We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Point Lookout was in charge of the Weather it would have been Perfect - everything they did was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67 Atlantic Highway, Northport, ME 04849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“If Point Lookout was in charge of the Weather it would have been Perfect - everything they did was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Corporate groups look no further than Point Lookout to host your next event. We recently had our annual customer event at this property and it was a home run. They arranged for transportation from boat docks and off property restaurants to "cab" services around their own resort. Our customers and guests came from places unlike that of coastal Maine (i.e. Ohio, Pennsylvannia and Iowa) and it was quintessential Maine. We ordered a Maine Lobster bake at the Summitt and smoked seafood from Ducktrap Seafoods for boat ride snacks. The food service was great, the people were great and the cabins were very comfortable. Thanks to all the staff for making our clients right at home. As a side bar, the Copper Kettle is a great litlle breakfast place..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
On behalf of the associates of the Point Lookout Resort, thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to facilitate making your event such a success.

Thank you again and I hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
52
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We ran across Point Lookout quite by accident. It is a few miles north of Camden on the coast and is spread out over many acres. We stayed in a neat cabin with kitchen and sitting area. There are hiking trails, bowling alley, squash, tennis and a restaurant at the Summit of the resort with a spectacular view from Bar Harbor to way south of Camden. The food is terrific. Please tell your friends that this is a real gem that very few people know about. We absolutely loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you had a great stay. I hope you can come back soon. The views from the summit are truly amazing in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

As my fellow reviewers have said, this resort is newly open to the public and their new, quality facilities are very enjoyable.

Definitely spring for the 3 bedroom over the 2 bedroom chalet; for a small increase, you can have a large airy livingroom and bigger kitchen and refrigerator.

Two small complaints:
- Zero sound insulation between the bedrooms. I have never been able to hear every word so clearly from the 2nd to first floors
- A coin-operated washer/dryer room is a must if you spend a week here going to the beach. Ideally, each cabin should have one

The larger beef is that this place bills itself as a resort with full amenities, which it is, but BEWARE that most are not open to the general public most of the time.
- Bowling, foosball, arcade in one building are open only after 4 p.m. on week days and have limited hours on weekends. Closes at 6 p.m. on Sunday. So much for alternative fun on rainy days. On one Wed afternoon, it was closed to get ready for a private party. AND THE WHOLE CENTER IS CLOSED EVERY MON AND TUES.
- The summit with its gorgeous views is often closed to the public on Fri-Sat-Sun due to weddings. The summit cafe is only open Tues-Thurs

I do not begrudge people celebrating birthdays with bowling or weddings here. It is a fabulous location and facilities. However, for the rest of us who are also paying resort prices, I expect that all amenities, cafes, bowling, etc. to be open to us every day. This is a new venture (after its conversion from a corporate retreat) and the management changed again during our stay; I hope that when they gain traction, they will build parallel facilities for the public and the private parties, and KEEP ACTIVITIES AND AMENITIES OPEN FOR REGULAR HOURS, EVERY DAY FOR ALL OF US.

We spent 6 nights, 7 days here with family spread over 3 cabins, and it was very enjoyable. However, we didn't get the gist of the weird hours and many closures until too late, and missed bowling (closed at 6 on a Sunday???) and our chance to dine at the Summit Cafe.

There is no pool but there are supposedly plans to build one. There are no facilities (picnic tables, volleyball) set up at the beach although it is written into the hotel's notes. We did use the WII, fitness club, tennis courts, soccer field and playgrounds.

My advice is that this is a great set up with beautiful clean chalet-like cabins (not very Maine beachy in ambiance). But please plan in advance for the odd, limited hours of operation and take advantage of when things are open. A midweek visit may be your only chance to dine or see the summit which is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We just stayed a week in a three bedroom cabin at the resort and loved it. The location is great for easy access to Camden, Belfast, and Acadia. Cabin was bright and cheery and rooms were very nice size. (lots of closet space). We used the bowling alley one night and ate at the Copper Pine Cafe. (Food was good).
We about had the place to ourselves which was nice as we took lots of walks with the kids. Grounds are beautiful and we loved the cabin. Never saw the staff, but the kept the cabin clean and stocked with towels, etc. This a real hidden gem and is reasonably priced. I'm sure that "in season" it is much busier than when we were there.
Do make sure to go to the top of the mountain on a clear day as the view is great. We'll be back for sure

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

My family stayed at Point Lookout over the Christmas Break and had a wonderful time! The views are unmatched from the top of the mountain and the facilities are new with many opportunities to rest or get tired - we chose the second option.

We arrived in our three-bedroom cabin to the warmth of a gas fireplace that was on anticipating our arrival - nice touch. It was in the single digits outside and the cabin was plenty warm and comfortable. The cottage was very clean and had all the necessary items for us to enjoy - the wireless modem in the cottage made connecting easy. The linens and bed coverings were Ralph Lauren and the mattresses were wonderful.

As soon as the bags were uppacked, we ran out to the Fitness Center to play Wii, virtual golf, basketball in the regulation gym and followed it up in the bowling alley - all very new and state of the art. We made sure we utilized all that we could then went back to the cottage, made dinner in the full kitchen and all crashed hard.

The next morning we had to leave early, but we did have time to enjoy the HUGE fitness center.

Upon arriving home, one of the children realized that their favorite stuffed animal was missing - after contacting Point Lookout - they prompty found the bear hiding in the the sheets and sent it back the next day - saved me sleepless nights!

We look forward to going back in the summer when we can enjoy all the hiking trails and other outside activities that are offered.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed here and it is wonderful. The cabins have an unassuming outside decor but are incredible inside. We could not have been happier. The location is wonderful with lots to do at the resort. We took time to explore Camden and Rockland which are both short drives. The nice thing about the resort is the quiet tranquility that you experience when you are there.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the day to day and just relax and not have to worry about anything. It is that type of place.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here one night after attending a dinner at the resort.
The cabin was OK, with rather drab dark brown and dark green decor. No views from any of the cabins that I could see.
Bedrooms were quite small - only large enough for the bed, one night stand and a chest of drawers.
Bathroom and kitchen were fine. No "extras" in the kitchen such as a can opener or bottle opener.
The walks are pleasant and well marked, but quite short - about half a mile each. No views from them.
The "Summit" restaurant does have a magnificent view of the ocean and dozens of islands.
Tennis courts and a swimming pool would be good additions
If you came here expecting an oceanside resort with ocean views from your cabin you would be disappointed. The resort is on a hill about 2 miles inland.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MG6181, Director of Sales, Marketing and Dining at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
Thank you for your review of our resort. I am sorry that it did not meet you expectations and wanted to clarify a couple misconceptions. While you are correct we are not located on the ocean we do own sandy beach access and the ocean front Penobscot Park with is located directly across route 1 from the resort. While we do not have a pool we do however have two tennis courts located adjacent to the fitness facility as well as racquetball and squash courts located in the fitness facility. If you are in the area again visiting and would like to use the resort amenities please don't hesitate to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center

Address: 67 Atlantic Highway, Northport, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center, located on 387 acres of picturesque property overlooking Penobscot Bay in mid-coast Maine. Whether you are visiting us for vacation, business, fitness, or family entertainment, our resort promises to provide an experience so unforgettably fun, relaxing, and affordable, you won’t leave without planning your next stay. With 106 luxury cottages, over 50,000 square feet of conference space, a state-of-the-art fitness and bowling entertainment complex, hiking trails, beach access and more, there are plenty of amenities to entertain everyone - winter, spring, summer, or fall. Friends and family of all ages can take advantage of on-site activities as well as many nearby attractions. Cook in your own cottage, hike the Point Lookout trails, visit our café, sit on the beach, bowl a few frames, schedule a massage, watch a DVD, play a game of tennis… you might never leave our Maine resort during your entire vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Resort And Conference Center Maine/Northport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.