We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad.....But!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff House Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Cliff House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cliff House Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   591 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #33 of 37 hotels in Ogunquit
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Bad.....But!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

Spent Thanksgiving weekend there......weather could have been better but that's New England.

Facility is great but food and service left a lot to be desired.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food and Service
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    137
    126
    127
    123
See reviews for
113
315
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rockland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

I had serious doubts about the property given the reviews in the recent past but found the hotel as I did 4 years ago during my first stay. The view is absolutely spectacular - nothing can beat it. We did go off season, so the staff did not appear overly stressed and in fact were very attentive.

We went for their wine tasting - we loved it! The speaker exuded energy and imparted a lot of information about wine in general. We met some great people at our table and really enjoyed the special dinner. I heard a few gripes about the menu, [venison, foie gras, etc. ] but we thought each course complimented the featured wine and we ate food we'd never order otherwise.

It's a wonderful place for a special occasion - the price = steep. I'd advise going off season, November seemed perfect to us!

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — elevators were slow
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cliff House Resort and Spa over the Veterans Day weekend just passed, and we had a simply wonderful stay. Obviously, we had some doubts considering all the negative comments appearing within this website, but in all honesty, we did not come away with any similar reactions. We found the accomodations perfectly acceptable supported by the great view, the staff more than cordial and polite and the dining experience above average. Kinda pricy, but that's to be expected at a place of this stature. Yes, it is on the outskirts of Ogunquit but we didn't think that a deterent to actually visiting the town and what it has to offer. Quite frankly, we were apprehensive about the our reservation at the Cliff House, but these concerns never did materialize. This was our first encounter with the Cliff House and we most definately would stay here again should the circumstances arise.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

The Resort's food is terrible and the staff is imported from the Islands through November, when they go home to Jamaica. This gives them the noncaring attitude on their non-complimentary service. I saw many an instance of staff arguing with other staff members over service coverage and in front of paying customers. Waited in a half empty lounge for 50 miniutes for a glass of wine and the waitress stated " she forgot about us" A young staff, highly inexperienced in the hotel service business.

The hotel and resort is over priced, and if you do not get rooms in the newer (circ.2003) Resort, which will cost you more, of course, your stuck in the Cliffscape or Cliffledge rooms which are gross. "Like a Motel 6". Rooms are damp and need renovation, and very old and rusty covers the heating systems from the salt spray. The staff is inept in cleaning, and many times I complained to no avail how bed bugs were on the bed spreads which they do not wash from rental to rental. I found stains all over the bed spread.

The staff and banquet manager (eric) was very rude, with a 30+ attitude in handling a resort of this size, and overwhelmed at times. He suggested we go to the Wine Tasting event ($$$$$) where they bring in the local winery's. Did you ever here of Wine from Maine at $15 a glass? Another rip-off .... food is bad ....do not eat there; save your money go to the Lobster Pound in Oqunquit. Another suggestion: if you do not heed this message; buy your liquor in town and drink and be merry, as there is absolutly nothing to do there, but play ping pong,do puzzels in their 2nd floor lounge and, look out to the Ocean with the blue hairs.

The Cliff House is a private resort owned by the WARE Family of Maine, not a Marriott Resort where you have a proven track record, so don't expect a positive reaction when you "complain" at this over priced "Motel 6" They really do not care and will not give vouchers, will not change rooms, and if I heard it once, I heard it 100 times: "WE ARE A PRIVATE RESORT".

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

My girlfriends and I have made our annual trip to The Cliff House for five years in a row. In years past, we have been very pleased. Going this year was truly regretable, and we will absolutely not be returning next year.

Our rooms were old, but clean. The views are spectacular. But the customer service was abysmal. A few examples:

* Check-in was sloppy and confusing, and we continued to have room key issues through the first day of our stay.

* We broke a water glass during dinner, and the waitstaff never came to clean it up despite repeated requests on behalf of people's safety. The glass was still there the next morning when we returned for brunch!

* Speaking of dinner, at the end of our less-than-memorable meal, we were handed a bill for several hundred dollars even though the meal was supposedly covered by our meal plan. No explanation was provided until we repeatedly asked the manager who just said, "Well, we let you see the bill so that you know what was covered." Not only did this not make any sense, but she was rude in explaining this to us.

* One person in our party joined us just for the day, and arrived while we were all at the spa. The cleaning person let her into my room without asking if she was even a guest or presenting ID! Even she was stunned.

* We witnessed one woman sobbing in the spa locker room because her massage therapist was asking highly personal, disturbing questions during her treatment. While this was not our issue per se, we witnessed how the management staff handled the ordeal and realized that the spa service was miserable too.

* In general, the staff was flippant and unaware of what customer service entails.

It really is such a sad shame to see what was once a wonderful hotel degrade to this. It's time for us to relax and make wonderful memories of friendship elsewhere,

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

My wife and I picked the cliff house for the night before and after our wedding. The spa room we booked was considerably more expensive than the normal rooms. We gained nothing but a small gas fireplace for the rate. The room was not very big or well appointed, and the bathroom was small and bland. The only thing redeeming about the room was the view. Employees were not helpful and some bordered on rude. Guests of our wedding had trouble checking in and out. Our payment was accidently applied to someone elses room, and there were two times where there was nobody behind the front desk. It took half an hour to get served in the lounge, and our order was incorrect. When my wife asked for a drink, the server answered with an impolite "Like?"

I would not suggest the Cliff House to anybody. The employees are rude and not helpful, the rooms are a very poor value, and the only thing redeeming about the place is it's location. Find somewhere else to spend your money, this place doesn't deserve it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

A bunch of us girls went to the Cliff House Spa for treatments. When we got there..they informed us we would have to pay $12 to wear a robe for the 34 minute facial that cost over $130. They don't care if you were taken in 25 mins after your scheduled time..and they also don't care that the advertised 50 min facial was only 34 mins. If you want to be ripped off and deal with the snobbiest ladies you've ever come across..this is your place. The owner will not be interested in hearing about your negative experience..but she will gladly take your money. What a disappointment..and a waste of a great view.

  • Liked — The friends I was with
  • Disliked — The snobby ladies and the old school over priced facials.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cliff House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House Resort & Spa

Address: 591 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ogunquit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cliff House Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House Resort & Spa is situated on the dramatic cliffs on the Maine coastline with every guestroom offering a balcony and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Cliff House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House Hotel Ogunquit
The Cliff House Resort And Spa
Cliff Hotel Ogunquit
Cliff Resort Ogunquit
Cliff House Ogunquit
Cliff House Hotel Maine
Cliff House Resort And Spa
The Cliff House Resort & Spa Ogunquit, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff House Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.