We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Roll in an unassuming place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galley Restaurant & Pub

The Galley Restaurant & Pub
327 Roosevelt Trail, Naples, ME 04055
207-693-1002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $5 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Description: New location in Naples, ME, the heart of the Lakes Region. New Menu, (kept everyone's favorites), 24 draft lines featuring yours and local favorites. Dessert menu added and much much more seating.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll in an unassuming place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Recently went to Maine to help out a friend and on our way stopped by the Galley to see if the Travel Channel's assessment of their Lobster Roll was correct. I'm happy to report it exceeded my expectations. Had the BLLT (Bacon, Lobster, Lettuce, Tomato) roll. I dream about it still. Make sure you stop in on your way to Sebago Lake and on the return to Portland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Maine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The wait was about 20 minutes for a table, but space at the bar opened up so we sat there. The menu was extensive. It was hard to choose between so many good items. My friend ended up with a giant "juicy burger with great flavor" and I got a huge crab roll and fries. The beer list was long, but the service was fast. The only drawback was that it was trivia night? and the DJ that was doing the trivia was really loud. We had to stop talking when he started because we couldn't hear each other. Overall, great atmosphere, great food, great service, great value! It was well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Lobster Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Good variety of Lobster Rolls and Sides, probably a whole 1lb Lobster in each roll, a fair price @ $12.95, which varies with market price, good selection of appetizers, go early, it gets busy and noisy and service slows. Comfortable Pub style atmosphere, wide selection of beers on tap. We had a friendly and bubbly waitress and left well fed and full, ran us $70 with tip for two @ dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll with Lemon Zest in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Comfy pub like atmosphere with delicious food. The Lobster Roll with Lemon Zest is out of this world. Just ask Adam Richman of the Food Network as he voted it as one of America's top favorite sandwiches. Lots of Lobster packed over the top with a light lemon zest on a toasted East Coast bun. The Galley Restaurant & Pub is a favorite among locals, summer visitors and winter snowmobilers and skiers, Yum! A must try if you come to the Lakes Region or go for the Surf and Turf challenge. Check out their website www.thegalleyrestaurant@live.com for pictures
schedule of upcoming events and menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I just left The Galley after a truly terrible eating experience. I can not attest to the quality of the food, because after waiting twenty minutes to order and nearly fifty minutes to be served we were so aggravated we could could barely taste the food. Sure it was busy, but is that an excuse not to bring, at least a roll to the table after, perhaps a half hour? The wait was compounded by a bar so loud that I had a splitting headache before the food arrived. To add insult to injury, I asked to see the owner before leaving; but after waiting ten minutes for her, we left. This is a place to skip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Galley Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Galley Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galley Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.