We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting and views, walk to beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes on the Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Dunes on the Waterfront to your Saves list
The Dunes on the Waterfront
518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stunning setting and views, walk to beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed off season. Though we would have liked to stay in their adorable cabins, we stayed in a "classic" room, which is set up more like a traditional motel room. But, wow, the view out our window, and from the seats on the balcony was million dollar. We watched the tide change in the estuary, saw the light change on the strip of beach and ocean.

Their space is quiet and beautifully designed, and everything is perfectly kept up. We were tempted to play croquet, which was all set up on the lawn, but we were too busy walking around Ogunquit and its beach, and the nearby shore walks and nature preserves.

We did use the pool however. Despite the cool weather of early October, the pool was still open, and gently heated, so it was a great, great place to relax at the end of our days and before getting ready for dinner.

It was so beautiful that I think I'd really love to come back during the summer, to lounge around even more outside, and swim at the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (older couple) stayed 3 nights last May. The whitewashed cottages are set among mature trees and shrubs, immaculately maintained, something out of a film. No, it's not the Marriot, but the fireplace was a treat, wood replenished each day, clean linens from front each day in a "housekeeping" 1-bdrm unit with small, well-equipped kitchen. Front, screen porch w/ rockers and table faced tidal river, low tide you can walk across - high tide need a rowboat (supplied). On trolley line. Best time is off season for real "Maine-iacs." Good for young families.We'll be back!

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you want and they will suggest a cottage or room. We wanted a porch, a view, BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, VT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We usually stay at the Dunes for a week every Fall. We love the location, which is quiet and beautiful. I wish they provided peddle boats along with the option of taking out a row boat. My dealings with the helpful staff have always been very pleasant. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Ogunquit was our last stop on our coastal Maine vacation, and The Dunes topped off the trip with grace. This gorgeous piece of property on the ocean [with a tide pool in between], was built in 1936. Although it has been updated, it retains it warmth, charm and appeal from an earlier and simpler time. There is a huge lawn, and I mean huge; so children can play ball or just play. The Dunes is a perfect place for families, grandparents, parents and the grandchildren. There are a choice of rooms, from motel rooms to two bedroom cottages including a darling screened in porch, fireplace and even a clothesline! [I told you this resort reminds you of an earlier time]. The resort is special, but it is the staff and their attention to detail that really puts The Dunes in a very elite category. Not only is this resort darling, but it is absolutely spotless. You could eat off of any floor here. For example, I saw an employee with a squeegee and a rag wiping off the morning dew from the tables and Adirondack chairs!! The housekeepers make the beds with 3 sheets, so you have a top sheet. There are rowboats to use when the tide is high, so that you can row over to the beach. There is a jungle gym, basketball hoop, heated pool and croquet set for the children. In the comfortable reception area, there is a fresh from the orchard bowl of apples to take, for a quick snack. If you are looking for luxury or the Ritz Carlton, then do not come here. But, if you are looking for a marvelous resort to bring your family and have a wonderful time, a time that reminds you of Ozzie & Harriett times, then make your reservations NOW. The Dunes is very busy with repeat families year after year. The Dunes is a very special place on this planet.

Room Tip: Motel room 23, gives you 3 exposures and one spectacular view of the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Dunes. Unfortunately, for those that stay only for a few days, the choice is limited to the motel unit and the primary reason I say unfortunately is that the cottages looks great. While the unit was small, it was very clean and we spent such little time in the unit, it really didn't matter. But what is great about the Dunes is the property and the location. The property is something out of movie set - a dozen cottages with Adirondack chairs all set on a very large lawn overlooking the tidal river. Totally picturesque and totally unexpected. Every other place we passed was one room on top of each other. This was all very nicely spread out, quiet and peaceful, even with lots of kids having fun in the pool (we are well past the stage of having young kids). The pool was very nice too, but the view of the river and the proximety to the footbridge beach was also great. One day we walked through the river on low tide and then walked the beach all the way into town. Not a terribly long walk but not short either. Another day, we walked to the footbridge beach which was about 1/2 hour. Ogunquit is great for eating, poking, relaxing, swiming (if you don't mind really cold water), walking on the beach, eating, and relaxing (those were repeated on purpose). Maybe next time we will get a cottage and stay longer.

Room Tip: Motel unit is OK but rooms are small - no elevator, so first floor might be more convenient for olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

My 3 teenaged daughters, my husband and I stayed for 5 days. Wished it was longer but during high season you have to reserve for 2 weeks and this just worked out as they had a break between 2 previously booked reservations and we booked late in June.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage. It had 1 bathroom, a living room with dining table, chairs, pullout couch and fireplace. There was a small kitchen with all you need if you wished to cook. We made a couple of breakfasts and made lunch every day. The bedrooms were good sized and had plenty of closet/and drawer space. The beds were comfortable -my husband & I had a king and the girls shared the two twins and the pullout. I had the best sleep of our 2 wk summer vacation during our stay there at the Dunes.
We also had a screened in porch, and on our lawn an umbrellaed table and chairs to enjoy meals, reading, etc. outside.
Our cottage was the first one in from the road and it did back the next property but it was quiet and didnt bother us at all. Our view was of the ocean dunes and tidal river and we enjoyed sunrises and sunsets each day. The pool was simple, but very enjoyable as a break from, or after a day at the beach. There were always fresh towels, lounges, chairs, and umbrellas and it was immaculately clean. Re. this is not a hotel so food, drink etc are not available to purchase ... no umbrella drinks but you can certainly bring your own.
The manager and asst manager were very helpful as to where to go, what to do and accomodating us. Early in the am we went to the office to get fresh coffee, a newspaper and reserve a row boat. There was an older woman with longer blond hair who opened the office a couple mornings who was not as accomodating as the other staff.
Learning the tides was important and confusing to us landlocked Ohioans, but we managed. There are 3 ways to get to the beach from the cottage; take the trolley to the footbridge at any time (trolley was very near our cottage just at entrance on the main road), or walk across the tidal river at low tide, or row across at high tide. We only took trolley once. Our treks across the tidal river took 5 minutes whether walking or rowing. Make sure you double check tidal schedule each day as the window of time allotted for the row boats depends on it. It is an adventure if you have lots of stuff or a party of 5 teenagers/ adults like us. We did take 2 row boats but we figured it out and had a lot of laughs about it. Once you get to the beach it is worth the effort as it is quiet and less crowded than the footbridge beaches on either side. And remember the trolley stop is right at the entrance to this development if you do not want to walk or row.
I was worried about staying at a cottage - unsure if we would be roughing it or the cleanliness of it. But there was no need to worry, it was a great trip and we definitely will return to the historic beautiful Dunes on the Waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week East Coast trip for a bit of relaxation and wow did we get it! Motel room in a little cottage with 4 Adirondack chairs and a table outside on the lawn. The grounds are really pretty and the view of the dunes is perfect. We waded across to the beach at low tide and took a rowing boat when it was too deep to paddle which the kids loved! Lovely little town with plenty of shops and restaurants only a few minutes in the trolley that stops frequently across form the Dunes. If you like running there's a great 5km loop into town, down the beach and back over a bridge or you can run down to Marginal Way and into Perkin's Cove which has the prettiest little harbour and a the obilgatory Lobster restaurant. Money well spent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended accommodations for family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes on the Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;