We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort hotel in Ogunquit....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowmere Resort

Save Saved
You added Meadowmere Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meadowmere Resort
74 South Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
July Pub Special
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Drummondville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best resort hotel in Ogunquit....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Meadowmere Resort is by far the best resort/hotel in Ogunquit (and I can honestly say I've tried a lot of them in Ogunquit). I've been coming here at this resort for more than 10 years and it has become my ''home away from home''. Whenever I need to escape to the ocean (which for me is a 300 mile trip)....this is the place to be. Granted it is not directly on the ocean, but the quality, service, amenities provided and the best staff you could ever wish for is here. Always a 10 for me, the Meadowmere Resort as close to the ocean, the beaches and the Marginal Way (walking path among the rock formations, unique in the world, that leads to a small fishing village called Perkins Cove) within a 5 minute walk. During the summer months (on certain days), former President George H.W. Bush and First Lady Barbara Bush can be seen eating (with family members) at Barnacle Billy's restaurant in the Cove. Coming by boat from their home in Kennebunkport, Maine. Also, a great plus is that the Trolley cars stop near the Resort at Jonathan's restaurant, if you wish not to walk to the beach or wherever. A very special place for all seasons. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Quality and value within an affordable price range.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main building are closer to the pools (in or out), the outdoor hot tub, etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for returning to visit us again and again!

Wow! Thank you for 10 plus years of vacationing with us. It is a thrill to know we are a home away from home and thank you for the compliments on our resort and our service. It has been our pleasure to welcome you and be your ocean escape. It sounds like you discovered our central location and have enjoyed it for many years – with the beach and Marginal Way walking distance. We are delighted to know that you enjoy Barnacle Billy’s – It is such a great spot in Perkins Cove and always a thrill when the Bush Family grabs a Lobster. Thank you for the kind words about our quality and value - and for sharing us with friends and fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel for many more years to come!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    155
    45
    34
    17
See reviews for
173
290
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel has it all. Lovely, clean rooms; great location; friendly, courteous and helpful staff; delicious complimentary breakfast; indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs; the list goes on. Parking can get a bit tight in the lot, but everything else is perfect. Thanks to the Meadowmere Resort for a terrific Memorial Day getaway!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying Memorial Day at the Meadowmere!

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments on our service and cleanliness – We know these are important to our guests. It sounds like you explored the hotel and discovered all of our amenities. We often hear how much guests enjoy having so much to do right onsite. Thank you for the feedback on parking – We are always happy to help guests find a spot. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to seeing you!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Justvgot back from a weekend at the meadowmere and once again, had a wonderful stay. We were upgraded to a room in the main building near the pool. At first I thought it might be noisy but not at all. The room was clean , comfortable and quiet. Pool was nice in the afternoon and the grounds looked beautiful. We love having the gym on site and the continental breakfast is convenient as well. We will be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for returning for another weekend at Meadowmere!

We are delighted to that you enjoyed our West Meadow location overlooking the outdoor pool for the Memorial Weekend. It was our pleasure to welcome you back and thank you for the compliments on our service and rooms. We are happy to hear that our seasonal continental breakfast and fitness center helped make your stay more comfortable and that you enjoyed our gardens – It has been a wonderful spring for our flowers! It will be a pleasure to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Went back to Meadowmere to celebrate our anniversary and they didn't let us down. A great room and a special message from the manager wishing us a great celebration. Looking forward to many more celebrations at Meadowmere.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice we happen to like the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for returning to the Meadowmere!

It was our pleasure to welcome you back and we are delighted celebrate such a special occasion with you. Thank you for choosing us and thank you for the compliments on our service and room – We know these are important to our guests. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again and thank you for recommending us!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Meadowmere is a very clean, friendly hotel with many amenities. We enjoyed using the roman tub and the indoor pool. The staff was very helpful and kind. Meadowmere also has a wonderful gym. It is close enough to walk to Marginal Way and the village. Ogunquit is an interesting town. We had a family room which was big enough although it had a very tiny bathroom, which was a bit of a problem for 3 ladies. Overall it was a great stay. Only other comment, is that off season the outdoor hot tub is not open on weekdays, only weekends. If you are looking for a getaway, I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for enjoying the girlfriends’ getaway!

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments on our service and cleanliness – We know these are important to our guests. It sounds like you explored the village and discovered how close we are to everything. Thank you for the feedback on our family suites and outdoor hot tub – the amenity is seasonal with details on our website. We are always happy to find a time to join us and enjoy the hot tub in season, when it is open daily. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for recommending us!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We had an amazing time here. The pool and jacuzzi's are clean and neat. The rooms are lovely and very clean. We had a medical emergency come up and the staff went above and beyond to help us. We are very pleased with our stay here and will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for visiting us for a family getaway!

We sincerely hope that everyone is healthy and it was our pleasure to assist during the emergency – We know that having such an event away from home can be very stressful. Thank you for the compliments on our service during that time and throughout your stay. We are delighted to know that you had an amazing time over the weekend and enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for the kind words about our rooms, pools and hot tubs. We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

i was introduced to the Meadowmere by my mother who would book rooms every once in a while so she was guaranteed to see here 3 daughters who are scattered over new england (she paid the bill which was another reason she knew we would show up!!!) but once we were introduced to the meadowmere we never again needed much coaxing to go there!!! plus i love my mom of course!! I hate to use the word perfect cuz it makes the expectations pretty tough so i will instead say every time i have stayed at the meadowmere it has been "perfection"!! the staff are incredibly nice and helpful - you have to wonder what kind of management style they use cuz happy staff usually means good working conditions. the resort is immaculate and they think of every amenity but it still feels like a "nice warm homey comfortable place" from the wet sauna that has protection plastic pieces that you can sit on to the movie theatre with pretty current movies to the awesome outdoor hot tub - this place has thought of it all. i recently spent 5 days at the meadowmere to get through a tough birthday - my hubby and i were looking for comfort, quiet, exercise and good food- well meadowmere and ogunquit delivered!! I got a a beautiful cheese and wine basket delivered to our room, soaked in our in-room whirl pool tub ( a real whirl pool tub with settings and blissfully hot water - no-imitation lame tub btw) hung out in the meadowmere pub, walked into ogunquit for breakfast and lunch - had a wonderful dinner at jonathan's while listening to good saxaphone and even enter a super bowl drawing - walking along the marginal way was how we started each and every morning - the staff recommended local trips and restaurants - it was probably one of the best vacations i have every had..i am heading down next weekend to hang with my best girlfriend at the meadowmere again - she is driving up from boston i am driving down from mid-coast maine - its a quick easy jaunt for both us - a great middle meeting spot!!! we will spend the weekend enjoying the piano bar at the front porch - having a few drinks good food and with a 5 minute walk back to the resort no worries about enjoying some wine!!! we just made a reservation for lunch at "the roost cafe&bistro" for saturday afternoon...and i suspect we will spend my of the day sitting in the outdoor hot tub....if you are looking for a comfortable, warm and friendly atmosphere that is affordable, clean and has every amenity you can think of - the meadowmere delivers!!! Ogunquit never disappoints either... a fun and funky friendly town with amazing shops, a general store that is awesome and has absolutely delicious foods, marginal way where you work off breakfast as you watch the surfers catching a wave....its perfection- it's my version of perfection any ways and maybe yours too...check it out!!

Room Tip: the main building hot tub suites are awesome - not some cheesy lame hot tub- a real whirlpool tub wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadowmere, Manager at Meadowmere Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review – and for returning to visit us again and again!

Wow! Thank you for the compliments on our resort and your winter birthday escape with us. It has been our pleasure to welcome you over the years for all the sorts of occasions and we are especially pleased that the resort made such a difference during a tough time. We often hear how guests return again and again for family vacation, special occasions, holidays and even meetings – It is such a treat for us. We are always listening to guest needs and looking to make a visit feel like your home away from home. We are delighted to know that you will soon be with us for a girlfriend’s getaway. Thank you for the kind words about our friendliness and for sharing us with friends and family. We look forward to seeing you!

Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowmere Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowmere Resort

Address: 74 South Main Street, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ogunquit
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#13 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Begin a tradition at The Meadowmere Resort, a family owned hotel in the heart of Ogunquit. Relax with award winning amenities, great location, environmental excellence and every room choice to make your hotel stay special. Set on the Southern Coast of Maine and one hour away from Boston, the Meadowmere is a favorite Maine vacation resort for generations. Enjoy gourmet getaways, spa packages, Maine weddings, corporate meetings and year-round vacations in the heart of Ogunquit Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Meadowmere Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowmere Resort Ogunquit, Maine
Meadowmere Hotel Ogunquit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowmere Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.