We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachmere Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachmere Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ogunquit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachmere Inn
Save
You added The Beachmere Inn to your Saves list
62 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beachmere Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Can't imagine a better place for a summer vacation. Quick access to the cove beach, short walk on beautiful Marginal Way to access town and the main beach, beautiful updated family suites...actually don't mind a rain day because it is such a nice place to be. Big lawn and lawn games. Close access to hiking and road/mountain biking. Now with surf and SUP lessons right from the Beachmere, can't imagine what is missing! If I had to pick something, I think the restaurant could use some vegetarian/healthy fish options and I miss the "When Pigs Fly" fruit breads they used to have at breakfast but those are little things. We already have reservations for 2012 and will be making them for 2013 as soon as reservations open Jan 2nd - my calendar is marked!

Room Tip: Pics available on-line of all the rooms to help you choose the best fit for your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    108
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
147
342
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had our ceremony and wedding here in July 2011. The place could not have been more perfect. The staff was terrific. Kimberly, the wedding coordinator was exceptional. The food, everyone of our guest raved about. Because this was a destination wedding, I had to rely on all the Beachmeres recommendations for who to use a suppliers for the justice of peace, flowers, sound system and hair salon, all were excellent. Our guest put our wedding at the top of the list for best weddings, it was that perfect!!! I would recommend this hotel for any occasion. Robin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

...or at least that's how we felt when we stayed at the Beachmere!

This was our first visit to Maine and it was a wonderful experience. The Beachmere provided everything we could have asked for. The property is amazingly beautiful and well-maintained (kudos to your gardener!) -- the rooms are very well appointed, clean and very comfortable. We stayed in 217 in the West building -- this room has a gas fireplace and came in handy on a cool, rainy Monday night during our stay (check the Beachmere website - you can see exactly what's in each room). We had planned for this (checked the weather before arriving of course!) and popped a DVD movie into the DVD player provided in the room.

Both the King bed in the bedroom, and the sofa bed in the living room, were comfortable with nice, clean sheets, pillows and blankets. The bathroom is immaculate - double sink, plenty of new, clean towels.

Beautiful views from the private deck. Ours overlooked Ogunquit beach. The Marginal Way is accessible from several locations directly on the property. Short walk into town and to Perkins Cove -- so it's a perfect location all around. A convenient trolley stop is located at the end of the street.

Housekeeping was excellent. Our rooms were serviced in a timely fashion each day, and requests we made were handled immediately. A very nice breakfast is provided daily from 8 to 10am - you may eat in the indoor breakfast room, or outside on the patio, or take it back to your room. At night, the breakfast room turns into "Bawdy Sally's Pub" -- which we did try one evening -- and was excellent as well (thanks Mike!). The kitchenette contained everything we needed for a quick snack or a hot drink during our stay.

The only thing bad about our stay was that it had to end : ). We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We LOVE the Beachmere. The room decor is nothing fancy, but it's new and clean and perfectly adequate. We have always stayed in either the West building or the new units at the end of the South.
We love the little cove beaches, plus the fact that it's walking distance to everything in town and right on the Marginal Way. The morning continental breakfast is perfect and the staff is attentive and friendly. I could go on and on....

The only deterrent I can give is if you want a pool or have kids that are easily bored, I'd suggest you stay elsewhere. It's a peaceful and calm setting.

Our fourth year in a row and we have yet to have any complaint worth noting. In fact, every year I've left suggestions on the room suggestion card and am amazed that each year when we return, at least one of the suggestions has been implemented! Way to go Beachmere!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Our room in the South building had a nice view. The place is very well cared-for, and the staff was nice. It's pricey, but this is one of those cases where you get what you pay for, and we'd definitely consider coming here again.

The "sumptuous" continental breakfast wasn't really any better than any Hampton Inn.

I had one gripe. They suggest that I tip the housekeeper $2.50 per day per person. I always tip the housekeeper, but not at that rate (unless I'm alone and then I beat it). In all my years of visiting hotels, only once before has a hotel suggested such a thing, and that hotel didn't suggest, it added it to my bill. If I'm spending $250 a night for a room, I should think that the hotel can pay their housekeepers a decent wage and not beg for additional compensation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear Ed C
Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you noticed how hard the staff works to keep our grounds, rooms and amenities well cared for. We find many guests enjoy our continental breakfast consisting of home baked breads, muffins, scones, granola, fruit, cereals, bagels, hard boiled eggs (and more) satisfactory for their start to the day.

I’m sorry that you felt our suggestion for tipping our housekeeper was a plea to help us pay our staff. We pay top wages to our housekeepers. As with any service industry, tipping is based on satisfaction, and we do not add an automatic gratuity to the bill. With the many international travelers who stay with us, we merely make a suggestion, not a rule, to tipping of the housekeeping staff. What is printed in our our guest information book states “We are often asked about tipping. Tipping the staff is purely discretionary. Guidelines used in the area are $2.50 per guest per day for the housekeepers. For 3 people our suggestion comes to $7.50 a day, a 3% gratuity and is discretionary. I’m sorry if this offended you as it was certainly not our intent. We hope to see you back at The Beachmere Inn in the future. Winter well in California!
Sarah Diment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful 50th birthday celebration with 5 girlfriends. We were all more than pleased with the Beachmere and it's terrific staff. The entire staff, from bartenders to housekeepers went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The staff arranged a spa day for us that was perfect, Sara (owner/manager) went out of her way to make sure we had a great time and made us feel right at home. The view is spectacular, rooms were clean and comfortable and the homemade donuts at breakfast were the best. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachmereSarah, Owner at The Beachmere Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Elizabeth S -
Thank you for your review. I so enjoyed meeting your group, who clearly enjoys each others company and knows how to have fun. I appreciate your kind words regarding our team efforts to make every guests feel like they have a home away from home when they are here. I will share this review with them - as they work hard to provide the very best to each guest. We'll make sure to have the donuts ready for your next visit. Enjoy the fall and the next big b-day! Sarah Diment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This trip was for my group of 6 close friends, all turning 50 this year, to get away to mark the occasion. We considered many different towns, but ended up settling on Ogunquit. The Beachmere was rated #1 on TripAdvisor, and had everything we were looking for. We were in 3 rooms in the South building, each room with a queen & twin bed. The rooms were spotlessly clean with a small kitchenette. The views were spectacular. Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly, helpful, and it is apparent they take pride in their hotel. Everything in town in within walking distance. We rented a car for one day to take a side trip to Portland and Kennebunkport, but other than that, we walked. Sarah was extremely helpful in the planning of this trip, and she was very friendly and kind to us while we were there. She arranged for us to have a wonderful afternoon at the spa, with a lovely spread of snacks and wine, and Kim was there to make sure everything went as planned that day. Do not hesitate to stay here; I can't imagine a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beachmere Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachmere Inn

Address: 62 Beachmere Place, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachmere Inn is a seaside Victorian inn & hotel offering spectacular ocean view accommodations. It's been family-owned and operated since 1937. Accommodations include a seaside inn and hotel-style rooms, all with kitchenettes and some wood & gas fireplaces. In 2008 they added a full-service spa level, pub, hot tub and exercise room. The ocean views are simply fantastic from your room or from the expansive lawn. Direct access to the Marginal Way ocean footpath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Hotel Ogunquit
Beachmere Ogunquit
The Beachmere Inn Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachmere Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.