We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunes on the Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunes on the Waterfront to your Saves list
The Dunes on the Waterfront
518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bennington, VT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I've stayed here a number of times. I always come back because it's such a peaceful and quiet place to relax, with a wonderful nostelgic atmosphere. The grounds are situated right across from the ocean dunes, well beyond the busy street. I look forward to my yearly visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

You can't beat the location! It is on the Tidal River, can see the dunes across from the river, and there's the ocean. There are rowboats that you can take across the river to get to the dunes and ocean! How cool is that?! The cottage that we stayed in (5B I believe) was attached to another room but didnt hear a peep from them. You would never know that this place was here if you didn't know to turn in at the sign. It is very secluded and away from the business of the area. There is a playground for children and an in ground pool on the premesis.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed in several places in Ogunquit, ME over the years, and this place is the best.
Wonderful cabins right on the tidal river, clean, quaint and quiet. Grounds are beautiful, outdoor pool and little playground for kids. Boats are provided on a first come first served basis to use to go across the river to Footbridge Beach or you can walk over during low tide.
The managers of the property are the best and went out of the way to make sure I had a wonderful experience. This is now my favorite place to stay in Ogunquit and will be staying again soon.
Jessie

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Check in was pleasant and helpful, location is awesome, accomodations great, great place to kick back, and Ogunquit, curiously enough, has it all, from restaurants to scenery to art.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

we stayed here a few years back and enjoyed - came back and surprisingly enjoyed it and liked it even more the second time - most places decline after a while, but they've kept the place up nicely and i commend them for that.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at The Dunes for one night in April. Since it was the off-season, we booked it a couple of days before and they allowed us to book only one night vs. the two-night minimum. We stayed in 4B, which might just be the smallest room. It was small, but worked fine for us. If you were going to stay awhile, you might want to get a bigger room.

The setting of The Dunes is so peaceful and relaxing. We loved the adirondack chairs and the tidal river view. The staff was very friendly and helped us out with a number of things. The only drawback might be that it is a little far from the downtown. However, there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. I would go back there and could also see going back with friends or family for a week.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Our room was 5C on the second floor. The room was small but it had everything that we needed including a coffee maker, and small refergator. The room decorated nicely and the bed was very confortable and the entire place was super clean. Upon our arrival we received a welcome card and a special chocolate, which we thought was a nice touch. The location was great we walked into town which was about 1 mile from the Dunes on the Waterfront. We like to walk and hike, so we even walked to the Marginal Way which by the way was amazing. The entrance to the Marginal Way in the town of Ogunquit was a little tricky to find to begin with, but we found it.

At the Dunes on the Waterfront we like the peace and quite, the view from the property was wonderful. Overlooking the Ogunquit river and watching its low and high tide. They had 5 boats which could be used to row across the river during high tide to reach Ogunquit beach. Or you could walk across at low tide or walk down the road to the footbridge to get to the beach.

Just across the street are several restaurants, all within walking distance.

We did find that traffic can get pretty congested in the Ogunquit town center.

This was our first trip to Maine and we hope to go back.
They also have an outside pool, which was great as well and several other activites available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunes on the Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes on the Waterfront

Address: 518 Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#6 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended accommodations for family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Dunes on the Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes On The Waterfront Hotel Ogunquit
The Dunes On Waterfront
Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit
The Dunes On The Waterfront Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunes on the Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.