We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bradley Inn...nice place but service could have been better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bradley Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bradley Inn
3063 Bristol Road, New Harbor, ME 04554   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in New Harbor
North of Boston, MA USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Bradley Inn...nice place but service could have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We spent a night at the Bradley Inn before taking the 9am ferry to Monhegan Island. We had a nice room overlooking the garden on the 2nd floor. When we arrived the person at the front desk was so un-knowledgeable about the area it was laughable! We wanted a quick meal where we could sit outside...she had no clue, although we did find one on our own just a short distance down the road at Pemaquid Point. We asked how far it was to the ferry and how to get there...again she had no idea! We had to ask the server at the seafood place where we ate. There was a nice dining room at the Inn, but breakfast is not served there; it's served in the tavern, which has much less "ambience."

I'd still recommend the Bradley Inn because if the location, but the Inn needs to make sure everyone on the staff knows the area and it would be a plus to serve breakfast in the pretty dining room.

Oh, and they advertise having wifi, but the connection was slow and seemed to work only in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Although we were staying hear by, be dined at the Bradley Inn one evening. They were really ready to close but they accomodated us in the bar. It was beautifully and interestingly furnisher. We orderd the bision burger. It wonderful and beautifully served for a burger. It was large enough to have fed 2 people & very reasonably priced. Would love to have gone back again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bradley Inn. The Inn and our room (The Ale Wives Room) were filled with antiques and various collectibles. The Inn has a nice restaurant and a fully-stocked bar where we hung out to watch some TV at night since there was not one in the room. The Ale Wives room has a separate sitting room with a twin-sized bed, which we didnt use, but it was nice to have the extra space. There is also a walk-in closet, so the room was not cluttered with our luggage. The weather was great, so we didnt use the gas fireplace.

From the Inn we walked to the lighthouse and along the rocks to watch the sunset. It was beautiful. We took the ferry to Monhegan; we hiked along the trails and sat at the overlooks to admire the views. We also went to the Fort and walked around. Both were fun things to do!

This was a relaxing trip, and the environment at the Bradley Inn is very peaceful. Some reviews mentioned that the location of the Inn is very remote. You have your choice of several different restaurants that are a short drive, and if you choose, you can just stay at the Inn for dinner and drinks. There were plenty of options and many things to do in the area. We had a great time here!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

I booked this hotel thinking it was located in Bar Harbor. We could not cancel our reservation anymore and thus decided to spend two nights in New Harbor. We arrived in total fog and the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. We thought we just get out of there the next day. We stayed in the Suite which was located in a building next the to main building. The Suite was not really a suite but more a rustic experience. One room with one king was downstairs and two beds are located under the roof. I bet it is very warm there when the weather is hot. The hotel photo of the suite is much better than reality. Definetly not worth 400 $ that we spend per night. IN addition you wake up very early in the morning because you have no shades upstairs. Also there is no internet. And the internet in the main building does not function at all. The staff has no clue how to make it work.
However, the breakfast is very good and the staff is very friendly. The next day we had beautiful weather and the whole area was wonderful. The main building and the athmosphere there is very good. Overall i can recommend the place for its coziness but its just too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

The Bradley Inn is in a fantastic location especially if you are a keen photographer and want those dawn/sunset shots of the lighthouse after everyone else has gone home. The decor of the inn is lovely and the food at dinner was excellent. If the kitchen can resist the desire to overcomplicate things (e.g truffle oil on scrambled eggs for breakfast) it could be very fine indeed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Over-complicated breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Just got back to the Bradley Inn after being away a few weeks (were there in June as well) and it was, if anything improved. A lovely new hostess, a young local woman, greeted us when we arrived and we were soon seated in the bar surrounded by other travelers who were enjoying the amazing Wednesday night dollar oysters (the fried oysters are to die for). The garden was in full glory and the evening air scented with beach roses and other fragrant and delightful flowers. We had a glass of wine in the bar before dinner where the bar tender brought us up to date on the local news and enjoyed our dinner on the porch in the slightly chilly but beautiful night air. Our room was a cozy as ever and we had a romantic night, just the two of us in the beautiful setting. We hated to leave. Keep up the good work -- we'll be back next year!

  • Liked — Relaxed comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — fog
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed at the Bradley Inn over a long week-end, and was underwhelmed after having read great reviews.

In favor of the Inn is its amazing location, at the tip of the Pemaquid peninsula and within short walking distance of the Pemaquid Point lighthouse and surrounding park. Being able to enjoy this landmark at any time of day, before or after the crowds, on foot, made this stay quite special.

The Inn itself may have had better days. It is probably closed for the winter, and our suite was mildewed, particularly the very small, tired bathroom which had all the comfort of a roadside motel. The beds should have been replaced, they were old and uncomfortable.

Breakfast was the least enjoyable experience. Service was poor, we once arrived towards the end of the window during which breakfast was served, and found little left on the buffet. We only realized the next day that there was a warm course for breakfast, which the wait staff had not mentioned the day before, as they were probably anxious to see us leave. Knowing that this Inn is famous for its restaurant, we had expected much better.

We had dinner one evening at the restaurant, which is the only reason why we'd come back to the Bradley Inn. The three course dinner menu was excellent from beginning to end, and service was much more pleasant than in the morning. Every course takes a while to be served, but the excellent cuisine was worth the wait.

Overall, the Inn is largely overpriced. The restaurant is expensive as well, but truly special.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of comfort, poor breakfast and poor wait staff in the morning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bradley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bradley Inn

Address: 3063 Bristol Road, New Harbor, ME 04554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > New Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in New Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Bradley Hotel New Harbor
Bradley Inn Maine/New Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bradley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bradley Inn to your Saves list