakfast in the warm sun. Parking was no problem...underneath the hotel with elevator access.
The hotel is located midway between Perkins Cove and Ogunquit...easy walking distance either direction. Don't forge to walk the Marginal Way.
An excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 208 (Although I am certain all rooms are equally good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear kdubyaNH, We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at The Grand and that you found our Hotel and Staff "comfortable, friendly and relaxing". We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back for another stay in Ogunquit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minot maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This property exceeded all our expectations! It's proximity to shopping and the beachwas excellent! We were able to walk everywhere. Very clean and well kept. Staff very friendly.Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king suite! What a great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear bstaylor9, Thank you for staying with us while you celebrated the special occasion of your husbands birthday. We are so pleased to know we exceeded your expectations and that you would recommend us to other travelers. We really appreciate your very nice review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

There are a lot of places to stay in Ogunquit, and we spent a lot of time looking at each on line. In the end we chose the Grand and are delighted to say it exceeded our expectations. We need two non-negotiables at any place we stay, plenty of hot water in the shower and bed/pillows to give us a great night sleep. Both met our needs and it went up from that point. Spacious rooms with a sitting room and separate bedroom, enough appliances in the suite to allow us to eat some meals in the room instead of going out to a restaurant, convenient to the center of Ogunquit and Perkins Cove, adjacent to the Marginal Way, underground parking, great staff, indoor pools. And it was the little things that added even more, coffee in the lobby, a continental breakfast if you wanted, umbrellas at the front door in case of rain, DVD's at the front desk for inroom use, a private deck off the back. We will definitely be back. I am sure there are other good places to stay, but why change when you have found the one that made our vacation absolutely great.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, we really don't know what the other two floors were like, but we su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Russell R, There ARE many places to stay in Ogunquit so we are delighted you chose The Grand Hotel. We are also very pleased to know we met your expectations and that you would consider another stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

As most other reviewers have noted, the suites at The Grand Hotel are an exceptional value - clean, comfortable, and spacious - more than adequate for our family of four (two adults, two young children). Such ample accomodations are a plus in the event of inclement weather, as we so encountered. The suite's two LCD TVs - each with a DVD player (titles are available at the desk) - will help pass the time, however the WIFI is a little disappointing. Board games and books are also available, and the pool is refreshing and clean. From check-in to check-out, the entire staff is attentive and personable. (Though after 9 or 10 pm, you're seemingly on your own as the staff...leaves for the day?) The location of the hotel itself is nearly perfect - close by are Marginal Way and Perkins Cove for relaxing walks, and several dining options of all kinds scattered about - such as Jackie's Too and the landmark Barnacle Billy's.

Overall, The Grand Hotel is a wonderful way to spend one's time in Ogunquit. It's every bit as charming and quaint as the community surrounding it. If they'll have us, we'll most certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperOgunquit, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear smk3, Thank you for the very nice review of your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. We are happy to know you found the accommodations a good match for your families needs and that you found the resources we have available to our guests helpful during inclement weather. We have had a cool, damp spring here but there are so many things to do that our guests have taken it in stride and made the most of it.

Although we do close the front desk during overnight hours, we have a night attendant on the premises for emergency situations. To alert guests to that fact, we post a sign at the desk with instructions. If a guest calls the front desk from their room, they receive instructions on the phone for reaching the night attendant. Since you were not aware of this, we will re-evaluate this process and see if there is a better way to communicate it to our guests. We appreciate your highlighting this as a concern.

Thank you again for your nice review. We would be delighted to have an opportunity to welcome you back!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 276 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ogunquit
The Grand Hotel Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.