We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy houses not sustainable on Monhegan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monhegan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Inn
10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852   |  
Hotel amenities
Williamsburg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fairy houses not sustainable on Monhegan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this charming inn a few years ago and really enjoyed our visit. The dinner there was quite tasty too. The rooms reminded me of my childhood and visits to old shore towns, before they were overtouristed. Too many tacky restaurants and souvenir shops ruined many places, but not Monhegan. But too many non-environmental tourists ruined the building of fairy houses here because they stripped bark off the trees and moss off the ground. Residents have posted signs asking tourists to NOT build more fairy houses. Instead, make one in your own backyard at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    36
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Inn is wonderfully located overlooking the water and Manana Island. There is a wonderful deck and lawn area filled with Adirondack Chairs - relaxation at its best. Watching the boats rock in the water, sipping a glass of wine and taking in a sunset - how much better can it get! We had a room with a private bath on the second floor; we had a view up to the lighthouse. The Inn is neat and clean and the staff is extremely accommodating. I would recommend the Island Inn and Monhegan to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent one night at The Island Inn - our first visit - and we had a wonderful time hiking around the island, enjoying the fresh seafood, the beautiful views from the porch and a most peaceful location for R&R. We will be back! The Front Desk and Restaurant Staff were courteous, helpful and professional. Joshua was the best of the best! He transported our luggage, made us feel very welcome and was a true gentlemen. The Inn offers a public refrigerator for guests - MOST helpful/welcomed.

Room Tip: Upper floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights on Monhegan Island in July. Having never been there we booked this inn online and could not have been happier. Lovely porch overlooking the small harbor. Room was small but very comfortable We had a private bath which was very nice with a good shower.
It is odd that the island has no bars and the restaurants cannot serve alcohol in that every store, even the ice cream shop, sells beer and wine.
We brought some wine and they served it at dinner. The restaurant is excellent as well.
The trails were nice and the views are incredible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful days on the island which has terrific walks, and a thriving artist community. The Island Inn is traditional in style, and very personable. The restaurant was unexpectedly good, and everything was as fresh as can be. There is even a new craft brewery on the island. Next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: Bring good hiking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We love the Island Inn and Monhegan!

Having stayed several times at the main inn, we recently stayed in Pierce Cottage which is also part of the Island Inn. We were very pleased with our accommodations which included a large bedroom and bathroom as well as a spacious sitting area. We found the suite to be nicely decorated, bright and comfortable. Traveling with a grandchild, we appreciated the easy access to the first floor suite and to the village stores. We also loved the rocking chairs on the cottage porch and used them daily!

As part of the Island Inn, breakfast at the inn is also included for all guests at Pierce Cottage. We can heartily recommend the lobster scrambled eggs, blueberry pancakes and blueberry stuffed French toast. We also enjoyed several dinners at the main inn dining room. Favorites included the bacon-wrapped scallops, blueberry soup, halibut and haddock.

The service at the inn has always been excellent. Returnees are greeted as old friends and newcomers are greeted warmly. If it is your first time on Monhegan, the staff readily shares helpful information about the island as well as suggestions for hikes including level of difficulty.

We look forward to another stay at the Island Inn and more time spent on Monhegan!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

When we arrived we were told that our room was not in the main building. No one had mentioned it earlier. also, we were told that a gratuty fee for housekeeping would be added to our bill at the end of the stay. We were given directions to get to our room (no one accompanied us),, and it turned out to be little more than a broom's closet.
At departure the next day, we found tha housekeeping gratuity was also chardged for our 4 months old son. When we mentioned we found this unexpected, management argued it was due, as the child represented extra work for housekeeping!
The restaurant was a pleasent surprise, the food was excellent, and the island warrants a visit. However Island inn should reconsider its pricing and its customer management. Frankly we felt ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandInnMonhegan, Innkeeper at The Island Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us and are truly sorry that the experience did not meet your expectations. As evidenced by most of the comments on this forum, our guests are generally very happy, and it’s unfortunate that your stay was an exception to this.
To be fair, we should clarify the circumstances of your dissatisfaction. We were contacted by email the day before you arrived about availability and we responded that there were two “meadow view” accommodations available in our “Pierce Cottage building” but no reservation was made at that time. When you arrived without a reservation the following day, during the height of our summer season, you were given the option of a larger king suite and a smaller queen bedroom and you selected the latter.
We would have been more than happy to show you the rooms if you felt uncomfortable with the selection and it is quite clear that the Pierce Cottage is a separate building, as stated to you at check-in. You were certainly not compelled to take either room.
Equally the gratuity is clearly stated on the website and in the information given to you in writing at check-in and stated as $5 per person per night to cover the service for the housekeeping and the breakfast staff. Without question there is more work involved for the staff when a third person, of any age, is involved and therefore the gratuity is justified. When you queried this gratuity you were kindly informed that we would be happy to remove the gratuity for your child however you declined this offer.
We try to make every stay a pleasant one for all of our guests. We take pride in our customer service and the relationships we have developed with our many returning guests, who appreciate the Inn year after year.
Thank you for your praise of our restaurant and for Monhegan Island and, again, we are sorry you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Inn

Address: 10 Ocean Avenue, Monhegan Island, ME 04852
Location: United States > Maine > Monhegan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monhegan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island Inn sits atop a bluff looking west over Monhegan harbor toward the ocean and in the evening it provides a perfect location to view the dramatic sunsets and the magnificent colors that accompany them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Island Hotel Monhegan
The Island Inn Monhegan Island, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Island Inn to your Saves list