We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here if you like antiques in an overprized room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stage Run by the Sea

Stage Run by the Sea
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stage Run by the Sea
Save
You added Stage Run by the Sea to your Saves list
2 Kingfield Ave (Corner Rt 1 & Kingfield Ave), Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Ogunquit B&B and Inns
Zürich
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Come here if you like antiques in an overprized room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

"Reduced rates" as advertised still means USD 150 excl. tax and breakfast in a room that was up to standard maybe some 20 years ago. The TV still dates from then and the fridge is very noisy. It was clean though and had a pool in which one is not supposed to swim. The furniture is outdated. The worst stay in my 2 weeks travelling New England.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dstutes, Owner at Stage Run by the Sea, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I'm sorry that the guest felt this way but I would like to address his issues with my establishment:

1. Off-season, our rates are discounted versus our In-season rates, and we like to let the customers know this fact. The "Reduced Rates" sign is taken in once season starts. When this guest was here, it was a holiday weekend and he wanted a Saturday night only which is at a premium for any establishment.

2. Our rooms have the standard oak furniture found in many of your lodging businesses but in the last few years we have done some work. All of the rooms now have tile in the bathroom areas, all rooms have received a fresh paint job, the mattresses have all been replaced with Serta pillow top mattresses and we have been upgrading the TV's with flat screens as they need replaced. If the refrigerator was noisy, I apologize for that, we strive to make the guests stay as comfortable as possible but sometimes little things come up.

3. Thank you for noticing that our room was clean as we receive many compliments on the cleanliness of our establishment.

4. I'm not sure what the guests issue was with the pool. The pool is open every year from the middle of May thru Columbus Day and the heater is on from Memorial Day thru Labor Day. The daily hours are 9am to 10pm so as to not have any loud noises during our quiet hours.

I would like to reiterate that all the guests must do is bring their problem, issue or concerns to managements attention and we will do whatever we can to address them within reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We love Ongunquit and have used the Stage Run multiple times and years. No frills, just solid. Always found it quiet. Clean. The heating and air conditioning unit is wonderfully efficient and reliable,- often not the case with economy rooms. Convenient walk (10 minutes at speed between brisk and saunter) to the downtown, right on route 1.

Room Tip: Call well in advance. Cancellation policy is steep but understandable given the price and quirks of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just got back from 5 days in Maine. My husband & I always stay at Stage Run by the Sea........once or twice a year for probably 10 years. The rooms are immaculate & Deb, the owner is friendly & welcoming. It is just a short distance to Ogunquit Center with a trolley stop right in front.

Room Tip: They do have 2 smoking rooms but be sure to reserve early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This past weekend we met friends in Maine for a long weekend. We live in Massachusetts and they live in Vermont. We met in Kittery for a nice lunch & then headed north on Route 1 in search of a reasonable motel for the night. We found a great little motel a 1/2 mile north of the Village of Ogunquit. We stopped there because of the $49 per couple sign. When we went in to get a room, we found that price was for a room with 2 queen beds. Our preference would be for rooms with a King Size bed. For another $6.00 per room we got the rooms we wanted. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. The rooms were average in size for this type of motel, but very clean and had a small refrigerator and microwave in each room. The beds were very comfortable. The sink and hair dryer were outside of the bathroom, but that actually works out nicely if one person is showering & the other wants to brush their teeth & dry their hair, etc., at the same time.
This is a very compact motel. Two buildings facing each other with a pool in between. Porches run the length of each building, with chairs & tables outside each room. Very friendly, welcoming atmosphere. The staff is very nice-the owner extremely personable & willing to help with anything you might need. It's obvious she has taken great care to make sure the motel is well-maintained. She told us that she & her parents owned it together for many years & then she took over as sole-owner a few years ago.
We were so impressed with our first night's stay, that we stayed the 2nd night there. We originally thought we'd move on & find a different place to stay the 2nd night, but decided to use this as our 'base' while we traveled the southern Maine coast for our long weekend getaway.
We would all recommend this comfortable & very clean motel to anyone wanting a cozy place to relax & enjoy the Ogunquit area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our first stay at the Stage Run and we were very pleased with this motel. We were there off season, so the pool was not open (it was cold and rainy anyway so wouldn't have used it if it had been). The room had been recently painted and was very well decorated. All the fixtures, appliances, etc. were well maintained and up to date. Very clean and very inviting. We will (and plan to) stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

In 2011 we happened to find the Stage Run on a road trip from CT to ME. We liked it so much we are meeting friends from MA to stay together there this October. The owner headed us in the right direction for a lobster supper as well as a great breakfast.

Room Tip: We alkways prefer a second floor room. These folks are very accomodating if you make such a request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a reunion at the State Run Motel. There were 18 people in 7 rooms. Everyone was happy with the accomodations. The rooms are very clean and there was a nice pool. Debbie, the owner, is very helpful recommending places to go for sightseeing and restaurants to eat at. We all look forward to returning again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stage Run by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stage Run by the Sea

Address: 2 Kingfield Ave (Corner Rt 1 & Kingfield Ave), Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stage Run by the Sea offers spacious motel accommodations including rooms with one king bed, 2 queens or 2 double beds. All of our rooms have Free Wireless Internet, a mini-fridge, microwaves, air-conditioning, individual climate control, color cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers and in-room phones with free local calls. We also have an in-ground heated pool for our guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stage Run By The Sea Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage Run by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.