We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday's Wine Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff House Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Cliff House Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   591 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03902   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Free Happy Hour Drinks
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
York, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saturday's Wine Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We decided to try the wine dinner because we knew there were new owners and rumored changes at the Cliff House. We were right. Just the road to the hotel is a nice change, open, welcoming. We entered the main reception area for a pre-dinner reception. The wines were all good, Jackson family of wines, La Crema, Cambria, Yangarra etc. I had a glass of the Yangarra Shiraz 2013, very nice. There were several excellent passed hors d'oeuvres, but the sliced duck breast was superb. After the reception we walked over to the old main entry that we're told will be the new main entry after the remodeling and walked down the long staircase with extraordinary ocean views. Dinner was served in the old dining room that just seemed brighter, livelier and better lit than we recalled. The new manager told us that the real changes at the hotel wouldn't happen until next year. But the dinner was excellent beginning with a spring leek soup, then an absolutely superb lobster and gnocchi dish that melted in your mouth, short rib and a triple chocolate terrine. The dessert Edmeades zinfandel was the pick of the dinner wines, followed closely by the Hartford Court Russian River Chardonnay. The crowd was lively and if this very enjoyable evening is any indication, there's lots to look forward to at the Cliff House.

Room Tip: We visited the hotel for dinner from our home so we did not stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you very much for the compliments. I am glad you enjoyed our traditional season opening wine dinner. Our team did a wonderful job in every aspect of the dinner. We plan on hosting many such events in the near future.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    24
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
62
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and 2 of my girlfriends just came home today from a spa weekend getaway, I have no words, from the moment we sat down at the we were starving after a long ride. The dining area was slightly busy but bar area was no more then 4 people . We had to wait 15 mins for a drink there was only one bartender who could put in orders in the computer who disappeared for 20 mins to deliver champagne to rooms. None of the alcohol was stalked in the shelves they had to keep leaving to go get more. We hoped dinner would be better, got worse we ordered the haddock and the chicken Marsala , the chicken was raw in the middle when we sent it back the waitress said she would send a manger over , no manager ever came as well as no waitress returned After about 20 mins we went to find her to pay. Then during breakfast took awhile to be seated ,we had to flag down a waiter for water and there were no plates for the Buffett .... It honestly seems like they could just careless ,So sad for such a beautiful location . The only positive part of the weekend was the spa we all got massages , I will say however they were super over priced . I will never stay there again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your honest feedback. Our sincere apologies for the disappointing dining service you experienced. That is not how we treat our guests. Being our first weekend of the new season, we are working on overcoming these challenges with our new team. I assure you these issues have been addressed. Please feel free to give me a call to discuss it further and allow us to make it up for you.

We hope to get the chance to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

This is a hotel where you get what pay for: no more, no less. We stayed here on impulse after catching a show at the Playhouse and didn't feel like fighting traffic back to Boston.

The location and grounds are beautiful, although not exactly close to anything. While trying to buy contact lens solution, we were sent all over creation and drove almost back to New Hampshire before finding a Hannaford, but that's not the hotel's fault.

We got there late and so didn't spend too much time in the room, but the view was ideal, looking out on the ocean and rocky coast. Instead, we spent most of our time at the bar and sitting around the fire pit outside. At the bar we ordered a couple martinis and closed the place down. We then moved outside where we ordered a surprisingly tasty pizza by a fire pit on an otherwise empty patio looking out on the water. As the bar was closed I went up to the room and picked up a bottle of wine we'd brought with us, and was eventually approached by a member of the staff who advised us that this was not permitted as it was a public area. I was taken somewhat aback because no one seemed to mind that it was a public area when the bar was open, and now that it was closed we wanted to enjoy ourselves with a some wine and close out the night before bed. I'd paid for the wine, I'd paid for the room, the bar was closed, no one was waiting for our table (we were all alone), so what's with the gestapo treatment?

It's for this reason I deduct points. As an adult, when I'm out at a hotel I like to be treated like one, even if that means turning a blind eye to a silly policy as hotels do all the time, particularly when no one's being bothered, inconvenienced, or otherwise put out.

We checked out first thing the following morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our apologies for not being able to accommodoate your request. Our policy is restricted by state Liquor laws. Areas where we serve liquor are licensed for serving hotel purchased alcoholic beverage only. The patio is part of the restaurant and it is licensed as such. Guests are not permitted by law to bring their own alcoholic beverages into the restaurant, and in this case, the patio, during or after hours of operation.

Our apologies again for the inconvenience. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Been here three times now and every stay has been great. You cannot beat the view of the ocean on the cliffs. Rooms are very comfortable with private balconies. Well maintained property with an edge pool as well as a jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. The outside bar makes great frozen drinks! Restaurant isn't vad either. Quick drive into Ogunquit for dinner, drinks, shopping or the beach if you want. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2015
Thank you for the great feedback. The views have been spectacular during the most recent blizzard with 8' waves waves craching on the rocks. Check out the photos and video we posted on Facbook this week.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We have been visiting the Cliff House Resort in Maine for years. It is a beautiful resort situated on the cliffs in Ogunquit Maine. The views are gorgeous from inside and out. The resort is gorgeous from the time you pull up to the front entrance. It is nicely decorated for fall and every season. The accommodations, service and dining is exceptional. The Sunday Brunch Buffet is truly the best in the world. When you walk down the spiral staircase to the lower level you feel like royalty. Sit down and enjoy a cocktail while taking in the exceptional views through all the glass windows and doors on the rear of the main building. The Spa facilities are top notch also. Once you get here you will not want to leave so plan on staying a while. Great place to celebrate your Anniversary !!! Very romantic !!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the buildings have awesome views and there are lots of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I stayed at the Cliff House this summer, as my wife and I have been coming here for about 10 years and it has been a great escape for us. One of the key aspects that kept us coming back year after year was it was very relaxing. Being able to sit by the pool and have a drink, and having a nice quiet dinner were two things we come to expect. Unfortunately the new owners are trying to make this a family resort and it does not have the same charm. The relaxing pool is now Marco Polo central and was overun with kids all day long. Having a drink by the pool is no longer practical unless you want a glass of chlorine. Also, the restaurant each night had at least one smal child who did not want to be in a fine dining establishment, and were running around or crying which again is not what we come to expect. Lots of little things also seemed off, and although we went in August, felt like it just opened for the season......towels were often out at the pool, went to work out and no towels there or cups to drink, when we arrived the trash was over flowing.... just seemed like they may have been very short staffed and although those things can be corrected, I would not pay the premium rates during the summer when the place is overrun with families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I truly regret that the change did not have a positive impact on your visit with us. As we renovate & expand the resort, we will consider adding an adult only pool again in order to accommodate some of our loyal repeat guests such as yourself.

I hope you will get a chance to return and enjoy the changes.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We stayed for a 2 night getaway Nov 2 and 3rd, it was our first time staying here and certainly will not be our last. The service by all the staff was outstanding even though the season was coming to a close in 1 week. We dined in tthe resturaunt and the food was outstanding. My wife is very particular about lobster bisque and she couldn't stop raving about the taste of it here.It was chilly but sitting by the gas fire pits was most enjoyable and the staff was most accomodating in lighting it for us.Last but not least the sun rise is awe inspring from this location, please make ita point to view it from this wonderful resort you will not regret rising early to view this site. We had a remarkable getaway that we will remember for years to come. Thank you Cliff House Resort.

Room Tip: we stayed in a Cliffscape room on the 6th flr and the view was breathtaking. We also had a view of E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With daylight savings time, you don't have to get up too early this time of year to enjoy the spectacular sunrises we have here at the Cliff House.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House Resort & Spa

Address: 591 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Resort & Spa is situated on the dramatic cliffs on the Maine coastline with every guestroom offering a balcony and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cliff House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Hotel Ogunquit
The Cliff House Resort And Spa
Cliff Hotel Ogunquit
Cliff Resort Ogunquit
Cliff House Ogunquit
Cliff House Hotel Maine
Cliff House Resort And Spa
The Cliff House Resort & Spa Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff House Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.