We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete tranquility in an amazing location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes on the Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Dunes on the Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Complete tranquility in an amazing location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of a 2 week East Coast trip for a bit of relaxation and wow did we get it! Motel room in a little cottage with 4 Adirondack chairs and a table outside on the lawn. The grounds are really pretty and the view of the dunes is perfect. We waded across to the beach at low tide and took a rowing boat when it was too deep to paddle which the kids loved! Lovely little town with plenty of shops and restaurants only a few minutes in the trolley that stops frequently across form the Dunes. If you like running there's a great 5km loop into town, down the beach and back over a bridge or you can run down to Marginal Way and into Perkin's Cove which has the prettiest little harbour and a the obilgatory Lobster restaurant. Money well spent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked a motel room for our stay, and were pleasantly surprised that while we were staying in a tiny room, it was part of one of the cottages with a beautiful view of the tidal river and dunes. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with widely spread cottages allowing views of the tidal river and dunes from most of the cottages. The cottages have adirondack chairs or patio sets for each unit allowing for and encouraging enjoyment of the grounds and the views. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. It is a 10 minute walk into the center of town from the resort, and there is a trolley stop across the street for those who don't want to walk. There aren't any sidewalks, and there is a lot of traffic, so walking is ok, but I wouldn't want to try it at night.

Room Tip: I would definitely upgrade to a one bedroom cottage or cottage suite next time as both have an attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've been going here every summer since I was two, and even though I'm 20 now, I've never grown tired of coming back to the Dunes every year. Everyone who works there is so friendly, the cottages are clean and adorable, it's in the perfect location (SO easy to get to the beach!), near lots of restaurants, but is set back from the road, so it's very quiet and private. I honestly cannot think of one bad thing about the Dunes. I mean, we've been going there for 18 years for a reason, right? :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've been a frequent flier at the Dunes for 10+ years. My husband has been coming with me for eight and we always are there on shoulder season (late May) and stay in Cottage 5A, which has a kitchen and a nice screened-in porch. We have our rituals, i.e. arrive mid-afternoon and then head to the grocery store to pick up things we didn't bring with. The fire is roaring in the fireplace nearly all the time and it's a very relaxing vacation. We pick up steamers right down the street and make a clam boil, have our annual dinners at Lobster in the Rough and Clay Hill Farm, sit by the Dunes pool, fire up the blender and then...that's pretty much it. Anything else we do depends on the weather, as it's never predictable. We usually get rain at some point and always enjoy thunderstorms, as it's beautiful overlooking the Ogunquit River.

The property is beautiful, always clean and you feel like you're in a 'home away from home'. The staff is professional and friendly - and very helpful should the need arise. We LOVE our annual trip to Ogunquit and the Dunes and highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Ogunquit ME and we selected The Dunes based on Trip advisor's recommendations. We were looking for a romantic vacation and this place fit the bill. While the place is not upscale, it is very comfortable, incredibly clean, and away from the hustle and noise of the town center. The property is beautiful and turned out to be the perfect place for our two day stay. While we came here for a "romantic vacation", I found myself wishing that we had come here years ago when our children were small. It seemed to me that the cottages would have made for a perfect family home and with the pool and beach nearby my children would have been in heaven. Families should really consider making this place their summer vacation destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for a little "babymoon" and loved it. The setting is gorgeous and quaint.

We stayed in one of the little cabins that was shared with another room next door. It was tight, but the bathroom was large and recently renovated. The only con was the people next door to us we're playing music at night and the walls are kind of thin. We had to ask them to turn it down.

It was so nice to be able to walk over to the beach at low tide, but beware, the first portion of it was very thick, wet, muddy sand that suctions to your feet! But it was fun!

The grounds are very well kept. We also loved the shuffle board! The people behind the desk were also very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were two married couples in our early 60s. We only stayed one night because we were driving from NYC to Bar Harbor. The Dunes is very clean. The grounds are well kept. The location is quieter than in town or on the Marginal Way but it is very close. I felt the view was very relaxing and beautiful. It was a short drive to the footbridge which we enjoyed. It was a very good price for that town at this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended accommodations for family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes on the Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.