We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family... without the stress!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chandler House Bed & Breakfast

Chandler House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Gloucester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chandler House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Chandler House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
337 Intervale Road, Route 231, P.O. Box 100, New Gloucester, ME 04260   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like staying with family... without the stress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I recently stayed at the Chandler House for the second time, and was again very pleased. Lovely rooms, wonderful hosts, beautiful house. The food is excellent, and Shannon and Al go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
auburn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Simply fantastic! The inn keepers are so laid back and friendly, yet very professional! Their inn is pristine, and super comfortable! An amazing place to host a party. A very peaceful and relaxing place for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We were looking for a convenient place to stay while in New Gloucester for a Cyclocross Event. We stayed in the guest cottage along with our son and daughter-in-law. It was a perfect mix of coziness and privacy.
Shannon and Al made us feel welcome at their B&B. The nice breakfast and their friendliness added to our enjoyment.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is a wonderful b&b. Stayed two nights over Christmas, as we were visiting family. Stayed in one of the cottages as we have two bassett hounds who were warmly welcomed by the hosts, Al and Shannon. The cottage is pristine as is the main house. We missed breakfast the first morning and sorry we did. The next morning we ate the best breakfast we've had at a B&B. Shannon and Al the most gracious hosts. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — no tv in the cottage
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Dear Travelers,
My husband and I stumbled upon this B&B on our last minute micro-brewery tour / trip to Maine and so glad we did. This B&B is an excellent value. It was the perfect balance between elegance and comfort, comfort, comfort. The house itself is giant and beautifully maintained with great attention to detail. Unlike most Victorian B&B's this one lacks the tacky floral upon floral motif, it is excellently decorated and well thought out (comfort, comfort, comfort). The owners, Shannon and Al are very helpful with directions and suggestions for things to do and extremely friendly but not intrusive. The B&B is on a big chunk of land that includes friendly chickens and Fern the most loveable goat, off in their field. It's a perfect location if you want to relax, enjoy and breathe. Hurry up and visit before it's discovered by the New York Times!
Cheers!
JM

  • Liked — The bed was most comfortable / beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

Our family recently rented the guest house for our stay during our daughter's graduation from Bates College. We're not from New England, so we spent three nights. It was perfect. Instead of dealing with local restaurants, on Sunday evening we hosted a small celebration at the guest house with supplies from Whole Foods in Portland. Friends who were at their summer house in Maine joined us for the evening. We ended the evening in the hot tub looking at the stars in Maine.

Al and Shannon, our hosts, were wonderful and their breakfasts were also great. My sister and I walked every morning before breakfast, and the countryside and houses were beautiful.

The guest house is newly remodeled and furnished. The Inn also looked wonderful, as we ate breakfast there each morning.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

How I wish I'd found this place 4 years ago, when my son started at Bates College--my only consolationis that it's only been open a year or so! The Chandler House in New Gloucester, 20 minutes south of Lewiston, Maine is my idea of B&B perfection. First of all, the owners absolutely could not be nicer or more accommodating; when I mentioned that a room was a bit bright, they had new curtains made before my next visit. They had fresh cookies waiting for us at night, and homemade English muffins in the morning, along with an elegant, healthy full breakfast. Many of the products used seem to be organic. The house itself is a great treat: a wealthy sawmill owner's Victorian mansion, with beautiful paneling and big rooms. The have done a lovely job of decorating it. The hot tub out back and the claw-foot soaking tub inside will not be forgotten! To top it all off, there are truly glorious views from this hillside inn, and places to walk, including this enchanted little village that is perfectly preserved. I didn't know Maine had spots this pretty.
It was a very short drive from town, but felt like 100 years back in time. A highlight of my visits to the College.
www.chandlerhouse-bedandbreakfast.com
Phone:(207) 926-5502

  • Liked — hot tub with views
  • Disliked — thought it would be too far away from town, but it wasn't
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chandler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 337 Intervale Road, Route 231, P.O. Box 100, New Gloucester, ME 04260
Location: United States > Maine > New Gloucester
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Gloucester
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the Chandler House B&B awake refreshed and relaxed to the smell of a home cooked breakfast. Located in historic New Gloucester, Maine, on 15 acres of lawn and woods, the Chandler House is the perfect location for a relaxing get-a-way. Within 30 minutes of golfing, shopping, theater, beaches and cities, guests also enjoy hiking, biking, skiing and snowshoeing or just relaxing in an out door hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chandler House Bed & Breakfast New Gloucester, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chandler House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.