We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of That Place

That Place
331 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3915 (Formerly Prime Restaurant)
207-646-8600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 80 Restaurants in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: That Place in Ogunquit is modern in look and feel, with a bustling, lively fun bar and lounge. We offer delicious steaks, creative seafood and inventive, yet classic appetizers.The newly renovated restaurant has an urban style dining room complete with a well designed bar area which is conducive to having a cocktail or a full five course meal. The two big screen LCD TVs and 12 beers on tap also make That Place in Ogunquit 's bar perfect to enjoy baseball season, or just great company.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Have visited this restaurant several times and it never fails to impress. Perfect steak every time. Also, the bar is one of the best in Ogunquit so definitely an easy place to go for some drinks and aps. They also have one of the largest (if not the largest) selection of drafts in OGT.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    64
    27
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Best steak in town! Comfortable setting, nice location, wonderful staff and the perfectly cooked steak and lobster that I've had in quite some time.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two visits, very different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our first visit to Prime was right after we were married in Ogunquit in 2009. It was the best steak I'd had in a long time! it was wonderfully juicy and tender, cooked to the med-rare perfection of warm red in the middle. And that's not just post-wedding glow! Service was perfect. Sides were delicious.

So, we were up there for our second anniversary. The meal was very different. Steak was so-so, sides were ok but smallish. My husband got the special "aged" steak and said it was nothing really special. I got what I'd gotten the last time and it was not nearly as tender and delicious, and wasn't as precisely cooked; it was more well done than medium rare.

I hate rating a place that's costly as "average" because that means that the value for the money was not there the second visit. The first visit, it definitely was.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food-Bad Acoustics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The food was very good but we sat next to a group of four that were very loud kind of ruining the romantic conversation but the food made up for it

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I have been to Prime a couple times now. Our first visit with was some friends and we dined in their main dining room, which was just beautiful and the service was great. It is just a wonderful place. This past September we had gone for a weekend get-a-away and went there for dinner - we had walked the Marginal Way and were dressed casually but decided to stop for something to eat. We sat in the bar area. Prime is very clean and homey - the main dining area has a beautiful fireplace, and there are windows everywhere, so you can enjoy the scenic view of Shore Rd. while dining. We first had a drink at the bar, which I might add, the bartenders were very friendly, and then we decided to order dinner. With the help of our bartender, he steered us in the right direction. My husband and I wanted a lobster tail but, in the end, the bartender suggested ordering the whole lobster and it was definitely the right choice. It was delicious and they were nice enough to crack most of it open for me, which was less work. We were seated a small table right in the bar area, candlelit, and sat right in the window, so we had a lovely view of the outside. We were served fresh bread and this most phenomenal butter - not sure what it is but it is just delicious. We shared a caesar salad and our waiter was great and split if for us to share without our even asking. Our lobsters came with 2 sides, which were very good. We both had a drink and with dinner our bill was less than $90.00, which for 2 whole lobsters, we felt was reasonable and the lobsters were awesome. You can have dinner or appetizers, it's casual or you can enjoy a fancy night out as well - either way is acceptable. I would highly recommend Prime. We will definitely make it one of our favorite spots when visiting Ogunquit!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to That Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.