We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort, but lovely nonetheless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Save Saved
You added Meadowmere Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadowmere Resort
74 South Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Pub Special
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not a resort, but lovely nonetheless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I'd never stayed in this area before, and was so glad my wife and I took a chance! We hit the hotel at an unfortunate time; lots of construction going on in the very front. Fortunately for us it was a Saturday and quiet, but the trucks etc blocked the front entrance, which looked to be quite nice. Though the hotel is not on the water, it's very near - I took my morning jog along the coast, on a well traveled, nicely laid out path that was filled with fantastic views. There's plenty to do in the area, the rooms are decently appointed and very, very clean. Ours was in the back, with a small terrace (it overlooked the parking lot but we didn't really care, at the price we weren't expecting much of a "view"). The terrace door opened fully, meaning we didn't have to rely on the heat/AC unit, which was a relief for my allergies. Everyone was charming and helpful.
Two pluses - Jonathan's, the restaurant next door, had a nice jazz duo playing in the bar when we were there. Unobtrusive and good. The food was also quite good, though I'd caution against ordering the steak. (Advertised at 16 oz, I ordered "rare" and was treated to a piece of meat less than 3/4" thick, which was grey inside. To be fair, the waiter immediately took it back and substituted another dish at my request.)
I also would not call this a "resort", though it may have been that back in the day. But definitely worth the tariff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for choosing the Meadowmere!

Thank you for the compliments on our accommodations and our location – Guests are often pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to enjoy a morning walk or jog along the Marginal Way. We are happy to know that you found the resort cozy and the service friendly. We are also happy to know that our cleanliness and the balcony access helped make you comfortable during your stay.

We apologize for the difficulties accessing our main entrance during your stay. Our outdoor pool renovations are an exciting upgrade to the resort that we look forward to completing within a few weeks. We hope you can return to enjoy the new pool and our many other amenities. We would also be happy to recommend local restaurants too!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    155
    45
    34
    17
See reviews for
173
291
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent a night in this hotel during a fall color trip to New England. The hotel is lovely, although I wouldn't call it a resort. Staff were welcoming and helpful during check-in. Our room was an ADA accessible room as my husband has some difficulty walking. The room itself was tastefully decorated and clean, if a bit small. The king bed was very comfortable and both of us slept quite well. The bathroom was one of the better accessible bathrooms on our trip with a walk-in shower, although it would be tight for wheelchair access, which thankfully we didn't need. The breakfast was strictly a continental breakfast as advertised. There was a good selection of fruits, cold cereal, coffee and juice. While the pastries looked lovely, those I sampled were dry and not nearly as tasty as they looked. All is all, a good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying your Fall getaway with us!

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it was our pleasure to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Thank you for letting us know that the layout of the room helped make a difference. We are delighted that you could join us for the foliage – the colors have been wonderful this season. Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and for the feedback on our breakfast.

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devens, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to Ogunquit for our 24th anniversay. We reserved a luxury suite the day before our trip, which was a very nice surprise to find an available room. Fantastic room with fireplace, jacuzzi, great walk-in shower, and wonderful bed. Everything was so clean. The desk staff was very efficient and very friendly. The staff made two trips to bring things to our room and were also very nice.
We will definitely return! Loved it and will be going back.

Room Tip: They do not offer breakfast, but there are plenty of local options. Suites are big and well furnishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and celebrating your Anniversary at the Meadowmere Resort! Congratulations from all of us!

We were delighted to be part of the special occasion and thank you for letting us help make the last minute getaway special! Our Luxury Suites are a favorite for such celebrations – with the cozy B&B feel, private location within the hotel and the in room amenities of Jacuzzi and fireplace. Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness – It is important to us and we follow a 100 point inspection program and deep cleaning several times a year to provide a clean and comfortable stay. We are very happy to know that our hotel and our service made the celebration fantastic and thank you for letting us be a part of your 24th anniversary memories.

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed for the weekend and our room was the arch honeymoon suite. The room is located above the driveway in the arch that connects the main building with another building, I believe the west building. The room can be seen on the website. One thing to keep in mind is that your view is of the parking lot and main street, with all of it's traffic is about 100 feet away. The hot tub is spacious, but difficult to get into as could use a couple of steps. The tub would not produce bubbles and we notified maintenance but it was never fixed nor did we ever hear a word as to what was wrong. The resort is beautifully decorated for fall. When it was all said and done I would have stayed at the Beachmere for less money and had an ocean view......they don't have whirlpool tubs but neither does Meadowmere..atleast not ones that work properly.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we thank you for your business.

Thank you for choosing the hotel for your weekend getaway. The Honeymoon Arch is often a favorite for celebrations, especially with the central location within the hotel and large suite size.

We appreciate the opportunity to assist you during your stay with the in room Jacuzzi. Upon inspection, maintenance found the tub to be working properly and all jets functioning. We apologize if our team did not reach to you to relay this message and will certainly look into why. Though there are operating instructions in the room, we are always happy to personally assist a guest too. We appreciate the feedback so that we may improve.

We certainly understand that you may have preferred a different view – however, as the Meadowmere is not located on ocean, we cannot accommodate water views. We are happy however to note that you may prefer a different suite with a less central location within the hotel. It is our pleasure to help find a fit for your next vacation. Should you wish to discuss further, we welcome you to contact us.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very well-run, cozy place. We usually stay in Kennebunkport and in a last minute decision to go to Maine over Columbus Day we were able to get a room at the Meadowmere. Admittedly, I had always discounted it as a family place run amok with noisy kids...that's because there is an indoor pool visible to Rt 1 for those driving by. However, we were pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were very nice, sparkling clean and decorated in a quality well beyond most local establishments. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and efficient, though they could smile a little more :) The grounds were festive for fall with coloful pumpkins, gourds, cornstalks and Halloween decorations. Very cheery and fun. The grounds seem to be their pride and joy. It looks great.

Continental breakfasts come with the room, and there's coffee throughout the day in the office and sitting room. While what was on offer for breakfast was plentiful, we thought the homemade breads were probably some of the least tasty we have ever had. I think they deal in volume and so maybe what we had had been frozen...that shouldn't really matter. Good coffee, juices, oatmeal..can't complain too much.

The location is great. Walkable to downtown Ogunquit. Quick trips to Cape Neddick, Kittery and Kennebunkport.

Overall I would recommend the Meadowmere. It has a lot of competition in the area so it needs to work to stand out and I think in some ways it does.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and choosing the Meadowmere!

Thank you for the compliments on our accommodations, our service and our location – Guests are often pleasantly surprised at how easy it is walk almost everywhere in Ogunquit and the short off season drive to nearby towns. We are happy to know that you found the resort cozy and comfortable and while the Meadowmere is known as a family friendly hotel, we have many couples join us for our Luxury Suites, packages and the quiet season. Though we do incorporate seasonal ingredients and longtime guest favorites when baking the breads each day, we apologize if our homemade bread was less then tasty during your stay. Thank you for the feedback so we can improve.

We hope you can visit us again to enjoy the different seasons and décor for each time of year. We are delighted that our Fall decorations made such a great impression.

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Meadowmere Resort many times & have always been satisfied with the room & the property amenities. This time we were assigned a room in the Main Building that had 2 double beds. There was a nice flat screen TV & a small fridge. There was ample room for all our clothes. There was a very small patio outside the sliding door with 2 chairs that fit side by side.

The room was a good size & very clean. Like the last room we got there was a very small bathroom that had a tub/shower & toilet. The sink was outside the door & this time there was a hairdryer. A continental breakfast in the Pub was included in the reasonable off-season rate. There is also a game room near the Pub. There are ice machines in different areas & also vending machines for smacks & sodas. The trolley was still running to Perkin's Cove & the price was $1.50 each way.

The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of the restaurants & shops & Marginal Way...which is a paved walkway along the ocean that leads to Perkin's Cove. Many of the restaurants were open for dinner only this time of year so check before you go. The Ogunquit Theatre is just a short ride away & very popular.

There is a nice heated in-door pool & an outside hot tub. There is a spa on the property too. There was coffee & tea available throughout the day in the lobby area & there was also hot cider & apples. There is a book with menus from most of the restaurants in the area. There is plenty of free parking for guests. The property was nicely decorated for Halloween.

It rained both days we were there so we drove to the Kittery Outlets which are about a half hour away. The hotel is also a short ride from York, ME...there is a zoo there & a nice lighthouse. It is also a short ride from Kennebunkport, ME

This is a nice hotel for couples as well as families. I met a lot of people at the hotel who were on a bus trip from Ohio. I highly recommend this property.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and enjoying Fall at the Meadowmere!

We are happy to know that you had such a wonderful stay and thank you for joining us over the years. It looks like you got to see our many Fall decorations, including our witch, spiders and giant pumpkins – Thank you for sharing photos.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Main Building accommodations and thank you for the compliments on our location and amenities. We are happy to know that you enjoy both Ogunquit and the nearby towns – a quick drive in the quiet season makes it easy to enjoy so much. We thank you for letting us be a part of your trip and hope you can enjoy the Meadowmere again!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a couple of years ago, to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We enjoyed this stay - our last vacation before the birth of our first baby - just as much as that one!

We were hoping staff would have - as they did last time - their delicious hot apple cider waiting for us in the lobby and they didn't disappoint! We actually poured ourselves some before we checked in and it brought a smile to our face!

We had the pleasure of enjoying for the first time their Roman Spa, with its waterfalls and powerful jets, and it was such a relaxing experience. Though we didn't interact with staff very much, they've seemed friendly and accommodating during each of our visits.

We will be back again, I'm sure. We love it here!

Our only complaint was that they were out of hot apple cider one of the times we tried to get some. Make sure you stay on top of keeping that container filled, Meadowmere staff! It's a crowd pleaser and is so disappointing when you're all out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and celebrating your Babymoon at the Meadowmere Resort! Congratulations from all of us!

We are delighted to be a part of the special occasion and thank you for letting us help make the Babymoon special! It was our pleasure to share our homemade seasonal cider with you – It is made daily and certainly is popular! Thank you for the compliments on our amenities – The Roman Spa is a favorite with the waterfalls and therapeutic salt water. We are very happy to know that our hotel has been part of such wonderful memories over the year for you.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again – and the new addition for the first time – on your next stay!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Address: 74 South Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#15 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned hotel in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowmere Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.