We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service! Service! Service! in a Peaceful Location on Northeast Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asticou Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Asticou Inn to your Saves list
Asticou Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, ME 04662   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service! Service! Service! in a Peaceful Location on Northeast Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Asticou Inn is full of old charm and elegance... the place for a paradise garden wedding or a peaceful escape with friends while visiting Acadia.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the main inn and were delighted with it's warm days-gone-by atmosphere! We shared bright and cheerful adjoining rooms with our friends and loved the old bathtub and the rooms appointed with large windows which can open to let in the ocean breezes. But you won't let in the traffic noise...there is none...this is a quiet, peaceful location where you can relax away from the congestion of Bar Harbor. A complimentary afternoon tea in the parlor added an unexpected sweet touch.
Steve and Jeff....these two gentlemen added a new dimension to the word "service" with their exceptionally friendly demeanor and professional attention as we relaxed on the inn's balcony overlooking the sparkling harbor, beautifully tended gardens, and inviting pool area. They went ***above and beyond*** to make our stay magical even though they were very busy hosting a wedding (truly a fairytale wedding!) during the time we were there. The elegant food was presented with a flair beyond compare.
One more delight... there is a beautiful garden paradise to stroll through right across the street.
Asticou Inn was the most warm and inviting accomodation of our 10 day trip and we will surely return if we are visiting Acadia again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    34
    21
    20
    11
See reviews for
37
63
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is my first review ever for tripadvisor. Normally I just leave a tip if service was good and go. I was driven to write this, though, because of the out of ordinary service I received while a guest.

Our group of 4 arrived on a Tuesday afternoon. We strolled over to the beautiful manicured gardens across the street before having complimentary tea on the back balcony. The view of the harbor and gardens below prompted good vibes, but...what was going on down below us on the lawn? Could it be a wedding on a Tuesday afternoon? Indeed it was.

We were pleasantly entertained as we watched this beautiful wedding progress and finish. Meanwhile the staff fevorously worked to attend to the sudden business of attending to both the wedding guests and to the other guests, the group to which we belonged. What amazed me was the attention to detail we received by two employees...Jeff and Steve. We were treated as though we were the only people there. How they staff there managed to do this puzzles me, but what stands out is the excellent (exceeded expectations) service and friendliness we received from them.

The room was clean and airy. Big windows which actually opened let in all the good ocean breezes yet since at land's end did not let in any noise pollution. A nice shaded front porch to relax upon in the evening, a tea room, an old piano in the foyer, great front desk service...I could go on and on, so you the reader get the picture. If you want to stay in a hotel room with four white walls, an annoying TV, a big hot parking lot, aloof staff, etc., go find a chain hotel. If you are looking for a hotel that is delightful and different, service that exceeds expectations, and a nice memory afterwards, try the Asticou Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The beautiful setting and incredible views are not enough to create a great experience at this poorly run inn. The lack of service, management and the bizarre "cottage" we stayed in left us less than satisfied. My first contact with the inn was a call from someone canceling my dinner reservation due to the wedding they had going on simultaneously that they had underestimated the amount of space they would need. Upon arrival we were directed to our "cottage" and
Upon arrival first experienced the moldy smell, bathroom smaller than a greyhound bus bathroom, tv circa 1980, and non working fridge, at which point we were startled by a crash outside our window. The young cleaning crew had run a golf cart into a tree outside our room and were loudly and for quite some time laughing and arguing over what they should do. Our experience thus far prompted us to see if we could change rooms but with back to back weddings the one tiny room available on the 3rd floor felt like we were in the middle of a family reunion. We opted instead to shorten our stay. We asked for directions to a golf course less than a mile from the inn and the front desk "crew" had never heard of it...so we found it on our own. The morning after the first wedding we were "greeted" by dirty dishes and glasses and a partially cleaned deck, and no one manning the front desk. The cat hair, and spilled fruit on the unkept front porch was just part of the charm. There are more poor service examples and strange things that occurred but I'll stop here. Again what a shame that this beautiful location is lacking on so many levels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My new, beautiful wife and I chose to get married at the Asticou Inn in Northeast Harbor. Without hesitation I can shout to the the world that it was one of the best desicions of our life. The staff was like family offering anything we needed. In fact the day of the wedding, they ran over hot beverags to our bridal party and were like little magical cleaning fairies. Amazing! I am sure that alot of people had a hand in the event but the go to guy was Thomas. Eagle eye, master of ceremonies, ring leader, always a step ahead--- whatever you want to say, he was the man!

The food was to die for, the music was playing, the lighting was just right..... I could go on and on!

If you are reading this post please take away this little nugget,
"If you are getting married, now or in the future, the Asticou Inn should be on the top of your list!"

Nate C

Room Tip: The Cranberry Lodge is amazing, elagant, and gives you that back east feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Asticou Inn last week for two nights. We were in town on vacation visiting Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. The inn's location is prime because it is tucked away on a quiet hill in Northeast Harbor, yet both of our destinations were within a short (and scenic) drive. The staff members that we interacted with were professional, friendly and accommodating, and our rooms were wonderful. We stayed in the Cranberry Lodge in two suites that accommodated all 8 of us very comfortably. While the house has signs of aging, the rooms were quite nice with modern amenities such as comfortable queen size beds and a kitchenette complete with a mini-fridge, microwave and stove. Breakfast in the morning is not included in the rate, but is very reasonably priced for the options you have to choose from, including omelettes, french toast, bacon/sausage or a buffet with pastries and cold cereals. There is also a daily, complimentary afternoon tea. For those looking to cool off after a long day or hiking or biking, there is a pool behind the main building. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Asticou Inn and will return next time I'm in the area! My family and I stayed at the Asticou Inn last week for two nights. We were in town on vacation visiting Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. The inn's location is prime because it is tucked away on a quiet hill in Northeast Harbor, yet both of our destinations were within a short (and scenic) drive. The staff members that we interacted with were professional, friendly and accommodating, and our rooms were wonderful. We stayed in the Cranberry Lodge in two suites that accommodated all 8 of us very comfortably. While the house has signs of aging, the rooms were quite nice with modern amenities such as comfortable queen size beds and a kitchenette complete with a mini-fridge, microwave and stove. Breakfast in the morning is not included in the rate, but is very reasonably priced for the options you have to choose from, including omelettes, french toast, bacon/sausage or a buffet with pastries and cold cereals. There is also a daily, complimentary afternoon tea. For those looking to cool off after a long day or hiking or biking, there is a pool behind the main building. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Asticou Inn and will return next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Desert Island, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I chose the Asticou Inn for our coastal wedding based on it's traditional island history, and breathtaking view. What we got was a beautiful wedding, expertly executed by a fantastic staff. Tom Weverstad was, by-far, the most helpful and fantastic part of our experience. It was clear that he knew what he was doing, and his recommendations were helpful and spot-on. From last-minute specialty drinks, to ensuring that all of our guests were comfortable and happy- Tom was our man!
Our ceremony had a beautiful back-drop and the new chef provided the most FANTASTIC hors d'oeuvres and dinner. We both wish that we had the time to enjoy the dinner and beverages more!
We are a local couple, but had people traveling to be with us from all of the country. The Asticou team was very obliging when it came to helping us make arrangements for our guests. All of our rooms were classic and charming, and our guests have been raving that our wedding was "the most beautiful" they've ever attended. We are very glad that we chose the Asticou and we look forward to visiting often.

Room Tip: Room 201 in the Bird Bank was very roomy and had a lovely screened in porch that looks over the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Asticou opened in 1883, and is one of the few remaining 19th century wood frame hotels on Mount Desert Island. It preserves the graciousness of an earlier time, and gives one a pure sense of Down East Maine. The hotel is opened for only 6 months a year; I imagine staffing is a challenge. So that the staff was uniformly eager to please was even more impressive. I'm a frugal traveler, but was delighted that I paid extra for the view of North East Harbor. I chose the Inn because the Asticou Gardens (extraordinary) were just across the street. I discovered a lot more reasons to be happy there. The room was even larger than what I was led to believe from the web description; it was furnished in a simple, elegant and comfortable Yankee style. The afternoon tea was delightful: wide selection of teas; coffee; delicious tea sandwiches and pastries. We were reluctant to try the Inn's Peabody Restaurant, which received some negative reviews here, but decided to go ahead nonetheless. What a surprise! The new management knows its stuff. It was the best meal we had on Mount Desert Island - and we ate very well all vacation. The hotel is beautifully maintained, which has got to be a challenge considering that it's on the water and, well, Maine winters are brutal.
The Asticou is a 15 minute drive from Bar Harbor and its restaurants & shopping, 5 minutes from an Acadia National Park entrance, within walking distance to hiking trails, the Asticou and Thuya Gardens.
Now for the warnings. From the other reviews, this is a great place for a destination wedding. But if it's not your wedding, I'd ask the reservation clerk where the quietest room would be. Or choose another date to come. You must remember that this hotel was built in the 19th century, and probably had shared bathrooms in the halls. I'd imagine a lot of bathrooms were installed after 1883. Ours was small. The fixtures and the plumbing were newly renovated, but the scale belonged to another century. There are no TV's in the room, only in the lounge. Our cell phones didn't get reception but the hotel wireless was free, and the signal was strong. Local calls from room phones are free. I wouldn't bring children here unless they can adjust to being without electronic distractions and like hiking. Or a teenager without a driving license. You'll be driving to most places.

Room Tip: The Asticou web site describes every room in the hotel. Consult it, and talk to the hotel reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asticou Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asticou Inn

Address: 15 Peabody Drive, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, ME 04662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Asticou Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 19th century country inn at the foot of Acadia National Park and overlooking Northeast Harbor. The beautiful Asticou Azalea Gardens are right across the street from the inn. The history of this property is truly fascinating!The inn features a restaurant and a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Asticou Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asticou Hotel Northeast Harbor
Asticou Resort Northeast Harbor
Asticou Inn Northeast Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asticou Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.