We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meadowmere Resort to your Saves list
Meadowmere Resort
74 South Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed for the weekend and our room was the arch honeymoon suite. The room is located above the driveway in the arch that connects the main building with another building, I believe the west building. The room can be seen on the website. One thing to keep in mind is that your view is of the parking lot and main street, with all of it's traffic is about 100 feet away. The hot tub is spacious, but difficult to get into as could use a couple of steps. The tub would not produce bubbles and we notified maintenance but it was never fixed nor did we ever hear a word as to what was wrong. The resort is beautifully decorated for fall. When it was all said and done I would have stayed at the Beachmere for less money and had an ocean view......they don't have whirlpool tubs but neither does Meadowmere..atleast not ones that work properly.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we thank you for your business.

Thank you for choosing the hotel for your weekend getaway. The Honeymoon Arch is often a favorite for celebrations, especially with the central location within the hotel and large suite size.

We appreciate the opportunity to assist you during your stay with the in room Jacuzzi. Upon inspection, maintenance found the tub to be working properly and all jets functioning. We apologize if our team did not reach to you to relay this message and will certainly look into why. Though there are operating instructions in the room, we are always happy to personally assist a guest too. We appreciate the feedback so that we may improve.

We certainly understand that you may have preferred a different view – however, as the Meadowmere is not located on ocean, we cannot accommodate water views. We are happy however to note that you may prefer a different suite with a less central location within the hotel. It is our pleasure to help find a fit for your next vacation. Should you wish to discuss further, we welcome you to contact us.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    172
    49
    34
    17
See reviews for
181
320
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very well-run, cozy place. We usually stay in Kennebunkport and in a last minute decision to go to Maine over Columbus Day we were able to get a room at the Meadowmere. Admittedly, I had always discounted it as a family place run amok with noisy kids...that's because there is an indoor pool visible to Rt 1 for those driving by. However, we were pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were very nice, sparkling clean and decorated in a quality well beyond most local establishments. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and efficient, though they could smile a little more :) The grounds were festive for fall with coloful pumpkins, gourds, cornstalks and Halloween decorations. Very cheery and fun. The grounds seem to be their pride and joy. It looks great.

Continental breakfasts come with the room, and there's coffee throughout the day in the office and sitting room. While what was on offer for breakfast was plentiful, we thought the homemade breads were probably some of the least tasty we have ever had. I think they deal in volume and so maybe what we had had been frozen...that shouldn't really matter. Good coffee, juices, oatmeal..can't complain too much.

The location is great. Walkable to downtown Ogunquit. Quick trips to Cape Neddick, Kittery and Kennebunkport.

Overall I would recommend the Meadowmere. It has a lot of competition in the area so it needs to work to stand out and I think in some ways it does.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and choosing the Meadowmere!

Thank you for the compliments on our accommodations, our service and our location – Guests are often pleasantly surprised at how easy it is walk almost everywhere in Ogunquit and the short off season drive to nearby towns. We are happy to know that you found the resort cozy and comfortable and while the Meadowmere is known as a family friendly hotel, we have many couples join us for our Luxury Suites, packages and the quiet season. Though we do incorporate seasonal ingredients and longtime guest favorites when baking the breads each day, we apologize if our homemade bread was less then tasty during your stay. Thank you for the feedback so we can improve.

We hope you can visit us again to enjoy the different seasons and décor for each time of year. We are delighted that our Fall decorations made such a great impression.

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Meadowmere Resort many times & have always been satisfied with the room & the property amenities. This time we were assigned a room in the Main Building that had 2 double beds. There was a nice flat screen TV & a small fridge. There was ample room for all our clothes. There was a very small patio outside the sliding door with 2 chairs that fit side by side.

The room was a good size & very clean. Like the last room we got there was a very small bathroom that had a tub/shower & toilet. The sink was outside the door & this time there was a hairdryer. A continental breakfast in the Pub was included in the reasonable off-season rate. There is also a game room near the Pub. There are ice machines in different areas & also vending machines for smacks & sodas. The trolley was still running to Perkin's Cove & the price was $1.50 each way.

The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of the restaurants & shops & Marginal Way...which is a paved walkway along the ocean that leads to Perkin's Cove. Many of the restaurants were open for dinner only this time of year so check before you go. The Ogunquit Theatre is just a short ride away & very popular.

There is a nice heated in-door pool & an outside hot tub. There is a spa on the property too. There was coffee & tea available throughout the day in the lobby area & there was also hot cider & apples. There is a book with menus from most of the restaurants in the area. There is plenty of free parking for guests. The property was nicely decorated for Halloween.

It rained both days we were there so we drove to the Kittery Outlets which are about a half hour away. The hotel is also a short ride from York, ME...there is a zoo there & a nice lighthouse. It is also a short ride from Kennebunkport, ME

This is a nice hotel for couples as well as families. I met a lot of people at the hotel who were on a bus trip from Ohio. I highly recommend this property.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and enjoying Fall at the Meadowmere!

We are happy to know that you had such a wonderful stay and thank you for joining us over the years. It looks like you got to see our many Fall decorations, including our witch, spiders and giant pumpkins – Thank you for sharing photos.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the Main Building accommodations and thank you for the compliments on our location and amenities. We are happy to know that you enjoy both Ogunquit and the nearby towns – a quick drive in the quiet season makes it easy to enjoy so much. We thank you for letting us be a part of your trip and hope you can enjoy the Meadowmere again!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a couple of years ago, to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We enjoyed this stay - our last vacation before the birth of our first baby - just as much as that one!

We were hoping staff would have - as they did last time - their delicious hot apple cider waiting for us in the lobby and they didn't disappoint! We actually poured ourselves some before we checked in and it brought a smile to our face!

We had the pleasure of enjoying for the first time their Roman Spa, with its waterfalls and powerful jets, and it was such a relaxing experience. Though we didn't interact with staff very much, they've seemed friendly and accommodating during each of our visits.

We will be back again, I'm sure. We love it here!

Our only complaint was that they were out of hot apple cider one of the times we tried to get some. Make sure you stay on top of keeping that container filled, Meadowmere staff! It's a crowd pleaser and is so disappointing when you're all out!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and celebrating your Babymoon at the Meadowmere Resort! Congratulations from all of us!

We are delighted to be a part of the special occasion and thank you for letting us help make the Babymoon special! It was our pleasure to share our homemade seasonal cider with you – It is made daily and certainly is popular! Thank you for the compliments on our amenities – The Roman Spa is a favorite with the waterfalls and therapeutic salt water. We are very happy to know that our hotel has been part of such wonderful memories over the year for you.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again – and the new addition for the first time – on your next stay!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay. Great service, very clean accomodations and within walking distance to the water. We were on a bus tour and we were welcomed with a wine and cheese reception. The staff was there to wlecome us and answer any questions we had. Very ample breakfast. The only downside was we were only there one night. Would be a great place to stay for a long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for taking a tour to Ogunquit!

We enjoying welcoming tour groups to the area and even if it is just one night, we spend time with each group to make the most of their visit. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the short walk to the Marginal Way and shops and thank you for the compliments on our service and accommodations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a long weekend. We thank you for letting us be a part of your trip and hope you can enjoy the Meadowmere again!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised by all the amenities offered at the Meadowmere Resort in Ogunquit, ME. Late September was the perfect time to travel with cooler weather and greatly reduced crowds of people. Happy, friendly, convenient are only a few words to describe this resort. While there were plenty of guests at the Meadowmere it seemed as if we had complete run of the place. A matter of timing, we found no one at the outdoor jacuzzi, the indoor pool, and the barbeque area. There were only a handful of people in the gym when we chose to use it. If the weather is inclement there are so many nooks and crannies to sit and read, do puzzles, sip complimentary coffee, tea, or hot cider. Continental breakfast suited our needs- very well maintained and stocked. We found virtually no faults with our visit (the first night a problem developed with our tv but it was later in the evening and really did not bother us and the tub should have a grab bar for safety). We plan on returning time and again for that special off-season r&r time. Thank you Meadowmere.

Room Tip: Had a room on the back side of the main building which was away from the road. Very quiet and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying a little R&R with us!

It was our pleasure to welcome you and thank you for the kind words about our amenities and friendliness. Our Main Building rooms is a favorite area to be close to the many amenities at hotel – especially the outdoor Jacuzzi and indoor pool. We often hear how much guests enjoy the ‘nooks and crannies’ of the resort to relax with a good book and friends. Please know that our desk is staffed 24 hours a day and is always happy to help – We hope the TV was adjusted during your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed late September and we hope you can join us again in the quiet season!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern NH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We did a one night trip north and chose this hotel based only on Tripadvisor. The rate was $128 including tax. The facility was wonderfully clean, well maintained, and the staff were all very friendly and responsive. Our room had a king bed, large armoire with fridge, and while the bath was small, it was shiny and clean. Our stay included a continental breakfast which had much more than an average breakfast. It had hot oatmeal, eggs, fruits, muffins, donuts, plenty of juices, and the coffee was delicious. The high point was the hot tub. We hung out with other guests and just relaxed at our own pace. Wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: All rooms are good - but because there are often large busses out back, you will hear folks getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for choosing the Meadowmere!

Thank you for the compliments on our cleanliness and service. We know these are important reasons guests choose to give us a try and to return. Thank you for enjoying our seasonal continental breakfast –Our coffee is Maine made and we bake each morning for our guests during the season. It sounds like you discovered our Roman Spa, the indoor hot tub, and relaxed in this special space. It is one of our guests’ most favorite amenity and part of our environmental programs. We hope you can join us again for the quiet season.

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Address: 74 South Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned hotel in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowmere Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.