We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dolphin Den
69 Cottage Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great home away from home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just stayed at The Dolphin Den this past weekend. First off all it is so clean and just comfy. The room was just a nice place to relax and you feel you can at the Dolphin. You can just leave the car and walk around that was great ! I love that they allow pets too. I would tell anyone who asks me that this is the place to stay to add that perfect touch to your time in Ogunguit and thats what it was PERFECT....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful...I could hear the ocean when I walked outside of the cottage. I have stayed at many of the Inns in Ogunquit over the years and was so impressed with this place. The attendtion to detail was above all the others. You can tell that the owners have invested much time and money to make this place really nice. Brand new windows, flooring, quaintly decorated, our room had a coffee maker, microwave, refridgerater and was super CLEAN! The town has always been a favorate of mine and you'll find everything (shops, beach, restaurants and bars) walkable from the Dolphin Den. They even have a fire pit surounded by Adirondack chairs to relax by in the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I needed a place to stay last minute, in Ogunquit, on a Saturday, in mid August. Rick and Joe were able to accommodate us. This place is so wonderfully situated. You can park your car and never have to get in it again until you leave. We walked to the beach, into town for a rollicking time at the Front Porch piano bar, and to Perkins Cove for a delicious shore dinner of lobster and steamers at Barnacle Billy's. Rick and Joe were consummate hosts, sincerely concerned about our well-being and ready to do whatever they could to make our holiday a success.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is gorgeous! I LOVE how clean everything is! I also love that I can park my car here for the week and walk to everything Ogunquit has to offer! Also, as a pleasant surprise, when I forgot my beach chair and towel, that they loaned me one for free! It has a unique look, and it is now the only place in town where I stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After a much needed break from NYC-- I just spent 4 glorious days at the Dolphin Den. I couldn't have asked for anything better-- location was picture perfect as I could walk to the beach, Perkins Cove, all the restaurants and nightlife that Ogunquit has to offer.

Best part for me was hanging on the porch after dinner on a great comfortable lounge chair with Rick and Joey laughing, talking, drinking and watching the stars.

Anyone who gives this place a bad review must have something wrong with them. For sure, I'll be back sooner then later with more friends so I share this gem with them.

Highly recommend going! Rooms are very cozy and super clean, pet friendly and the owners are gracious, kind, considerate and helped to make my vacation relaxing, enjoyable and lots of fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, very cozy, great location and the friendliest owners make this place a great choice to stay in Ogunquit! They really try to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked last min and for only one night, nice place, small and quiet. Best thing about the place is the owners nice people and willing to help out in any way with tips about the town. Stay there!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dolphin Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Den

Address: 69 Cottage Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Den of Ogunquit Beach is Ogunquit's premier Guest House & Inn, located in beautiful downtown Ogunquit Beach, Maine. We're proud to be PET FRIENDLY and feature a newly installed ~~WIFI & CATV~~ dedicated network. Within one (1) minute from the Ogunquit Beach / Cottage Street Trolley stop, we're walking distance to everything downtown Ogunquit Beach has to offer...miles and miles of sandy, white seashore, the magnificent Marginal Way and a plethora of shoppes, restaurants and a TRULY GREAT piano bar. Sing the night away! The Dolphin Den is located at a very scenic, private location adjoining the Dorothea Grant Common & Ogunquit Heritage Museum. We provide guest parking and furnished outdoor areas for sunbathing and relaxing. Park the car and walk everywhere...you simply cannot beat the superb "Downtown Ogunquit Beach" location. Stop by today and say "Hi" to Payton, our beloved chocolate lab mascot adopted in 2005 via New Orleans LA / Hurricane Katrina. He loves Maine...he loves us ...and he'll love you too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Den Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Dolphin Den to your Saves list