We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Pleasant Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimball Terrace Inn

Kimball Terrace Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kimball Terrace Inn to your Saves list
Kimball Terrace Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Huntington Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, ME 04662-1030   |  
Hotel amenities
Staten Island, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very Pleasant Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We loved this hotel! The staff was wonderful, the view amazing! Yes the rooms were dated, But very very clean! We can't wait to return! Also, very good restaurant next door! Thank you all again
Carolyn&Marek Brzozowski

Room Tip: Just ask for a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Having read some of the Trip Advisor reviews, we were somewhat anxious about staying at the Kimball Terrace Inn but we were very pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed our three days there, slept beautifully in our beds and found absolutely nothing to be lacking. Our 3rd floor room, facing the lovely harbor, was the largest hotel room we've ever stayed in. It was attractively and comfortably decorated and it and the entire hotel were IMMACULATE. The housekeeping staff is to be commended. Although we didn't use it, the swimming pool looked very inviting. Our room had a sliding door leading to the balcony which had two comfortable chairs and a round table. The free wi fi worked well, the adjoining restaurant is excellent and highly thought of in the area, and the desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Without a doubt we will stay there again.

Room Tip: It seems worthwhile to spend more for a room facing the pretty harbor with a view of the mountains a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Basically a motel with some frills, the setting overlooking a small harbor is very pleasant. Restaurant is quirky but good food. Take a mail boat to a nearby island for a nice change. Easy, scenic drive to Bar Harbor and the national park.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location of Kimball Terrace Inn is it's best aspect, and the view of the harbor is it's second best. They have a nice restaurant in site with friendly, accommodating staff. But the number one thing you want when staying in a hotel/inn is a good nights sleep, so I can't rate this place any higher, unfortunately. The nightly rate was certainly reasonable and the room we stayed in was clean, spacious and maintained well (although with outdated decor). But the bed was literally the most uncomfortable one I've ever slept in. Apparently the owner is aware of this but doesn't care because when I mentioned it to the front desk person she replied that they get complaints all the time but the owner won't buy new mattresses. To top this off, we were in a 1st floor room and were awakened at 5 a.m. by the people above us simply walking around, and we even had a sound machine on (always travel with one). The supports in the floors must be completely shot. So if you dare stay here, bring a foam mattress topper and ask for an upper level room...or just spend a bit more money and stay somewhere you can be assured of restful sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor because of noisy floors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northeast Harbor hotels

Scarborough, Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

OMG!! i just read some of the reviews....i totally agree with them......the place is clean......we don't spend a lot of time in them anyway.....but the beds were HORRIBLE!!!! you couldn't move w/out them creaking......they were very uncomfortable......thin blankets as some have said in other reviews.......b/f upgraded the room to a harbor view.....$20 more......but i would not pay for this place again!!! WOW!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This motel was good enough for your basic needs. About 20 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor and 20 minutes from Acadia's Park Loop Rd. The beds were very uncomfortable, but the staff was friendly and the location was acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This motel with a view of the harbor has a lot of potential. However, it is ready for a renovation. The mattresses are covered in plastic, sanitary but not comfortable. Then there is a lumpy mattress pad and very thin sheets. The bare blankets are worn. The bathroom fixtures are about 50 years old. It is clean, fortunately. The location is great and they obviously know it. However, it is time to pour a little money into the place to make it really good.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kimball Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimball Terrace Inn

Address: 10 Huntington Road, Northeast Harbor, Mount Desert, ME 04662-1030
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert > Northeast Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Northeast Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kimball Terrace Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Kimball Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimball Terrace Hotel Northeast Harbor
Kimball Terrace Inn Northeast Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kimball Terrace Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.