We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd yr & consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67 Atlantic Highway, Northport, ME 04849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
n. yarmouth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“3rd yr & consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

another fun and relaxing weekend despite very cold, windy weather and path near summit icey. stayed in 3 br cabin and appreciated that each room had individual temp control. Staff were attentive to ice on path in front. Cabin clean altho we did find a damp cleaning cloth in fridge.
Be sure to check their website and ask about discounts: we qualified for 1 specifically for in-state residents but large cabin did not qualify. Oh well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
52
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocasset, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Nothing short of fabulous. Cabin was clean, comfortable and just amazing. Picked this resort from an offer on livingsocial and was quite pleased. Would love to go back someday soon. Definitely a 5 star resort. Only one regret. Wish I booked for a longer stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our daughter recommended this location to us. She and her boyfriend enjoyed a stay at Point Lookout during the Camden Snow Bowl and gave it a glowing recommendation. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom/2 bath cabins with another couple and cannot express how happy we were with the accommodations. We enjoyed lunch in Camden, brought our own supplies for dinner and breakfast, utilized the bowling alley (great fun!), and snow-shoed a trail in the morning. We had a few housekeeping requests (extra pillows & a beeping smoke detector) and Blaine was there immediately to assist (Thank you Blaine!). Our only complaint is that we didn't stay longer. We do plan on returning before the summer season begins to take advantage of the "local" rates and this beautiful location. We will definitely stay longer on this trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I happened to find this property online...we were headed up to Bangor from NH and thought we'd find someplace to stay over, rest up and continue on. We drove in, and instantly knew it was going to be a great stay!! The clerks at check in are friendly and helpful and answered all my questions. Our cabin was amazing....2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen, livingroom, gas fireplace and a nice screened in porch. Driving around the property, and up to the Summitt...amazing view! The only issue, and not really a big thing was that the restaurant was closed so we decided to cook in...but the cabin did not have a frying pan or any cooking utensils (did have fully stocked plates, cups, silverware and 2 small pots)...we wanted to fry fish, but decided on something else. And, maybe the front desk had these items, we didn't ask...so no problem!! Anyway...awesome place, nice people and we will be returning in the near future. Thank you for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: They are all awesome!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The malfunctioning gas fireplace filled the room with noxious propane. Kind of shocked they would rent a room like this considering how serious it could have been. They charged a higher rate at check-in than we booked on their website. They claimed they informed us in advance -- they didn't. The WiFi barely worked. That there was no soap in the bathroom or sugar with the coffee set-up suggests the management is asleep on the job. Tellingly, the management did not respond at all when informed about these conditions.

Room Tip: Check out the location closely. Not very convenient to nearby towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rizzard, Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Point Lookout Resort. I was sorry to hear, however, that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as planned. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for that. Here at Point Lookout, we are constantly striving to exceed our guests’ expectations, and it is disappointing to learn when we have fallen short of our goal, however, it is the best way for us to learn from our mistakes and move forward.

Of the items you made mention, I would like the opportunity to address each.
1. The rate you booked on-line was the “Love Your Locals” promotion. As stated on the promotion, “Present a valid Maine drivers license and enjoy a special rate of 20% off.” Since an out of state ID was presented, the promotional rate was not honored upon arrival.
2. Wi-Fi Service: We had no record of any reported issues with the Wi-Fi Service during your stay. Upon your departure, you informed the Front Desk Clerk that the Wi-Fi Service was not functioning well. The Clerk contacted Facilities, whom dispatched our IT Tech to address the issue. Upon investigation, it was found there were no issues, and the signal strength and connection were functioning as they should.
3. Gas Fireplace: We had no record of any reported issues with the gas fireplace during your stay. It is common for the gas fireplaces to shut down to pilot only, once the temperature of the cabin has reached the set temperature on the thermostat. However, a gas odor is not common. When notified of this upon your departure, the Clerk contacted Facilities, whom dispatched one of our Engineers to investigate the odor. Upon their investigation, no odor was detected, and it was found that the gas fireplace works as it should.
4. In Room Amenities: Again, we had no record of any reported shortage of in-room amenities during your stay. It is a standard that toiletries and coffee amenities be freshly stocked in each cabin. However, it is possible there may have been an oversight from the Room Attendant, where these items did not get restocked as they should.

Please be assured that the challenge you encountered has been and will continue to be addressed. Again, I offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. I understand the importance of comfort and convenience when staying away from home, and also understand the importance of having issues addressed as they occur. Unfortunately, Management was not informed of the issues you experienced while you were here, but rather a week after your stay. When reported to the Front Desk upon departure, the issues were investigated, and nothing was found to be out of place or malfunctioning, and thus a report was not issued to management. Though our staff was not made aware of any issues that you may have experienced, we would like to some-how make it up to you and your family by issuing you back a credit of 50% to make up for the rate and in-room amenity inconvenience you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This would be my husband and I's second time to Point Lookout and the first with friends. I must say, both visits were magical.
And I mean it. We went back within a month! It's breath taking.
The staff were lovely, friendly, and accommodating to boot. Receptionist is so nice and patient to my many questions.
The cabin was...what you'd imagine it to be and more. Our group went hiking to Knights Pond and saw the sunset at the summit. The locals are so nice, lovely, and honestly friendly.
For food, our group brought groceries and cooked our breakfast/lunch/dinner in the cabin. Keep in mind the nearest grocery store would be 10 miles to Belfast or 10 miles to Camden. Your pick. There are neighboring restaurants as well but home cooked meals went perfect with the cabin.

I love Point Lookout Maine. We'd keep coming back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here three nights over a long October weekend with our two dogs. It was very comfortable with plenty of space in the queen cabin. Check in was quick and everyone was friendly and helpful. The cabin was clean and homey. There were plenty of trails to walk and they are well marked. We ate at the restaurant for a lunch and breakfast. Good food and the staff was helpful with special dietary needs.
We will definitely return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center

Address: 67 Atlantic Highway, Northport, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center, located on 387 acres of picturesque property overlooking Penobscot Bay in mid-coast Maine. Whether you are visiting us for vacation, business, fitness, or family entertainment, our resort promises to provide an experience so unforgettably fun, relaxing, and affordable, you won’t leave without planning your next stay. With 106 luxury cottages, over 50,000 square feet of conference space, a state-of-the-art fitness and bowling entertainment complex, hiking trails, beach access and more, there are plenty of amenities to entertain everyone - winter, spring, summer, or fall. Friends and family of all ages can take advantage of on-site activities as well as many nearby attractions. Cook in your own cottage, hike the Point Lookout trails, visit our café, sit on the beach, bowl a few frames, schedule a massage, watch a DVD, play a game of tennis… you might never leave our Maine resort during your entire vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Resort And Conference Center Maine/Northport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.