We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place....if you like garlic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jordan Hotel and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jordan Hotel and Conference Center
Save
You added Jordan Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
1 Grand Circle, Newry, ME 04261   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newry
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place....if you like garlic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is a very nice hotel, with great facilities...hot tub, heated outdoor pool, and great rooms. Only possible problem is, there are kitchens in a lot of the rooms, and we had an Aussie in a room near us, who apparently thinks you can't have enough garlic in a dish. While I'm sure i have shared in some of the health benefits that garlic provides...the smell was eye watering. Bottom line, great hotel, but beware of neighboring ethnicities.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    24
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
37
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greater boston area
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Jordan Grand Hotel Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. We participated in a Ski and Stay Package. In addition to the overnight accommodations and lift tickets, this package also included a buffet breakfast for 2 each morning after a nights stay. We also purchased their food card ($75 for $100 worth of food and drinks). We had a great time.

The food (whether at the breakfast buffet or at “Sliders”, the restaurant) was very good. The prices at Sliders were very reasonable as well.

All of the staff members throughout the entire resort (not just the hotel) were so gracious and professional. (I don’t think I could be as jolly if I had to work on Christmas.)

I do want to provide information about the only down side to our holiday get-away, but I want to phase it in such a way that doesn’t come off as offensive to anyone. So, here is my attempt in doing so: The hotel placed us with a room that was in the middle of a block of rooms reserved by a tour group of people of a different culture. The ONLY reason why this was an issue for us is because the hotel allowed them to cook in their rooms. All fire safety issues aside, there was a distinct difference between our culinary cultures. What we deem as a delicious aromatic meal is far from what we encountered coming out of our neighbors rooms. To say the odor was unpleasant is an understatement. The smell of their dinner was far from appetizing to us and the odor permeated throughout the hotel.

I applaud anyone who is creative enough to save money where they can. But, I wish the hotel located our room in another area of the facility. But, in hotel management’s defense, we didn’t bring it to their attention…it was Christmas afterall….peace on earth and good will towards man, etc. And that was our only complaint from our neighbors. Other than that, they were very courteous despite the communication barrier.

We would stay there again and look forward to our next visit to Sunday River. But, next time I would request not just a mountain view but also a room where cooking would not likely occur on the floor or perhaps a room down wind.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Granted coming from LI, NY, this was in the woods, but it was gorgeous. Very nervous on how my two young adult children were going to handle, but they loved it. It is in a remote area, about 5-7 miles from nearest restaurant (except for one in resort but pricey). Resort was very nice, beds were like clouds along with down confortors, fireplace in Master BR and LR, small W/D, King size bed in Master, Queen size along with bunks in 2 BR. My 6'2" son had no problem in bunk. Great room down hall from us with pool table and big outside deck. Pool was heated to at least 80 along with very, hot, hot, hot tubs, open every night to 10 or at least till security came to close. Staff was GREAT, maid service everyday, all of them always had a smile and helpful. We ate at Sunday River Brewing Co at least twice (great specials during the week), Bob's BBQ (what a character), Red Rooser (not sure if I got the name right) also excellent, not a bad meal in the area. Boys took advantage of golf at Bethel Inn on a Tues, for $35 (including cart), read about that online. Daughter and myself went horseback riding (have to ask front desk), don't remember the name, again very inexpensive $35/hr. We explored going North from the resort, word to the wise DO NOT GO WITHOUT A FULL TANK OF GAS! Learned the hard way you can venture out not knowing when the next gas station might be. We didn't run out, made it to Errol, NH. This part of Maine runs along NH border and there is much more to do over there. Great pull-offs for short or long trails that include falls or just great views. All just for $5 a day, all day, you can visit any of their parks. Husband was quite happy on how much we DIDN'T spend. Overall great vacation and look forward to going back again someday (this was a RCI timshare property thru our Disney DVC membership).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We've stayed here twice, both times for the March school break with our 2 kids the first time, & with the addtion of one of their friends this last trip. Ski in/out is excellent, the outdoor pool is dynamite, the 2 hot tubs are plenty big, & the exercise room is adequate. Although we didn't dine in the onsite restaurant or coffee shop (that has a nice lunch special every day) this trip, on our visit here before (when our kids were 11 & 13), at the full service restaurant, they went out of their way to prepare them special grilled cheese sandwiches one night & a burger that is still the biggest one my son has ever eaten. Our first visit included a buffet breakfast that would have eggs bendict one morning, waffles the next, & it was an excellent start to a day of skiing. This March we had a kitchenette, so didn't get to the onsite restaurants, but did travel into Bethel a couple of nights & enjoyed our meals in town. The skiing was great, the selection of terrain & runs excellent, virtually no lines at the lifts, which makes for a full day of skiing, not standing.
The rooms are pretty spartan, but I like them better then the one we stayed in at the Summit, & frankly there's very little time for anything other then a nice apres ski swim, soak, meal, some drinks & bed after full day of skiing. We'll be back for the skiing for sure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August, 2008. We enjoyed our stay and would return again. We stayed in a double queen room on the 2nd floor looking out the front of the building. The room was clean and quiet, with a nice balcony. We enjoyed the outdoor hottub one night. We are golfers and played at the Sunday River golf course twice. We felt the value for our vacation was excellent. We paid $500 in total for our 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, 2 rounds of golf each including cart. The only suggestion I would make would be to make the dining room more intimate by reducing the number of tables for large groups. We felt like 2 people in a banquet hall full of large tables.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — dining room layout
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I stayed in this hotel in a time-share condo, and it was quite comfortable. The staff is great and there are plenty of things to do in the resort/hotel itself.

My only complaint would be about the location--there is only 1 road that leads to it, as it's in the mountains, and that road is in need of repair. However, the views around the hotel are stunning.

There is a laundry room though you may have to battle other guests for use of the machines; there is a "teen room" that has a TV and a pool table, and a couple of restaurants, one which has an excellent breakfast.

  • Liked — The on-site amenities
  • Disliked — Long drive up the mountains to reach it
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal qc
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

5 of us stayed at the Jordan from July 2-6, 2008.
We had one of the 3 bedroom suites. Room 340..a 2 level HUGE room with it's own sauna and gas fireplace, 2 balconies, one front and one back. This suite is over the front entrance.Amazing view. But there are no chairs on the balconies,
Master Kingsized suite with its own bathroom
and its own private balcony.
Queen sized bedroom on main floor.
Huge livingroom with gas fireplace.
Sauna at the end of the hall down from the dining room.
Full kitchen, stove, fridge, dishwasher,coffee maker, toaster and all the cooking utensils. nice dishes including measuring cups and baking dishes.

The smallest bedroom had 4 bunk bes and a skylight as well as two windows.tv and vcr.
Each bedroom had its own heating and a/c as well as central air in the livingroom. The ceiling must be 25 feet tall with windows facing east and french doors to the front balcony.
The full size sauna and plenty of storage.

We have been to Tremblant and Squaw Valley but this was by far the best.

We were part of a convention for 300 Austin Mini owners.
Food in town we recommend are Liam's and Roosters.
We made our own breakfasts and ate dinner at Sliders.
Staff was amazing.
2 bathroom problems were solved within moments of our calls to the front desk. (blocked toilet and non draining tub).

House keeping was super. Although they are obliged to put the dishwasher on when in the room even if it is not full. They even put the coffee pot in for a cleaning and insisted on cleaning the frying pans from breakfast that we were just about to do.
Changed decaf for regular witha big smile.Coffee is supplied.

Recycle bin in kitchen... staff return empties for tip money.
Front desk, food service and gift shop very good customer service.

Hannaford market in Bethel has a great deli dept and bakery as well as a liquor store in front of the cashes.

Local bank refused to provide change for large bills as I did not ahve a bank account there!

  • Liked — the room, the view, the staff, the pool, the private sauna, the balconies...
  • Disliked — The bumpy 5 1/2 mile hill climb to the resort on a foggy night. yellow lines on the road need painting.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jordan Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1 Grand Circle, Newry, ME 04261
Location: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the most spectacular mountain location in New England, the Jordan Hotel is the premier address at Sunday River and offers sweeping views out across the valley. The property lies at the base of the resort's Jordan Bowl area, and is just two miles from the award-winning Sunday River Golf Club. In addition to slopeside access to the ski trails of Jordan Bowl guests can enjoy a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, health club, restaurants, valet parking, ski check, and concierge. The Jordan Hotel offers 187 guest rooms ranging in size from standard hotel rooms with two queen beds to three-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jordan Grand Resort Hotel Newry
Jordan Grand Hotel
Jordan Grand Newry
Jordan Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jordan Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.