We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I would have expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newagen Seaside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Newagen Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Newagen Seaside Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   60 Newagen Colony Rd, Newagen, Southport Island, ME 04576   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newagen B&B and Inns
endicott
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What I would have expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a lovely quiet spot. The hotel manager was extremely attentive. Because we stayed before the high season, the staff seemed to be working out some kinks. Was somewhat disappointed, the dinner menu was not available - lunch at dinner wasn't bad. There seems to be a lot of sprucing up that needs to be done - but work seems to be well underway - not in an intrusive way though. There is no hot tub - spa area at end of pool -- it was a bit too cold to try it out. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
44
61
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Well, my wife and I returned to this hidden jewel last Sept and found it to be better than our first experience. We didn't think that was possible but it was. The ocean views, food, service and room accomodations were all outstanding. The general manager, Jason, made us feel very welcomed and truely appreciated us coming back for a repeat visit. He was explaining that they are continuing to work to upgrade the Inn so each year it should only get better and better. The breakfast was fabulous with a full buffet of wonderful things to eat, and is included in the price of your room. We went to the game hall and did some bowling and also ventured out in the rowboat to get a fantastic view of the Inn from the water and got up close and personal with the lighthouse right offshore. The pool and hot tub were a good way to start the day and very seldom did I encounter anybody there. Couldn't get to the tennis courts but maybe next time. We explored Boothbay Harbor and did a whale watch and this is such a beautiful harbor! So much to see and do but actually you don't have to leave the Innn if you want to get a quick fix to rejuvinate your soul since this is what Maine is all about. We can't wait to get back there this year!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night over the Summer. Very quiet and quaint hotel. The person with whom I was traveling grew up spending his summers here and he loved being able to go back and visit and reminisce. The food was average, and I was surprised that our room did not have a TV, but then again who needs to stay in the room and watch TV when you have a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean and grounds to explore? Before visiting Maine, I had imagined what a New England coastal inn would look like, and this was it. The rooms were clean and we had no trouble getting service. We will probably go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Newagen is a wonderful hotel at the tip of Southport Island. This is the perfect distance from the overly-touristy Boothbay Harbor, but not too far from Robinson's Wharf Restaurant with its excellent beer and fresh-caught lobster. The hotel staff is excellent, particularly hotel manager Jason. There are lots of fun activities on the property, including an old candle-pin bowling ally, tennis courts, and some hiking trails. My favorite part of this property is the view out to a picturesque red house on an island and a lighthouse beyond. Also, if it is warm enough, it's fun to swim off of the hotel's dock.

On the less positive side, I found the hotel swimming pool and hot tub to be underwhelming; it looks like the pool at the Spruce Point Inn might be better. I think the Spruce Point is probably the only real competition in the Newagen's neighborhood, but the Spruce Point lacks the Newagen's authenticity.

Room Tip: If you go to the Newagen, I would recommend requesting a room in the "Little Inn," which o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSchlosser, General Manager at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear J C,

Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are pleased that you had a great experience with our staff and enjoyed our amenities. We also enjoy swimming off the hotel dock when it's warm, and many times when it's not!

I wanted to share some very positive updates we're making during our off season. As part of our winter renovations we will be adding a new saltwater pool, whirlpool spa and deck. In addition, we're adding a deluxe oceanfront cottage, expanding our pub, redesigning the front desk and just about every room inside the Main Inn will be receiving updates. If you're able to return in 2013, please contact me directly at the Inn. I'd be happy to welcome you personally and be of service to you.

Warm regards,

Jason Schlosser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was so charming and comfortable and the staff was very accomodating. It is on the tip of Boothbay with breathtaking views of the ocean and the bay and wonderfully fresh air. It is self contained with two restaurants with good food. The hotel provides everything you could want: bikes, hot tub, pool, shuffleboard, etc. There was a "fireside speaker" one night with a program on Rachael Carson who had lived in the area. It is a Historical Hotel with smaller but comfortable rooms. We would recommend this experience highly!

Room Tip: All rooms have views. There is not an elevator so if this a problem, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Was excited to find this on Groupon this summer but it turned out not even worth the price of a Groupon!

Person at front desk gave us an attitude throughout our stay and made us feel not welcome and we saw the same person was condescending to others during our stay as well. Not acceptable.

Room was good size but that was the only positive here. Beds were uncomfortable, bathroom was tiny and shower head was below my head even though I'm only 6' tall. Room was about 20 degrees hotter than outside. Windows were shut when we arrived and even when they were open on a nice day and fan on it didn't cool the room much. No attempt by management to cool the building during our stay. I couldn't imagine staying here on a hot day.

There were stains on the blanket and on the other box spring cover. The stains were not acceptable. Same front desk person responded by agreeing on one stain but for some reason decided the other was acceptable. However, the replacement we got was not even for the same size blanket. Thankfully we were sweating and didn't need any blankets anyway.

After our initial experience we thought about forfeiting our groupon and hours of driving, we almost left that's how disappointed we were.

We asked to upgrade and even though rooms were open we were told no by same front desk person. We even asked to pay the full difference of an upgrade minus only what we paid for the Groupon but were told no the groupon basically had no value. This is a violation of Groupin policy. A Groupon is always worth and can be redeemed for what you paid!

Overall our stay was just not acceptable. There were a couple positives like the location was good but usable land on the property only seemed like an acre or so, much less than advertised. View was nice. Gamesroom was rundown but is fun for older kids. The waitstaff was very pleasant And professional throughout our stay.

We would not return here even on Groupon and we would not reccomend this place to anyone given our experience. There is no way I could rate this place close to a 5 without an entire overhaul to the rooms, beds, and shower, entire overhaul on how front desk treats guests, and a solution to cooling the building.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDSchlosser, General Manager at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Oktostay,

We regret that you did not enjoy your experience at Newagen. We pride ourselves on providing warm hospitality and exceptional service to each guest, and I apologize you experienced anything less than that.

This winter we have many new projects underway including significant room upgrades to nearly all accommodations inside the Main Inn, a new saltwater pool, an expanded restaurant with outdoor deck and fire element as well as a deluxe oceanfront cottage. While these changes are significant, our goal is to upgrade Newagen while maintaining the classic look and feel so many admire and return to every year.

We genuinely want your stay to be perfect in every way, and when it isn't we feel compelled to make it right. Would you give us an opportunity to do just that? If so, I would invite you to call me directly at 207-837-7484.

Best regards,

Jason Schlosser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn because we purchased a Groupon. When we arrived, it was raining and not very pretty. Later in the day, the sun came out and it was beautiful. Our room overlooked the back which stretched down to a cove. You could barely see the lighthouse. The bed wasn't the greatest, but everything else was wonderful.

We also ate at the Inn's restaurant both nights. The food was excellent and the service was too.

They have a separate building, called the "Pine Room" that has an old fashioned candlepin bowling alley and pool table. That was too fun to pass up. The only downside was that it was a little dirty.

Rhea at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newagen Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony Rd, Newagen, Southport Island, ME 04576
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport Island > Newagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Newagen Seaside Inn Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newagen Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.