We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Save
You added The Beachmere Inn to your Saves list
62 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

At the last moment, my family decided to go to the ocean, despite the cold, and we booked a room at the Beachmere overlooking the water. Wow! We walked the marginal way, basked in the beauty of place, and enjoyed all four of us, very comfortably, relaxing and sleeping. We awoke early to watch the sunrise and then climbed back into bed for a while! It was hard to leave.
I appreciate the way the Beachmere does business. They are friendly, relaxed, seem to have integrity and continue to progress in making the Inn as green as possible. Everything is beautifully done. We enjoyed our brief yet rejuvenating visit and will definitely be back. It just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    108
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
147
342
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have stayed at the Beachmere many times in the past, it is great! The best views of the ocean, easy access to Marginal Way and a wonderful staff! We enjoy the luxury suites, the accommodations are very top of the line, dual sinks, radiant tile flooring, some with gas fire places. The price is high but well worth it, easy walk to town, restaurants and the beach.

Room Tip: Luxury suites are well worth the price, great views, bathrooms, great all seasons, call April 1 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We needed a couple of days to get away from it all this past summer. We tried to find a place that would take us for just 2 nights in Ogunquit, but many had much longer minimums. I noticed on the Beachmere's website that they had some "last minute" reservations... We ended up in a lovely 1 bedroom unit with a kitchenette that they had on their website. It worked perfectly in our schedule and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, though a bit tight for 4 of us. However, having the outdoor area to sit under an umbrella and read while overlooking the ocean was really, really nice... We really enjoyed the "outdoor extension" of our room!

The only issue we had with this location was that the only beaches available in quick walking distance were small and rocky - and basically disappeared during high tide. However, being able to just hop right on to the Marginal Way to walk to Perkins Cove made up for that!

Room Tip: Spend some time on their website and see what rooms are available. I think it would be worth it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Stayed at the Beachmere for 1 night and couldn't have bben happier with our room. We had room 15 which is ocean front. We had a great fireplace in the room which was very romantic. Staff was great. It was very quiet being off season and a Thursday night, perfect for what we were looking for...peace and quiet. Even though it was chilly we sat out on the benches over loooking the ocean. Room was exceptionally clean and well kept.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Our first visit to Beachmere was magical. What a spot. Right on the oceanfront with the Marginal Way at your doorstep. A beautiful little pub and breakfast room, rooms vary by price.
We had some maintenance problems when we first arrived and then the staff fell all over themselves trying to rectify the situation, including sending us a bottle of wine and several phonecalls to ensure that everything was now OK with our room. The next day, Carol, the manager on duty, offered to move my husband and I, as well as our daughter and family in a adjoing room, to newer and much upgraded rooms at the same price we were paying for the older unit. We took advantage of her offer and spent the balance of our stay in absolutely gorgeous king suites with a balcony and a fantastic view of the water (although all rooms do have a view, this one was a little better). I can't say enough about the staff, they are over the top cordial and accommodating. Rooms are clean, linens are fresh. We would love to come back to Beachmere as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer units are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have been going to the Beachmere for quite a few years and each trip is better than the previous one. The accomodations are exceptional and the views from the suites are fantastic. The staff is very welcoming and the continental breakfast is very good. We will miss going back in June, 2012 but have already booked our sute for November 2012.

Room Tip: Beachmere south has wonderful rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Overall, the property is nice- clean, quaint and convenient. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room (#17) was clean, spacious and modern. In general, the room and property met our expectations.

We encountered three significant issues that we were not expecting:

1. The floor of the room above us creaked terribly, waking us up both mornings long before we wished to be awake. The occupants seemed to be soft-footed, however each step resulted in very loud creaking overhead.

2. Our room came with a large private deck, including our own stairs in and out of our room. The deck is marked as private in at least 3 places, and is even roped off to help restrict access. Unfortunately, a large number of inn guests routinely utilized our deck and stairs to gain access to their rooms and the rest of the Victorian Inn. As a result, we had people peeking in our room and creating an uncomfortable experience for us as we sat on our bed reading or watching the television. Sure, we could have closed the blinds, but who wants to block off their ocean view in the middle of the day? Kind of defeats the purpose of an ocean room. We ended up piling the patio furniture at the entrance to the stairs to prevent people from coming up to our door and windows, but even this did not deter some guests. The whole experience was very uncomfortable.

3. The area was completely shut down, with very few exceptions, during our Thanksgiving stay. This is not a knock on the property by any means, however next time we will probably not stay over this holiday.

Next time we head to Ogunquit we look forward to staying at the Beachmere. Next time, however, we will be sure to stay in a room with no tenant above us and no outside access to our deck.

Room Tip: Room 17 has partially restricted ocean views and a deck that can be accessed by all inn guests. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is a seaside Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a seaside inn and hotel-style rooms, all with kitchenettes and some wood & gas fireplaces. In 2008 they added a full-service spa level, pub, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachmere Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.