We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel
203 Post Rd, U.S. Route 1, PO Box 39, Moody, Wells, ME 04054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Moody
Elmira, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here last year by accident and went back again this year. Neat, clean, reasonably priced. Breakfast was very nice. They've renovated their kitchen lobby area and it's beautiful. You can use grills, smokers, kettles, etc to cook your own food. The pool is only solar heated so it wasn't warm enough for us, but some folks were brave. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it very much!

Room Tip: One side has steps to the rooms so if you're not sure on your feet you may want to ask for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Than you for your kind words. We are always happy to greet returning guests. We are happy that you liked the remodel. We do heat the pool with Solar and Propane from mid-june until mid-september, and then solar completely until closing. During late september it is about 75, not quite the 84 it averaged this summer thought :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife always says older motels have stinky rooms! This is an older motel but no stinky rooms VERY CLEAN !! NICE ROOMS.My wife could not stop talking about all the great things this place offered .Pool, beautiful landscaped grounds,good FREE!! breakfast,friendly helpful staff,Did I mention the clean rooms ?? That needs repeating.!! Very comfortable beds,we both slept well.We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ROOM 8 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We, and our staff, are very conscious about the cleanliness of our rooms. We appreciate that you would stay with us again. As much as we enjoy meeting new guests, our repeat guests are our best advertising! Thank you again, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Fairfield, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay the help will go way out of their way to help with directions where to find the best food you name it and they will help.
Even with the resort next to the road the rooms are well keep and quite. The only down fall was the guest smoking beside the door the smoke comes in the windows and doors of your room.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. and also that our staff was able to help you with directions and the best places to dine. We try to stay up on all the local happenings and the changes in the local eateries, and will always be able to recommend a good mix of Maine dining options. We are sorry about the other guest cigarette smoke bothering you. We try to fix those things that we have control over, and minimize those that we don't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

1st time staying here on August 25/26th, 2012. Was very nice, clean and convenient to the trolley pick-up. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only negative thing was that there was a family in the room next to us where the kid(s) were running up and down from 8pm to 10pm and then at it again at on Sunday morning at 5am until we left our room at 9:30am. Therefore did not sleep very well. A little pricey for what you get for the price, but it was a last minute reservation and we were able to get a room at a lower rate. Overall a pretty nice place to stay. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and had a few people in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We do try to offer a good mix of amenities and fair pricing. I do wish that we had known about the noise issue while you were still here. We could have either moved your room, or spoken to the other guest to see what we could do to make your stay more pleasant. While we are usually told how quite our Inn is, we do appreciate what you are saying. We are planning to change somethings this fall that may help with any similar instances. Thank you for letting us know, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we were very disappointed about this place. Rooms were clean but in need of new bed coverings, pool was small but very clean and closed very early, breakfast was disappointing, . bought pastries from a box store, a selection of breads for toast, fresh fruit, andbaked beans..........?
we would not stay here again. the staff was friendly and couldn't have been nicer but the rooms were depressing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed. We do strive to keep all our rooms clean as you mentioned. And we do have rooms in different price ranges, a basic , more budget oriented, and our newer, deluxe rooms. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast as much as everyone else, we do bake a lot of , but not all, or our pastries. We do get baked goods delivered many times a week. And the baked beans, well if you were brave and tried them you might be a convert. They are very sweet, maple and molasses, and some other flavors. We serve about 15 to 20lbs a day during July and August, but agreed they might not be for everyone :-). Thank you again for your review, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed at this attractive/friendly place over the past few years, having migrated from the more expensive Ogunquit area where I stayed periodically over the past decade. The rooms were clean and well taken care of; the stafff was more than hospitable and accomodating. It is located within 5 minutes of both the Wells and Ogunquit beaches and on the Trolley line. There are many dining options close by, anf the nore than satisfying breakfast is a bonus money-saver. I heartily recommend it!! (P>S>- There's a reat Ice Cream stand next door!!!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Inn. We are happy that you found us clean and comfortable, over some of the more expensive properties, and that you enjoyed our picnic breakfast. We try to offer a better value to our guests, knowing that there are many places to chose from! Thank you again, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were there in last weekend of june. We occupied 3 rooms with parents. You could take the trolley to go downtown, $1.50 per person to go. I have to say that they should repair or replace some spoiled board on the porch because it could be dangerous. Breakfast served at 8 h in a small place, people turn around the counter, they should review the way it works.
Place is cool for family, pool is well kept. Overall it is a very nice place to go.

Room Tip: If you want shady during your stay, you should ask for the right side or south building. Older but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
You found my winter project! Each year we spend time on repairs and maintenance. While we try to keep everything nice, some times mother nature brakes things down a little faster for us. We have gone over the deck, and will continue to do so. But my plan is to remove it a build a new one this winter. We are thinking 2 room mini balconies! And yes, breakfast during holiday weekends can be a little bit busy, we are always open to suggestions! Thank you for your review, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel

Also Known As:
Wells - Ogunquit Hotel
Wells - Ogunquit Hotel Moody
Wells Ogunquit Hotel
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel Moody, Maine
Address: 203 Post Rd, U.S. Route 1, PO Box 39, Moody, Wells, ME 04054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells > Moody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our casual, family oriented Beach & Breakfast Resort Motel. The Wells-Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages is located ¾ of a mile from Ogunquit's Moody Beach, 1.75 miles from Wells Beach. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, Coffee Maker, in room coffee. We offer our guests an assortment of updated unique amenities in a family style, relaxed atmosphere. Our affordable rates, along with our Delicious Complimentary Maine Picnic Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Heated Salt Water Pool and BBQ cooking/dining area allow our guests to maximize their vacationing dollars. We are centrally located near 4 Beaches, Lighthouses, Lobster Pounds, Restaurants, mini-golf, Antiques, Boutiques and Outlet shopping in Kittery & Freeport. Minutes from Ogunquit Playhouse, Golf Courses, York & Kennebunkport Maine. Mention TripAdvisor save $5.00 ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel to your Saves list