We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wells-Moody Motel

Wells-Moody Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moody
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wells-Moody Motel
Save
You added Wells-Moody Motel to your Saves list
119 Post Road (US Rt 1), P.O. Box 371, Moody, Wells, ME 04054   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moody
Boston
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I wanted a quick trip to the beach to enjoy the end of summer and came upon this place on some Wells web site. $79 was a bargain, it had a pool (pleasant little space) and you could walk to the beach, plus it had trolleys into Ogunquit. The better move was to just walk 25 min into town (Ogunquit can be qutie a zoo and best to leave the car in the hotel). The place is very old school but fine, mostly clean, lots of channels on the TV, little fridge (but the freezer didn't work) and being right on Rt. 1 wasn't loud at all. I would have given it 4 stars had I not discovered a couple hairs turning down the sheets, which along with the towels weren't so great quality. Overall tho, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dayville, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stay here a few times a year, it is very affordable & very clean. The area is great, right in the middle of everything you need. Staff is always helpful. The rooms below you can hear people above but for the price it is still a bargain.... We could stay elsewhere but we always find this to be the best bang for our buck.... Just stayed here first week of July & going back in September...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore of Montreal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

They ad on the street said 59$ for the night.

Me and my Girl-friend went to check it out. We asked for a quiet room, so we got one opposite to the street (US 1) who is under the the one facing the street. The only draw back, that we did here (not loud, not often) the people upstairs of us. There a nice pool, free ice and free wifi. The room and a mini-frige, microwave and a dehumidifier. Bed ware okay.

Over all great value for the bargain price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

after driving all over the area and checking out several hotels who claimed to have wireless or high speed internet we stopped at this place and questioned them at great length that internet was very important to us. we were assured that it worked great and it worked fine for about an hour then the owner went home and his replacement came in and the internet never worked again the entire night. the first time i went to the office to complain the front desk clerk was on her computer downloading large files. no wonder the internet didnt work huh. the rooms are very basic. and it is very dark and creepy outside after dark. the pool is not heated. the tv in the room was the smallest i have ever seen. maybe a 19" and i think the floor was more comfortable than the beds. do yourself a favor. make sure and do lots of homework and research before you plan a trip to this area. they tend to charge top dollar for low quality budget hotels. this hotel screams 60's-70's retro. the mini fridge in the room has to be from the 50's and doesnt work well and then they have a dehumidifier in the room to try and smother the moldy smell in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed for a week and had no problems with this hotel. Staff were always helpful and the room was more than adequate and very clean. TV had many channels, microwave, fridge, good air conditioning and internet access. Great value for money and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gizmocat
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

I enjoyed staying here very much. The room was very clean, air-conditioned, and fairly modern. I also had a good sized refrigerator and a micro-wave. There was a pleasant if small swimming pool. It is right across from two restaurants and the trolley line. If there was one complaint I would make is that I would have liked coffee available either in the lobby or the room.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

I booked the Wells-Moody online, going by the description and the affordable rate in an expensive tourist region. Upon check-in, we were told our room was 'around back'. We proceeded to our room and found that the outside entrance was actually a shared entrance to what was two basement rooms. Our room was disgusting. It reeked of mold. The only window was small, and up so high that you would need a chair to look out - not that you would want to because the view was the dumpster. Mike Bolduc, the owner, was to say the least, unstable. I have travelled world wide, and this was my worst accommodation experience.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wells-Moody Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wells-Moody Motel

Address: 119 Post Road (US Rt 1), P.O. Box 371, Moody, Wells, ME 04054
Location: United States > Maine > Wells > Moody
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Wells-Moody Motel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells-Moody Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.