We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67 Atlantic Highway, Northport, ME 04849   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Islip, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cute little cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed for too short of a weekend up at Point Lookout. Cabin was so cozy and comfortable. Rustic looking on the outside but roomy enough and up to date on the inside. Did not eat at location but did go bowling in their on site lanes, which were very nice. Would go again. Area was gorgeous.
We booked thru a promotion in our local Newsday so prices were excellent for us.

Room Tip: Try hiking in area park and definitely kayaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. Please stay with us again soon and I hope you have time to have a meal with us next time. From our Prime Rib Buffet to Sunday Brunch, to the Copper Pine, we can offer great food with some of the best views on the coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
52
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We are getting ready again to head to Maine after dropping the kids at summer camp and can't wait to visit our new favorite resort. We loved the overall privacy, comfort and cleanliness of the luxury cabins... the resort trails are a blast to explore... but it was that end of the day glass of wine at the "summit bar" that can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for the review. It is great to hear about what a wonderful time you had with us and we look forward to having you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We found a great resort that accomodates 2 couples traveling together. Two separate bedrooms with queen beds and it's own bathroom. The resort was located close to small scenic towns to explore. We would definitely go back again. .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad to hear you had such a good stay. I hope you can stay with us again soon as we have activities planned throughout the year. We are close to skiing and snowshoeing in the winter and our central location to many of Maine's top attractions makes us convenient for exploring all Maine has to offer.

Thank you again and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed for a weekend in June.
Cabins are cute.
However our cabin was loaded with flies.
Paperwork states daily housekeeping.
We did not receive daily housekeeping .
At night the noise level from partiers is unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2010
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience could have been better, but I am glad to hear that you still enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will give us another opportunity, so that you can experience all that the Point Lookout Resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Corporate groups look no further than Point Lookout to host your next event. We recently had our annual customer event at this property and it was a home run. They arranged for transportation from boat docks and off property restaurants to "cab" services around their own resort. Our customers and guests came from places unlike that of coastal Maine (i.e. Ohio, Pennsylvannia and Iowa) and it was quintessential Maine. We ordered a Maine Lobster bake at the Summitt and smoked seafood from Ducktrap Seafoods for boat ride snacks. The food service was great, the people were great and the cabins were very comfortable. Thanks to all the staff for making our clients right at home. As a side bar, the Copper Kettle is a great litlle breakfast place..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
On behalf of the associates of the Point Lookout Resort, thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that we were able to facilitate making your event such a success.

Thank you again and I hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We ran across Point Lookout quite by accident. It is a few miles north of Camden on the coast and is spread out over many acres. We stayed in a neat cabin with kitchen and sitting area. There are hiking trails, bowling alley, squash, tennis and a restaurant at the Summit of the resort with a spectacular view from Bar Harbor to way south of Camden. The food is terrific. Please tell your friends that this is a real gem that very few people know about. We absolutely loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHendrix, General Manager at Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you had a great stay. I hope you can come back soon. The views from the summit are truly amazing in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

As my fellow reviewers have said, this resort is newly open to the public and their new, quality facilities are very enjoyable.

Definitely spring for the 3 bedroom over the 2 bedroom chalet; for a small increase, you can have a large airy livingroom and bigger kitchen and refrigerator.

Two small complaints:
- Zero sound insulation between the bedrooms. I have never been able to hear every word so clearly from the 2nd to first floors
- A coin-operated washer/dryer room is a must if you spend a week here going to the beach. Ideally, each cabin should have one

The larger beef is that this place bills itself as a resort with full amenities, which it is, but BEWARE that most are not open to the general public most of the time.
- Bowling, foosball, arcade in one building are open only after 4 p.m. on week days and have limited hours on weekends. Closes at 6 p.m. on Sunday. So much for alternative fun on rainy days. On one Wed afternoon, it was closed to get ready for a private party. AND THE WHOLE CENTER IS CLOSED EVERY MON AND TUES.
- The summit with its gorgeous views is often closed to the public on Fri-Sat-Sun due to weddings. The summit cafe is only open Tues-Thurs

I do not begrudge people celebrating birthdays with bowling or weddings here. It is a fabulous location and facilities. However, for the rest of us who are also paying resort prices, I expect that all amenities, cafes, bowling, etc. to be open to us every day. This is a new venture (after its conversion from a corporate retreat) and the management changed again during our stay; I hope that when they gain traction, they will build parallel facilities for the public and the private parties, and KEEP ACTIVITIES AND AMENITIES OPEN FOR REGULAR HOURS, EVERY DAY FOR ALL OF US.

We spent 6 nights, 7 days here with family spread over 3 cabins, and it was very enjoyable. However, we didn't get the gist of the weird hours and many closures until too late, and missed bowling (closed at 6 on a Sunday???) and our chance to dine at the Summit Cafe.

There is no pool but there are supposedly plans to build one. There are no facilities (picnic tables, volleyball) set up at the beach although it is written into the hotel's notes. We did use the WII, fitness club, tennis courts, soccer field and playgrounds.

My advice is that this is a great set up with beautiful clean chalet-like cabins (not very Maine beachy in ambiance). But please plan in advance for the odd, limited hours of operation and take advantage of when things are open. A midweek visit may be your only chance to dine or see the summit which is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center

Address: 67 Atlantic Highway, Northport, ME 04849
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Northport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Point Lookout Resort & Conference Center, located on 387 acres of picturesque property overlooking Penobscot Bay in mid-coast Maine. Whether you are visiting us for vacation, business, fitness, or family entertainment, our resort promises to provide an experience so unforgettably fun, relaxing, and affordable, you won’t leave without planning your next stay. With 106 luxury cottages, over 50,000 square feet of conference space, a state-of-the-art fitness and bowling entertainment complex, hiking trails, beach access and more, there are plenty of amenities to entertain everyone - winter, spring, summer, or fall. Friends and family of all ages can take advantage of on-site activities as well as many nearby attractions. Cook in your own cottage, hike the Point Lookout trails, visit our café, sit on the beach, bowl a few frames, schedule a massage, watch a DVD, play a game of tennis… you might never leave our Maine resort during your entire vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Lookout Hotel Northport
Point Lookout Resort And Conference Center Maine/Northport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Lookout Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.