We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better local options on July 4th.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy's Flight Deck

Sandy's Flight Deck
Rte 302, Naples, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 20 restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“better local options on July 4th.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overpriced, slow service, bland food.

On July 4th we decided to view the fireworks on The Causeway in beautiful Naples and this place was in a great location. We were fooled! The service was extremely slow and not worth the wait for the average quality and bland tasting food. We didnt' have any napkins, no silverware and waited a long time for ANY staff to come to ask for drinks/water on one of the hottest days of the summer. I had to go back inside the main dining room to find a waitress. This was the first time I was forced to get up and leave our table to ask for something because a server/staff/manager/employee didn't provide very basic service.

I'm SURE there are better places with FRESH, local seafood like "The Lobster Pound" which is where my family normally goes.

There was not enough staff to wait on the customers and our party was very disappointed after I found a manager to question when our food would arrive. We were with a child and planning to view the fireworks on the Naples Causeway. The Manager responded, "Well, next door they have over a 2 hour wait!!". That fact didn't help us nor the fellow, VERY patient patrons. Because the food took SO LONG to arrive, my little nephew had to take his plastic basket of chicken fingers outside to his lawn chair so he could eat while the fireworks started. : (

However, our waitress was very sweet and helpful by continuing to check on the status of our food (after waiting about 1 hour after placing an order). Many patrons simply got up and left before they received their food because they were quite frustrated.

I may try again on a quieter time of year if we could sit on the outdoor patio. That may be the only redeeming quality for this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

25% Recommend
    0
    3
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average Overpriced Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After calling another local restaurant and being told there was a 90 minute wait, we walked right into Sandy's which immediately lowered my expectations and rightly so. Was an extremely hot Saturday night and the AC was not doing it's job.
Food was overpriced and just plain average. My clam roll was $11.99 and was pretty small. Fries were the frozen variety. I was with 4 children and 2 other adults and no one was overly excited about their meal. Service was fine until the very end when we were settling up. The waiter brought our bill and then took our money and came back 2 minutes later and said he added wrong and it would be $10 more. I thought that was pretty cheesy. Note to Sandy's - If you want to charge big restaurant prices, get a Point of Sale system so mistakes like this don't happen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Fried seems to be the only way they know how to cook anything.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“service was the worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This place wasnt busy.it took forever to order our meals,then took forever to receive it.when it finally did arrive the waitress dumped one of the trays of food,so 1/2 our party ate while the meals that fell were being re-cooked.The part that kills me is no one came to our table to offer an apology.When I received the bill I asked someone who looked like they might work there to speak with the mngr.He responded with"I am the owner"I asked him if he saw what happened and he said "yeah" I asked why no one apologized,especially you,being the owner.His response was"they re cooked your food,didnt they?I then asked for some compensation because we ate at different times,and the order was wrong. he looked at the cashier and told her"ten off" what a complete idiot this guy was.I would not recommend this to anyone on vacation or even a local for that matter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The baked stuffed haddock was amazing and the view off the back deck was stunning, at least on the night of 9/1, when we were able to have a spectacular view of the full moon over the water from our table. The clam chowder was also excellent. The portions were large and the prices were very reasonable. Will absolutely go there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy's Flight Deck also viewed

 

Been to Sandy's Flight Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy's Flight Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.