We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katie's on Shore Road - CLOSED

Katie's on Shore Road
261 Shore Road, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207-641-2780
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stearns Road
Transit: During the season, Katie’s is on the Ogunquit Trolley line on Shore Road which stops at the corner of our property.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is becoming one of our favorites ever. The food has been unbelievable. The menu choices test you. There are so many great choices and so little time. This is not the typical seafood restaurant. Their seafood dishes are very delicious and quite different. Our party had a number of different items and they were all fantastic. Our waitress was very attentive and personable.

There was a very lengthy wine list and some very good beers as well. Desserts were to die for! Try this one as a special night out when in Ogunquit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    34
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have eaten here before and have never been disappointed! The food is amazing and didn't live any on the plate. The desserts were also great. This restaurant has a large drink/wine menu as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 visited on 9/5 and this is one of the few restaurants you can make a reservation ahead of time at in Ogunquit (loved that). We have 3 teenage children and they were able to order off of the "pub" menu as the main menu is more adult. The interior is beautiful and the food superb (adults ordered the seafood trio and lobster mac and cheese without lobster, kids had chicken fingers and cheeseburgers). I would recommend coming here for a "date night" instead of a family dinner like we did. Although they accommodated are family wonderfully, it is a very quiet and elegant dining room area. It's also located more towards the Perkins Cove side of Ogunquit so you aren't near the touristy/hustle and bustle of the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Another first for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is another restaurant recommended by Katie Keene, general manager, The Dunes on the Waterfront. It was an excellent choice and they will see us again next year. The server on the statement says 417 Masta Kin and I thought her name was Johanna (sp). Anyway she did a great job. Again this restaurant was able to satisfy both seafood and non seafood eaters. They offered a dish I have never tried before which was the lazy man's butter and milk lobster. I found it both interesting and very good. Of course you just apply the calories to your hips. Cindy had the lobster (of course she will eat lobster) Mac n Cheese and it was superb. We shared the caprese salad which was very good. The snickers brûlée was different and very good.
Needless to say our seating location was excellent. We arrived early and were seated right away.
We highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thanks But No Thanks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a reservation for 7:30 and were seated promptly at a nice table. We were attended to promptly. Unfortunately, we had to wait a long time for food that was quite average. The eggplant appertizer was not the delicate dish I expected, but thick slabs of eggplant probably over cooked. The crab cake component of the seafood trio was overcooked, as were the child's chicken tenders. In fact, the chicken tenders were not edible and had to be returned for something else. The tuna special was high grade tuna, but served in a watery sauce. I think the preparation detracted from the tuna itself. The lobster ravioli was tasty. Overall, this was a disappointing experience that took over two hours (our check was time stamped 9:39). We informed the manager that we thought the dinner took too long. He told us we had to expect that on Saturday night. Putting aside the fact that it was Friday night, we felt there was a certain level of arrogance displayed toward us. This was a very disappointing dining experience. Under other circumstances, we would likely give the restaurant another chance. However, considering the arrogance of the manager, this will not be the case with this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard1030, Owner at Katie's on Shore Road, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
This review is a recycled version of the same party's review on August 10 about the same dinner on Friday, August 9, to which we wrote a detailed management response. We will not repeat the same facts that are set forth in my response to that review, but I will add that these guests were finished with their entrees (and the adults' place-settings were cleared) at 8:55pm. They had three courses (an appetizer course, which they acknowledge; an entree course, which they acknowledge; and a dessert course). They had two bottles of wine for three adults. If they did not pay their bill until 9:39pm, the reasonable inference was that, after I spoke with them, the adults took their time finishing their wine and enjoying their dessert since they had already completed eating their entrees even before we spoke. I regret that they interpreted my personal pride that our chefs had served them a multi-course meal for four in under an hour and a half on a very busy Friday evening in August as "arrogance." For a contrasting review, I suggest the reader consider the "Great choices, friendly service" review on August 20 written by a couple with two children who nonetheless thoroughly enjoyed their meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katie's on Shore Road also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katie's on Shore Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.