We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Water Rafting Day Trips - NEOC

White Water Rafting Day Trips - NEOC
Fire Rd 20d, Millinocket, ME 04462
+1 207-723-5438
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Millinocket
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Water Rafting on the Penobscot River in Maine is one of the most spectacular and challenging whitewater river experiences in the eastern United States and has become our most popular river. The Penobscot River boasts a reputation of exhilarating rapids and breathtaking scenery. Class I-IV rapids.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greta trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been to many rafting company's and this was one of the best experiences to date!
We went with friends and family (total of 10)

Very organized, quick check in with plenty of staff to help, lunch was GREAT (I had the steak, yumm!! chicken and fish looked equally as good), I only wish....I could have had TWO cookies! Hot chocolate was also perfect given he chiily weather conditions.
Rabbit was our giuide, he was friendy, animated, funny, knowledgable and kept us all in the boat (thank God because it was 67 degrees and raining). Thanks Rabbit : )

There is a bar at the base lodge for post rafting, this was just perfect, what better way to end the day than with a cold beer (and a hot shower).

Photographers did a great job as well, we had many pictures to choose from and ended up getting the whole CD.

I would DEFINITLY use NEOC again!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“White Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a fantastic trip down the Penobscot River! We had an awesome guide that made sure everyone was safe and stayed in the boat, a first for our group! The rapids were fantastic except that there needed to be more of the level 4/5 rapids so you could really feel like this trip was an ADVENTURE! I have done WW twice now and I honestly think Kennebec is a much more exciting river to raft. Would def. go back and do it again next year but on the Kennebec. The guides, staff and accommodations were great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great group to go rafting with!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We went rafting with NEOC this weekend. We used a Groupon but had such a great time that we certainly would have paid retail! The river is beautiful, the staff excellent, and the adventure - THRILLING! Our guide was Eddie and he did an amazing job! What an exciting day we all had!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A group of five went up to do a day of whitewater rafting. It was really fun, challenging but not too hard. Some Class 5 rapids but with our guide felt pretty safe. We saw other boats flip and lose passengers which is good because we saw that it wasnt too bad. Stopped for BBQ lunch on the side of the river. I would try to find a better location for this if I was NEOC but other thant that it was a good hearty lunch (Steak, Chicken of Fish for choices). Our guide "Rabbit" was very knowledgeable about rafting, the area and outdoor activities in general. We stayed at the affiliated Twin Pine Camps in a cabin on Lake Millinocket.

It is not for anyone that is not in general good shape. We had a semi-overweight family with us in the boat and they had a hard time getting back in after swimming in the river. You have to help carry the raft and a fair amount of paddling.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Rafting, I've had better guides/service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I rafted the Penobscot River in starting in Millinocket with NEOC. The rafting trip itself was a lot of fun. I knew going into it that there weren't a lot of big rapids, so I had the right expectations. There was a lot of float time and not a lot of rapids, but nice scenery. The lunch they served was decent and the price was fair. The few large rapids on the river were exciting and the scenery was gorgeous.

The registration process was very disorganized. I told them my name and they tried to register me under someone else's name twice. I had to keep correcting them. There was no instruction on what to do next, where to get gear, where to meet at, etc. It was all a very disorganized day of registration process. I had already pre-paid and signed up for the rafting trip months ahead of time, so this was just the check in process.

The gear was borderline shady. It was certainly well-used and in need of some repair and replacement. At the end of the trip, they "photographer" on the trip took a while to get the pictures from the rafting trip ready to view. It was overall a little second-class in terms of rafting experiences. I say this from the point of view of someone who has rafted a few rivers in various states before. Most operations are more professional, more organized and have nicer gear.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at White Water Rafting Day Trips - NEOC, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your comments with our River Manager who in turn presented the information with our guides. We are working on improving our guest check-in experience. Your feedback will result in an improved experience for our summer guests. Thank you. Sincerely, Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Water Rafting Day Trips - NEOC also viewed

 

Been to White Water Rafting Day Trips - NEOC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Water Rafting Day Trips - NEOC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.