We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and pet friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wells-Moody Motel

Wells-Moody Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wells-Moody Motel
Save
You added Wells-Moody Motel to your Saves list
119 Post Road (US Rt 1), P.O. Box 371, Moody, Wells, ME 04054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moody
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good location and pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Wells Moody Motel several times. Chosen for it's pet friendly policy. Although the rooms that are designated for dogs are rather small, I would still choose to stay again. I have a well behaved older Golden Retriever and he loves the ocean. No longer able to do the walk down to the beach, we now drive to the parking lot a short distance away. We choose the times in the morning and evening that dogs are allowed, which happens to be the same time the parking is free.

The Motel is in a good location to hop on the Trolly, with a nice restaurant across the street and just beside Jake's Clam house.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the pet friendly rooms which are rater small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I've always stayed at the same place in wells so I was hesitant to try another -- but I'm so glad I picked wells Moody.
The staff is extremely friendly, the grounds are kept nicely and it's on a good central location. You can actually walk to the beach.
Our room was all the way in the back of the office building, very quiet and very clean. The room was a little small, but it was immaculate. The price was great for what we got. I'm not sure what the reviewer with the complaint about the noisy bar across the street meant ... there is an ice cream parlor across the street and the oginquit trading post on the other side of the grounds. I would highly recommend and my boyfriend and I will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

After having such a fantastic time in the Wells/Moody beach area last year, we decided to come again and stay at the same motel. This year we had a newly renovated room. The motel is very close to many amenities. Excellent accommodations,very clean, & Mike,the owner was very helpful in informing us about any new places of interest we might enjoy during our stay. I am sure we will be back next summer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

This place is well kept and immaculate. It is pleasantly decorated and very comfortable. Beautiful bed linens. We paid an extremely low, off season rate of $49. Sounds perfect doesn't it. We stayed two nights and were thinking of extending our stay......

Unfortunately, it is located directly across from a bar and grille, which isn't the owner's fault. There's a whole lot of action going on there, loud music, fights, parking lot motorcycle burn-outs and wheelies, screeching tires. Now again, can't fault the owner for this, but that being said, apparently not real particular about who they might rent to. The first night the character next to us in Room 3 was blaring the t.v. at 5:00 a.m. We said nothing to management thinking it was an isolated incident & perhaps neighbor was staying just one night. The second night all hell broke loose. He had "guests" in, there was yelling, slamming in and out of the door all night long. Jumping in his car (parked right next to ours), ripping down the road and back no less than six times. Would our car remain undented? Believe whatever was going on was in direct correlation to the bar across the street & very sketchy. At one point he must of fallen and swore he was coming right through our mutual wall. It was very unsettling and frightening. Didn't dare step out and confront the guy; feared for our safety. Couldn't complain to the owner/management in the a.m., as the office was locked up tight at 8:30 a.m. We put our key the box and left. Guests shouldn't be subjected to an evening like we had.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

This place doesn't look like much but I'll tell you- it beats quite a few places along rte 1.... And we've stayed in quite a few. Comfortable, clean, quiet, and the staff is more than accommodating. I get the idea it's a family run business and you certainly get the feeling you are a personal guest at their home. And the best part is they remember you!!
Best value regardless of the time of year (sadly they close in the winter).

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay in the Well/Ogunquit last weekend, we didn't want to be rite in the center of town so we drove a mile or so toward Wells. We stumbled apon this nice little gem on route 1 and a short distance to the beach. The man ( owner i think) was working the desk when we arrived. We asked about availability even though it said they had on the sign out front, he said there were two rooms left, he would be glad for us to go look at the rooms. Both rooms were clean and newly renovated, the location was perfect with a short walk to restaurants and atractions. We took a room and had a wonderful stay. It was a little chilly for the pool but looking forward to our next stay in this quiet perfectly located, clean and accommodating winner!

Room Tip: Updated rooms, CLEAN!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

I have stayed to this motel for 10 years now and I still like that place…This is one of the most popular motel around…..Very nice and clean…..Quiet place...You can relax around the pool after a great beach day. The staff is always nice and helpful. Close to Moody Beach (10 minutes walk)…. Catch the Trolley across the street and enjoy the ride to visit Ogunquit, Perkins Cove or Wells…........…The perfect stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wells-Moody Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wells-Moody Motel

Address: 119 Post Road (US Rt 1), P.O. Box 371, Moody, Wells, ME 04054
Location: United States > Maine > Wells > Moody
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Wells-Moody Motel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells-Moody Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.