We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Lobster Roll I Ever Ate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House

Fish House
Fish Beach, Monhegan Island, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Freshest Lobster Roll I Ever Ate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

And that's coming from a life-long Mainer! It was so tender you know it was just cooked! I opted for the toasted roll and ordered some coleslaw as well. Both were so exceedingly delicious I could have had doubles! The view was amazing too, as they have picnic tables right there on the beach beside the harbor. A five star experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Kept Promise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dined at the Fish House our first night on Monhegan. As promised on the sign, I had the lobster dinner on a picnic table overlooking a cove and beach. The service was friendly and the dinner ($12) budget friendly and delicious. A few other families dined nearby - all of us brought our own bottles of wine. Delightful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feet in the sand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ahhh mussels, lobster roll and crab roll for lunch. We bought some wine with us. Prices very reasonable considering this is the only shack on the island. Everything was delicious. We grabbed a picnic table under an umbrella. All was wonderful. We paid $1 each to grill (toast) the roll. It did not appear grilled so we brought it back, they said it was grilled but just on the outside. No big deal but we would have paid $2 for inside and outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We continued our annual Maine tradition of taking the Port Clyde ferry to Monhegan Island and immediately heading for the Fish House for lunch. It is more accurate to call it a fish shack, very rustic with row boats and boat houses, beach houses surrounding along with piles of buoys and lobster traps. Beautiful view, right on a small beach, with a view of the dock and the smaller island directly across. First we placed our order for 6 of us, then grabbed a picnic table and waited for about 30 minutes. Some of us ordered lobster which took longer than the salmon burger or crab burger. All are delicious and well prepared but basic fare on a paper plate. No indoor seating if it is raining, so this is a sunny day activity. We were glad we ran from the ferry to get there. Within 5 minutes there was a line of at least 10 others waiting to place their orders. We then headed out for our 2 hour hike around the island. Lovely as always.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shohola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food with fabulous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a very informal restaurant, having only a few outdoor tables and no indoor seating, however the view is fabulous and very peaceful and the food is very good and quick. It is located on the waterfront on Monhegan and should not be missed. Their lobster roll is extremely fresh and not hidden in gallons of mayo...instead you get the true lobster taste. The calamari salad was also great. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House also viewed

Monhegan Island, ME
Monhegan Island, ME
 
Monhegan Island, ME
Monhegan Island, ME
 

Been to Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.