We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5 Lakes Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millinocket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
5 Lakes Lodge
Save
You added 5 Lakes Lodge to your Saves list
46 Marina Drive, South Twin Lake, Millinocket, ME 04462   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Millinocket B&B and Inns
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I think that the 5 Lakes Lodge is a little piece of paradise. From the moment we arrived, Debbie, Rick and Sam the Dog made us comfortable and welcome. When we arrived, Sam met us at our car, showed us the way to the front door, how to open the front door and took us to the stairs. Seriously. We stayed in the Pemadumcook room which had views of the lake from both windows and a stunning view of Mt. Katahdin. At night the stars are so bright that it looks like you can reach out and touch them. There are many trails which Debbie and Rick can give directions to along with advice on difficulty. Breakfast is a complete delight. Debbie is a excellent cook and Rick keeps the coffee coming. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom with the giant jacuzzi tub was great. We sat in the rocking chairs in our room more than we thought we would just looking out at the lake and talking. It was a really great stay.

We were visiting family in the area and will happily return to 5 Lakes Lodge. It is romantic, peaceful and also a great starting place for outdoor activities. I can't vouch for the outdoor activities because that's not my thing but other guests seemed to like it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
157
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was late when we pulled in to 5 Lakes Lodge without a reservation and nothing else decent on the horizen. Fortunate for us there was a room available but I expect they book up fast during the season. The lodge sits on a small penninsula on a lake with hiking trails close by plus Mt. Baker State Park about 27 miles away. The log lodge is gorgeous and our room was spacious with wonderful views to the lake and gracious hosts that couldn't do enough to make your stay outstanding. It is not cheap but well worth it and you get a great breakfast too. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We liked the lower corner room with two windows viewing the lake. I didn't see the upstairs roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kingston, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is hard to describe what a great place this is! Start with the outside where spectacular views of South Twin Lake and the Katahdin range are right in front of you as you sit at your window in comfortable rockers. We were there at the peak of foliage. Unlike Vermont and New Hampshire there were no traffic jams, just wilderness literally on our doorstep. There is plenty to do from hiking to wildlife viewing to taking in the awesome grandeur of Maine's North Woods. In winter there is snowmobiling and cross-country skiing (free access to groomed trails by the way). In summer there is boating and swimming just a few feet away. We were lucky to catch the foliage show and were treated to stunning views from Baxter Park to Moosehead Lake. On the inside, our hosts pointed us to spots we had never seen even though I had taken many trips to the area in the past. The advice on where to go and how to get there was better than the guide books. The breakfasts were outstanding. The fire at night in the enormous stone fireplace set the tone for relaxing evenings. If you want to visit one of the last truly wild areas in the Eastern United States, and start your days with a hearty gourmet breakfast then spend your nights relaxing in luxury, then this is the place!

Room Tip: Every room has the same awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Wow, what a place. The property and the area around 5 Lakes Lodge is as beautiful as it gets. The hosts were wonderful; they took the time to sit a talk with us about just about everything. You can tell that they love their lodge and will do anything to help understand their lives. We just loved our stay here and would love to return in the future. Just love it there!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast of Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Know what's it like when you're driving down the road to your accommodation for the night and you see a place you hope is the one that you've reserved? Well, 5 Lakes Lodge is that place you're hoping for! As you approach this contemporary Maine lodge you see how beautifully it is positioned out on a point and how inviting it looks. Once you step inside you will be thrilled with the rooms and views they provide. It was so relaxing to sit in the "carved out" sitting area of our room looking at Mt. Katahdin, the clouds, and the lake. The room and bathroom are lovely and if you like a jacuzzi tub, you'll find that as well as a shower. And of course, every B&B has to offer breakfast and you'll love the one that Debbie fixes for you. From stuffed french toast to pancakes, eggs, delicious homemade muffins and coffee cakes, your only worry at 5 Lakes will be your waistline! Both Debbie and Rick are great hosts. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and Rick can come up with hikes or places to go in a flash, complete with excellent instructions for getting you there (we enjoyed a very enjoyable hike to the Ice Caves on his recommendation.) While we had planned a number of the things we wanted to do while we were in the area around Millinocket, Rick and Debbie made a lot of great suggestions for filling in our days as well as places to eat. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks much to these fine hosts for a wonderful stay. The best B&B we've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and loved the view from up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Unexpected. In a rough and undeveloped wilderness area of Maine, such luxury. The lodge, the rooms, the view of the mountains and lake, all beautiful. The breakfasts were wonderful, and the hosts were very flexible in making custom changes to your meal. The main rooms downstairs have an air of a quiet, slow-paced life, with maps stacked on tables looking out the large windows on the lake and mountains just beyond. The rooms were spacious, with large and well-appointed baths, and dreamy beds. At night, from the patio, the Milky Way wheeling overhead, while the ghostly calls of loons float over the water. A magical place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

After years of snowmobiling at 5Lakes, my wife and I finally visited in the summer. The grounds were exceptional, views beyond compare and the hosts are simply the best and make you feel like family. One day of rain made us do something we hadn't done in years...take a nap. It was great, rain on the roof, water lapping at the shoreline lulled us both to sleep.
Go there, recharge there, make new friends there. Better yet, bring four other friends and share the wonder that 5 Lakes Lodge is all to yourselves.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 5 Lakes Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Lakes Lodge

Address: 46 Marina Drive, South Twin Lake, Millinocket, ME 04462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Millinocket
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millinocket
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful Lakeside Bed & Breakfast with breathtaking views of Mt. Katahdin, Maine's highest peak. Rusticated elegance in a natural setting. Winner of the 2007 Governor's Award for Excellence in Accommodations.Winner of YANKEE MAGAZINE'S "Best Mountainside Lodge" for 2014. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
5 Lakes Lodge Millinocket, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5 Lakes Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.