We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff House Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Cliff House Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   591 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been visiting the Cliff House Resort in Maine for years. It is a beautiful resort situated on the cliffs in Ogunquit Maine. The views are gorgeous from inside and out. The resort is gorgeous from the time you pull up to the front entrance. It is nicely decorated for fall and every season. The accommodations, service and dining is exceptional. The Sunday Brunch Buffet is truly the best in the world. When you walk down the spiral staircase to the lower level you feel like royalty. Sit down and enjoy a cocktail while taking in the exceptional views through all the glass windows and doors on the rear of the main building. The Spa facilities are top notch also. Once you get here you will not want to leave so plan on staying a while. Great place to celebrate your Anniversary !!! Very romantic !!

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the buildings have awesome views and there are lots of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
26
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Cliff House this summer, as my wife and I have been coming here for about 10 years and it has been a great escape for us. One of the key aspects that kept us coming back year after year was it was very relaxing. Being able to sit by the pool and have a drink, and having a nice quiet dinner were two things we come to expect. Unfortunately the new owners are trying to make this a family resort and it does not have the same charm. The relaxing pool is now Marco Polo central and was overun with kids all day long. Having a drink by the pool is no longer practical unless you want a glass of chlorine. Also, the restaurant each night had at least one smal child who did not want to be in a fine dining establishment, and were running around or crying which again is not what we come to expect. Lots of little things also seemed off, and although we went in August, felt like it just opened for the season......towels were often out at the pool, went to work out and no towels there or cups to drink, when we arrived the trash was over flowing.... just seemed like they may have been very short staffed and although those things can be corrected, I would not pay the premium rates during the summer when the place is overrun with families.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I truly regret that the change did not have a positive impact on your visit with us. As we renovate & expand the resort, we will consider adding an adult only pool again in order to accommodate some of our loyal repeat guests such as yourself.

I hope you will get a chance to return and enjoy the changes.

Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We stayed for a 2 night getaway Nov 2 and 3rd, it was our first time staying here and certainly will not be our last. The service by all the staff was outstanding even though the season was coming to a close in 1 week. We dined in tthe resturaunt and the food was outstanding. My wife is very particular about lobster bisque and she couldn't stop raving about the taste of it here.It was chilly but sitting by the gas fire pits was most enjoyable and the staff was most accomodating in lighting it for us.Last but not least the sun rise is awe inspring from this location, please make ita point to view it from this wonderful resort you will not regret rising early to view this site. We had a remarkable getaway that we will remember for years to come. Thank you Cliff House Resort.

Room Tip: we stayed in a Cliffscape room on the 6th flr and the view was breathtaking. We also had a view of E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With daylight savings time, you don't have to get up too early this time of year to enjoy the spectacular sunrises we have here at the Cliff House.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed for one night on our way up the coast on October 30, and had such a memorable time. They were winding down for the season but still gave us excellent service and a great atmosphere. We stayed in one of the "Cliffscape Oceanview King" rooms and the view from our deck was spectacular, we made ourselves get up at 7am because we couldn't pass up an opportunity to see the sun rise over the ocean. We explored the grounds, and found that we didn't need to take that trip to the Marginal Way in nearby Ogunquit to get up close and personal with the rocky shoals and crashing waves, there was a set of stairs that led us right down on to the rocks and in to our own private coastal world, the water was sparkling green, tide pools held tiny creatures and seagulls circled overhead as we explored, it felt like we had stumbled in to a secret and sacred place- so breathtaking. Thank you Cliff House!

Room Tip: "clifftop" is an older building that is not truly connected to the rest of the resort, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2014
You are very welcome. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. This special oasis is a great place to relax and reenergize. We hope to see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip and felt like it was more of a vacation. I never wanted to leave my room. The hotel is beautiful and the view from my room was breathtaking. I loved every minute of being there and texted home saying I may never leave the Resort. I cannot say enough good things about not only the Resort but also the staff who work there. They were all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review. I hope you got a chance to experience the spectacular sunrises we had last week. There were guests on many balconies at 6:40am taking pictures of the sunrise. We posted the picture on our Facebook page.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed there for just one night - wish it had been more. Our rooms were on the 7th floor which was a beautiful view of Oqunquit in the distance. The hot tub outside in October with spectacular views was a special treat! Enjoyed the lap pool. We had 3 rooms in our party and every room had a view of the ocean, the rooms were all done tastefully and clean. We will be back for another longer visit!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Very glad you enjoyed the room and the pool facilities. I hope you will get a chance to return and experience the resort during warmer months.
we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here as part of a week vacation to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. I put a lot of research into finding a great resort that had all the amenities on-site. I was very pleased with our stay here - the spa, pool, hottubs etc were all in our building which was all ocean view rooms. The spa services were reasonably priced and excellent. Property was very clean and well maintained. I spoke with a local who came in to use the spa facilities and she was very familiar with the property; she said that you could tell everyone loved their job and took pride in it - they all spoke like they wanted to work there forever - and it made us never want to leave because that fact really showed! Short drive to downtown Ogunquit for shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. I mentioned that it was our anniversary to hotel staff and was suprised one day by a package of boutique chocolates with a card from in town. Very nice gesture that we won't soon forget. I don't often write reviews, but this stay deserved it and then some. Thank you to all the staff that made this our best anniversary trip ever. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the new building - Cliff Spa - 18+ building, very quiet. All rooms had an ocean view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at The Cliff House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Thank you for the great review. Happy anniversary. I am very glad we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Our team works hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. Your feedback will make their day.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House Resort & Spa

Address: 591 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Resort & Spa is situated on the dramatic cliffs on the Maine coastline with every guestroom offering a balcony and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cliff House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Hotel Ogunquit
The Cliff House Resort And Spa
Cliff Hotel Ogunquit
Cliff Resort Ogunquit
Cliff House Ogunquit
Cliff House Hotel Maine
Cliff House Resort And Spa
The Cliff House Resort & Spa Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff House Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.