We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place By The Sea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Save
You added The Beachmere Inn to your Saves list
62 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
“Beautiful Place By The Sea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have stayed at the Beachmere since the late 1970's. I have always stayed in The Victorian. This is my most favorite vacation. The view is breathtaking. Waking up every morning to see the sunrise. You can walk to the Marginal Way to Perkins Cove, Ogunquit and the beach.They have made many improvements over the years. Sarah has done an excellent job of combining the old and new. Always enjoy the sunrise, sea, sand and seafood . Thanks for the wonderful memories and looking forward to making more memories next September.

Room Tip: I've always stayed in the victorian but the new rooms are very enticing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    107
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
147
340
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was a family trip to celebrate our anniversary and a special birthday. We love the location and its convenience to Perkins Cove and Ogunquit center among other places including the Ogunquit Playhouse. We thoroughly enjoyed The Buddy Holly Story this time around. Each morning we walked the marginal way. The views are breathtaking. We had a great time and were sorry to see it end.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What other place would be worth an 8 hour drive in traffic on a rainy Friday night after an exhausting full week of work? Need I say more? A beautiful hotel unlike any other with beautiful views in a beautiful town set on the beautiful marginal way ( which is amazing no matter where you are, but the Beachmere has the best location of all!) where one can watch the sunrise, the ever changing tides, and simply nature at her ...most beautiful ! Yeah, maybe the beds aren't as comfortable as at home, and they don't serve bacon and eggs with breakfast...but once you are here you don't think about any of that. You will savor every moment and never want to leave!

Room Tip: Go for the Victorian. Get a room with an ocean view and a balcony. Just don't take my room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's always been a childhood dream of mine to stay here in what I used to call the "castle". My parents' friends owned the "Dolphin Post Motel" back in the 60's and 70's and we used to come visit them. It's now Dolphin Post Condos (individually sold years ago). The Beachmere only had the Victorian building at the time. I used to wander the Marginal Way as a little girl and dreamed of one day seeing the inside of this "castle". At almost age 54, I finally did it! My husband and I came for a 5 day/4 night stay. We were in room #10. Full size fridge, stove, oven, toaster, all the amenities of a small efficiency. We were blessed with fabulous weather (after the first day). It was unseasonably warm, but we weren't complaining! The location can't be beat. Directly on the water, private access to the Marginal Way. Walking distance to everything...shops, restaurants, small grocery store, etc. We'd like to extend a special thanks and recognition to Jamie. The night we got there (Friday) we were a little travel weary and just a little hungry. We ordered a soup and sandwich from the on-site restaurant. We were going to wait but Jamie said she'd deliver the meal to our room. A few minutes later she did and we saw she was SOAKED from a sudden rain shower. The smile never left her face as she set our items on the table. She even apologized for the receipt being wet! During our entire stay, she went above and beyond with cheerful efficiency. Also, Betty, Victoria and Delores kept that kitchen running smoothly in the mornings for breakfast. If you're lucky, you'll be there on a "scones" morning....fresh and hot out of the oven! We decided that this will become an annual tradition for us. It's such a romantic and relaxing spot. We couldn't help but relax and just enjoy each other! HIGHLY recommend for couples, honeymoon, anniversary or just a nice, intimate getaway! We'll be calling soon to arrange next year's stay!

Room Tip: Stay in the Victorian, but not on the bottom floor (first). We didn't stay there, but noticed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice and cozy, quiet and restful. Nothing fancy, yet nice at the same time. We had room 21 in the Victoria so the view was superb!! The room ammenities are sparce - small room, and curtains really needed replaced - moth holes galore! But - all else was nice. Spa experience was good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bullfrog Cottage which was a great experience. It is off from the main property of the Beachmere Resort, but an easy walk and we found it to be very quiet and relaxing. It was clean and kind of funky in that there was a King, electric range small fridge combo that was vintage 1960 series....I called it funky town as soon as we walked in. We loved it. It is so much better that the standard square hotel room with windows that don't open etc. It had a living room area with a couch and a chair, a small kitchen area with everything we needed including wine glasses in the cabinet and the bedroom was separate with a twin and a queen bed. Our unit was #303 on the second floor and we will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you have kids this is a nice option. There is a nice little yard on the property and the kids ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location is great. Stay in the Victorian. The view is stunning. It is why we stay there. The room is utilitarian with a kitchenette and small dining table. The bed is not so comfortable, but okay. The continental breakfast is varied but the quality just passable. The staff is pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#2 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is a seaside Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a seaside inn and hotel-style rooms, all with kitchenettes and some wood & gas fireplaces. In 2008 they added a full-service spa level, pub, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachmere Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.