We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Wells-Ogunquit Resort Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel
Save
You added Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel to your Saves list
203 Post Rd, U.S. Route 1, PO Box 39, Moody, Wells, ME 04054   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moody
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Wells-Ogunquit Resort Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

1st time staying here on August 25/26th, 2012. Was very nice, clean and convenient to the trolley pick-up. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only negative thing was that there was a family in the room next to us where the kid(s) were running up and down from 8pm to 10pm and then at it again at on Sunday morning at 5am until we left our room at 9:30am. Therefore did not sleep very well. A little pricey for what you get for the price, but it was a last minute reservation and we were able to get a room at a lower rate. Overall a pretty nice place to stay. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and had a few people in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We do try to offer a good mix of amenities and fair pricing. I do wish that we had known about the noise issue while you were still here. We could have either moved your room, or spoken to the other guest to see what we could do to make your stay more pleasant. While we are usually told how quite our Inn is, we do appreciate what you are saying. We are planning to change somethings this fall that may help with any similar instances. Thank you for letting us know, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
47
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we were very disappointed about this place. Rooms were clean but in need of new bed coverings, pool was small but very clean and closed very early, breakfast was disappointing, . bought pastries from a box store, a selection of breads for toast, fresh fruit, andbaked beans..........?
we would not stay here again. the staff was friendly and couldn't have been nicer but the rooms were depressing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed. We do strive to keep all our rooms clean as you mentioned. And we do have rooms in different price ranges, a basic , more budget oriented, and our newer, deluxe rooms. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast as much as everyone else, we do bake a lot of , but not all, or our pastries. We do get baked goods delivered many times a week. And the baked beans, well if you were brave and tried them you might be a convert. They are very sweet, maple and molasses, and some other flavors. We serve about 15 to 20lbs a day during July and August, but agreed they might not be for everyone :-). Thank you again for your review, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed at this attractive/friendly place over the past few years, having migrated from the more expensive Ogunquit area where I stayed periodically over the past decade. The rooms were clean and well taken care of; the stafff was more than hospitable and accomodating. It is located within 5 minutes of both the Wells and Ogunquit beaches and on the Trolley line. There are many dining options close by, anf the nore than satisfying breakfast is a bonus money-saver. I heartily recommend it!! (P>S>- There's a reat Ice Cream stand next door!!!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Inn. We are happy that you found us clean and comfortable, over some of the more expensive properties, and that you enjoyed our picnic breakfast. We try to offer a better value to our guests, knowing that there are many places to chose from! Thank you again, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were there in last weekend of june. We occupied 3 rooms with parents. You could take the trolley to go downtown, $1.50 per person to go. I have to say that they should repair or replace some spoiled board on the porch because it could be dangerous. Breakfast served at 8 h in a small place, people turn around the counter, they should review the way it works.
Place is cool for family, pool is well kept. Overall it is a very nice place to go.

Room Tip: If you want shady during your stay, you should ask for the right side or south building. Older but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
You found my winter project! Each year we spend time on repairs and maintenance. While we try to keep everything nice, some times mother nature brakes things down a little faster for us. We have gone over the deck, and will continue to do so. But my plan is to remove it a build a new one this winter. We are thinking 2 room mini balconies! And yes, breakfast during holiday weekends can be a little bit busy, we are always open to suggestions! Thank you for your review, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

we decided to make a very last minute trip to Maine for some lobster pie and to see the Ocean. We stopped by this resort/motel as it looked nice. The people were great and the room was very nice. Alot of times Motels have that kind of run down, dated not everything works feel about them. This was definitely not the case here. Flat Screen TV, nice little kitchenette area even a toaster. We really enjoyed this Motel and will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for writing! We will continue working to be the kind of place that you will want to come back to! We appreciate your kind words, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We decided to revisit southern Maine and use This motel as our base after reading the good reviews. We arrived after a lengthy 61/4 hour trip. I guess we looked a little haggard,so the owner immediately handed me the keys to the room and told us to come back later to register after we feel better. That was a very,thoughtful nice touch.
The room (121) was immaculate w/ new TV, microwave, small refrigerator and spotless bathroom and comfortable beds
The grounds contain over 150 specimen plants that add to the beauty. There are several new gas barbecue grills w/ utensils to use should you wish to buy lobsters, shrimp and steak and cook them on the "Barbey". Plenty of tables,benches and umbrellas are available. Nice pool w/ a lot of lounges.
The morning continental breakfast was excellent(English Muffins, Breads, Fruit, sweet cakes, Beans(try them..they are good), cereal.....Just enough to get a good morning start.
Every morning most vacationers got together to share experiences, great restaurants,sites and just nice whole some conversations.
The motel location is up the road about 1 1/2 miles from congested Ogunquit. It's less crowded and has many great restaurants(Eat in or take out) equivalent or better than in Ogunquit.
The management of the motel made you feel like Family...Truly warm,nice people that i would rate 5 stars.
You can find newer hotels with similar or better amenities ( steam,sauna, beach location, etc) for a lot more money( $35.00 to $ 85.00+ more)...but you will not get the friendly attention that the owners can offer you at this marvelous hidden gem.

Room Tip: Try room 121.....It's in the back and away from any road noise on US1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
THANK YOU for such a compete review! We are just trying to greet people that way that we would like to be greeted/treated when we are on vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will look forward to visiting with you again, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was late, most of hotel where closed for the night, and we needed a place to stay. Even if they where closed, the owner was really nice and did a booking for the night for us. The service at this Motel is remarkable, their suggestion for lobster or any other restaurant were perfect! They guide us with maps and clear directions. The rooms are REALLY clean, the bathroom super clean, comfortable beds, good size room, microwave, fridge, TV, DVD player, pool, ice, great terrasse in front with tables. Breakfast was very good and lots of choices. Great location, great value! Happy we chose this hotel and we will go back there.

Room Tip: Room close to pool, or on left side of reception to face terrasse/pool/reception/road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and will look forward to seeing you again. But this time we will be expecting you, and we will have a room ready for what ever time you can arrive :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel

Address: 203 Post Rd, U.S. Route 1, PO Box 39, Moody, Wells, ME 04054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells > Moody
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our casual, family oriented Beach & Breakfast Resort Motel. The Wells-Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages is located ¾ of a mile from Ogunquit's Moody Beach, 1.75 miles from Wells Beach. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, Coffee Maker, in room coffee. We offer our guests an assortment of updated unique amenities in a family style, relaxed atmosphere. Our affordable rates, along with our Delicious Complimentary Maine Picnic Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Heated Salt Water Pool and BBQ cooking/dining area allow our guests to maximize their vacationing dollars. We are centrally located near 4 Beaches, Lighthouses, Lobster Pounds, Restaurants, mini-golf, Antiques, Boutiques and Outlet shopping in Kittery & Freeport. Minutes from Ogunquit Playhouse, Golf Courses, York & Kennebunkport Maine. Mention TripAdvisor save $5.00 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wells - Ogunquit Hotel Moody
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel Moody, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.