We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes on the Waterfront

Save Saved
You added The Dunes on the Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dunes on the Waterfront
518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've been going here every summer since I was two, and even though I'm 20 now, I've never grown tired of coming back to the Dunes every year. Everyone who works there is so friendly, the cottages are clean and adorable, it's in the perfect location (SO easy to get to the beach!), near lots of restaurants, but is set back from the road, so it's very quiet and private. I honestly cannot think of one bad thing about the Dunes. I mean, we've been going there for 18 years for a reason, right? :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I've been a frequent flier at the Dunes for 10+ years. My husband has been coming with me for eight and we always are there on shoulder season (late May) and stay in Cottage 5A, which has a kitchen and a nice screened-in porch. We have our rituals, i.e. arrive mid-afternoon and then head to the grocery store to pick up things we didn't bring with. The fire is roaring in the fireplace nearly all the time and it's a very relaxing vacation. We pick up steamers right down the street and make a clam boil, have our annual dinners at Lobster in the Rough and Clay Hill Farm, sit by the Dunes pool, fire up the blender and then...that's pretty much it. Anything else we do depends on the weather, as it's never predictable. We usually get rain at some point and always enjoy thunderstorms, as it's beautiful overlooking the Ogunquit River.

The property is beautiful, always clean and you feel like you're in a 'home away from home'. The staff is professional and friendly - and very helpful should the need arise. We LOVE our annual trip to Ogunquit and the Dunes and highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Ogunquit ME and we selected The Dunes based on Trip advisor's recommendations. We were looking for a romantic vacation and this place fit the bill. While the place is not upscale, it is very comfortable, incredibly clean, and away from the hustle and noise of the town center. The property is beautiful and turned out to be the perfect place for our two day stay. While we came here for a "romantic vacation", I found myself wishing that we had come here years ago when our children were small. It seemed to me that the cottages would have made for a perfect family home and with the pool and beach nearby my children would have been in heaven. Families should really consider making this place their summer vacation destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend for a little "babymoon" and loved it. The setting is gorgeous and quaint.

We stayed in one of the little cabins that was shared with another room next door. It was tight, but the bathroom was large and recently renovated. The only con was the people next door to us we're playing music at night and the walls are kind of thin. We had to ask them to turn it down.

It was so nice to be able to walk over to the beach at low tide, but beware, the first portion of it was very thick, wet, muddy sand that suctions to your feet! But it was fun!

The grounds are very well kept. We also loved the shuffle board! The people behind the desk were also very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were two married couples in our early 60s. We only stayed one night because we were driving from NYC to Bar Harbor. The Dunes is very clean. The grounds are well kept. The location is quieter than in town or on the Marginal Way but it is very close. I felt the view was very relaxing and beautiful. It was a short drive to the footbridge which we enjoyed. It was a very good price for that town at this time of year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, ma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Dunes is placed quietly, on the beach, off route 1. The place is pristine, providing every amenity for people on vacation. Heaven on earth..........enjoy!!

Room Tip: If you enjoy traveling off season, you may get the cottage of your dreams, cottage 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have been coming to the Dunes for 15 consecutive years and stayed in numerous cottages….we love them all. Cottage suites are our favorite…fireplaces, and fully equipped kitchens. Beautiful quiet grounds, exceptionally clean, dependable, and they always maintain the same high quality. You are in the middle of everything, but feel far away from the crowds. This is my wife’s “place” but now friends and extended family join us every year. We normally come in Oct, but this year we tried May. It is beautiful in the spring as well. We prefer shoulder season to avoid the large summer crowds. This is not a resort with all the high tech amenities; this is a home away from home. In the cottages, you do your own housekeeping and linen exchange. Hotel units have daily maid service. If you want a unique Maine Experience…come to the Dunes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#5 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended accommodations for family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes on the Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.