We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love mystery ... intrigue? This is for you, traveler.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center
Skiway Rd. and 97 Summit Rd., Sunday River Resort, Newry, ME 04217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
pompano beach florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love mystery ... intrigue? This is for you, traveler.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Disclaimer: I was the guest of my generous Brother & Sister in law in the height of Golf season, I should not find a thing to complain about. That said, I'll begin by mentioning Signage, of which there is either none ... or just totally goofy.

I guessed the route to the hotel began with the "PARKING" arrow. Nope-an overflow lot for skiers. Bumpy return to main road.
Then up the hill to the next generic arrow - The Golf Club House. I had to drive in to inquire anyway and was directed to drive out, then right, up the hill, about a mile. Dropped off my clubs and bag but had to park in a lot down a revetment - Level II Amer. College of Cardiology stress test, climbing back to the lobby. Once there, I quickly mastered check in.

Bro. asked for rooms near each other. They had room 352 & I, 354, however they where ~150 feet apart. Just for a reality check I returned to the direction Sign near the elevator. It was as though a disgruntled former employee created it. No rhyme or reason. Everything was random. More arrows than Little Big Horn.

Moving on. The cocktails were outstanding. Dinners were really good, I mean for off season, 20% occupancy - just fine.

The next day we compared and contrasted our rooms. Theirs was better with a valley view, and while the beds were "different", but very good, a great nights sleep. The odd thing...no furniture to speak of. yes, a dresser-3 in one room, an ugly chair and ... a bed.

Now for the intrigue: A coffee service was offered in a large tray on the lower dresser, but the cord was less than 2 feet long and the nearest outlet 3 feet. What's more-that outlet was dedicated to a smoke / CO alarm - that clearly stated "Do not remove - Alarm will sound" It did - for 3 minutes. So, to try to get some Morning Joe , the discerning guest had to carry the tray and pot into the much too small bathroom and place it - balancing on the counter and commode. Great. And now, 2 tiny pouches of DE-CAFE. Decafe ... like going down to the Gift Shoppe for a Playboy and coming back with the August issue of Martha Stewart. (I respect M.Stewart).

I began to criticize the stained wavy gray industrial carpet, that tripped me twice, but held up; Look - it's a ski resort. I ski.

Breakfast was personalized...another way of saying Slow - Deliberate -Compartmentalized, but tasty, and served in a "snack bar".

The weather patterns have dealt ski resorts a series of bad hands. I wish them Good Luck. Frankly I'd send in a Focus Group on this facility.

Room Tip: See the Focus Group results.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    21
    4
    10
See reviews for
16
23
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed for a training course. Great location, easy to get around, friendly staff and great outdoor pool and hot tub somewhat overshadowed by the souless uninspiring feel and look of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were travelling from uk and we chanced our arm with the last bit of snow and was recommended Sunday River, we took the grand summit on the understanding that there were more ski slopes open and there were. Hotel staff were more than accommodating and so friendly and helpful. The slopes were fun and had there been more snow we knew that they would have been awesome. The hotel was over run with English school kids who were left to run riot around the hotel so,everything was packed and they were very rude on and off slopes! The hotel rooms were not serviced as well as they could have been, beds were comfy and lots of pillows. Pool area was clean, jacuzzi needed a clean out and the shower cubicles inside the pool area need some tlc. So for what we paid $2.500 plus for 4 nights we thought we were a little ripped off.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice people, ski in ski out, average rooms. Seemed clean, except the hot tub which was full of hair and dirt (YUCK). Bed was comfy, good food in the breakfast places. Can't beat the access to the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Great stay - I highly recommend the Summit to any family looking for a place to stay while skiing!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Summit a number of times over the past three years. It's clean, nice, and has slopeside access. Of note, the ski-on access is available for a much greater duration of the ski season relative to Jordan Grand Hotel, which is slightly "nicer" with respect to its age and amenities, etc.

At the Grand Summit, there is the slopeside pool and hot tub, a favorite of kids and adults alike. The health club is small but has weights and machines if the skiing isn't enough. There have consistently been few people using this feature so if you'd like to work out you won't be fighting for machines.

If you're interested in having a clear room and skiing with post ski access to a slopeside hot tub and pool, this is an ideal place for that. The amenities are nicer at Jordan Grand, but the Jordan chairlift is closed occasionally due to wind and in early and late season the snow melts on that side of the resort so you would have to take a shuttle from the hotel to the main lodge in the center of the resot (a not insignificant 3-4 mile trip on a little shuttle bus rather than skiing right on from the hotel).

Room Tip: A bit better to stay in the traditional hotel bed rather than the Murphy bed or a pull out couch, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I spent one night here to attend a conference. They offered a tremendous rate of $116 for the night. The staff was pleasant, professional and helpful. Check in was smooth and quick.

One thing that didn't sit well with me prior to arrival is their check in and check out policy. In 35 years of traveling, I've never seen a hotel with a 6pm check in time. Check out is 10:30am. They also tell you right up front that early check in or late check out isn't allowed! WTF? Not exactly the the most customer service oriented attitude in my opinion.

The room itself was a superior room which means a room with a Murphy bed. I knew that since the booking agent told me up front. The room also had a full kitchen with microwave, sink stove, and dishwasher. A nice touch for those staying a while.

The room was not what I consider to be super clean. There were little brown spots of mold around the sink rim and one of the pillows on the loveseat in the room had a big stain on it.
The bed pillows were clearly way past their best days. The rug was fairly worn but I can overlook that because the ski boots beat them up I'm sure.
I did a little rearranging by moving the loveseat beside the bed, facing the TV. There is a kitchen table in the room that I think is too large for the room size. The TV had a wide selection of channels which is always appreciated by me. Too often, you go to a hotel and they offer like 10 channels.
There was a small balcony but the door latch was broken which made it very difficult to open. The deadbolt worked fine but the latch mechanism required you to turn the knob very hard to open the door.

The heat was turned off when I arrived but the room was still very warm, so much so that I had to open a window to make it bearable and sleep with it open.

The Murphy bed folded out of the wall easily enough. The bed was very firm, like a rock in fact. Not the most comfortable night's sleep I've ever had, but not the worst either. The sheets and comforter were soft and cuddly though.

A decent hotel room right on the mountain. The hotel has lots of amenities which I did not partake of but all in all a good value at a prime location.
The staff I interacted with throughout the day-long conference with very friendly. It's obvious that management take pride in training everyone to greet customers as they walk by and to give service with a smile.
I would certainly stay here again. Thank you Sunday River for a nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't above the lobby. The hotel is not well sound proofed so you can hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center

Address: Skiway Rd. and 97 Summit Rd., Sunday River Resort, Newry, ME 04217
Location: United States > Maine > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Summit Hotel combines the best of both worlds. It offers all the amenities you would expect from a full-service hotel like two restaurants, a health club, and a heated outdoor pool, with all the convenience of a true slopeside location. Accommodations include 230 well-appointed guest rooms, all of which were recently renovated, ranging from standard hotel rooms to suites with kitchens. Located at the entrance to the resort, the Grand Summit Hotel is a landmark and provides easy access to the resort's core winter and summer activities. The hotel's slopeside location is ideal for families looking for ski-in/ski-out access thanks to a number of beginner-level trails located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Newry
Grand Summit Hotel And Conference Center Newry, Maine
Summit Bethel
Bethel Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Summit Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.