We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico Chicken Coop - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mexico Chicken Coop
32 Bridge St, Mexico, ME 04257
207-364-2710
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very poor value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We visit Rumford every other year with my Dad and usually go to the Chicken Coop at least once. They used to have great fried clams - but those days are gone. The service was terrible. The waitress messed up on several orders and charged another couple's meal to my Dad and then told us that he had offered to pay for their meal (we were at his 65th high school reunion). The prices are that of a higher class restaurant, but the food is awful! Everything was overcooked and the fried clams were heavy and greasy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Has seen better days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This used to be the place to go in the area. Fried clams was a specialty with the only salad bar around. The clams (and everything else our party ordered was way overlooked. When we complained to our server her only response was "I'm sorry". She also messed up all the bills. Even though this is one of the few restaurants in the area, we would not go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
“Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were visiting the area from out of state and should have consulted this site before eating here. I began to feel a little nauseated after eating a few bites of the seafood alfredo. The crab meat didn't look right and luckily I didn't eat any more of it. My sister had the same thing and finished most of it. She began to feel sick just after we left the restaurant and she was vomiting soon after. She continued to be sick for the next several hours. I called the restaurant and was told by the manager that "it must be that we were not used to the richness of the sauce". If you value your health, do not eat there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

WE ate at the Chicken Coop for lunch. They now have small and large meals and the prices were good also. I got the small scallop dinner in crumbs and it was excellent. My husband got the fish & chips and that was lightly breaded also and excellent. The margueritas were good too...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the Famous Chicken Coop Anymore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

For generations the Mexico Chicken Coop also known as The Coop or Chicken Coop was famous for its hunting/fishing decor and even more famous fried claims and lobster stew. Today the Mexico Chicken Coop is famous as the used to be good place where the best rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions and other important events were held. The sign is old, faded, and dingy, the parking lot empty and littered a warning to those who would stop that this place long ago saw its better days. Like Far East the Mexico Chicken Coop can ill afford to have food, service, and condition fall so with much nicer eateries of Lewiston/Auburn and Farmington just 40 minutes away and Portland just 1-1/2 hours a way. Locals looking for World Famous Fried Claims today make the trip to the Village Inn in Auburn for example.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Chicken Coop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico Chicken Coop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.