We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean decent room but, loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Paw Inn

Bear Paw Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mars Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Paw Inn
Save Saved
You added Bear Paw Inn to your Saves list
94 Main Street, Mars Hill, ME 04758   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mars Hill
Bowdoinham, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean decent room but, loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed there because there was a death in the family. We wanted to be in town an close to be with family. Not pet friendly, even though the family that owns its lives there and runs it have a big dog. Thin walls and floors! Loud with all the traffic an big trucks always going by. We had room 104 I believe right on end by road and people with kids I think above us. They were loud all the time an inconsiderate of others. Just rude! Sounded like they were picking up furniture and dropping it all the time an running around and pounding. First night was worst. There was no vanity in bathroom. Bathroom/shower was a handicapped. Don't know if all are like that. No big deal. Having no vanity sink bugged me. They had what sounded to be a young child come pounding at the door saying what sounded like do you want service. An adult should come to door saying house keeping not a toddler. Also nobody was as running front desk for the few times I went to office to grab coffee. No phones in room. Very odd to not have that an be able to call if you have issues like we did with loud guests. Decent priced rooms. 50.00 per person 10.00 per person. I would suggest request second floor away from road as far as you can get. My brother in law said second floor is a little better. If your OK with going another 10 minutes out of town to Pres isle go. We just are right down road a minute driving not even from family. Not to bad of a place. Just have ear plugs when you sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I found nothing special about this hotel. The live-in caretaker was fine, but not overly helpful. The room was clean but small. The walls are thin.
Overall it was fine but like i said, where else are you going to stay?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are huge. You can walk accross the street for breakfast in the morning before heading out, which is convenient. The only draw backs to the rooms are that there is no counter space, and unlike a hotel no coffee makers or even irons are provided in the rooms and there is traffic noise but it's such a small town it's not a big deal. Very friendly staff. Great place to stay if you are just looking for a place to stay and move on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

If you are looking for a reasonable nice place to stay, the Bear Paw Inn should be considered. The staff is very friendly and with nice clean rooms . There are restaurants very close by to the Inn. Spent 2 nights here and we had a great time and plan on returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Had 2 rooms for moose hunt. Traveled with my Wife and our Son and his Wife. Real friendly staff ( the owners) and coffee on at 5:00 am. Standard continental breakfast with cereal, juice, muffins and danish. Rooms were real clean and plenty of space with nice bathrooms. Some traffic noise but not bad. Nice diner across street. Would definitely stay there again and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

As you drive north on Route 1, going into Mars Hill, Maine, you could easily miss this little 8 room brick property on the west side of the street.

Very clean, with a small fridge in the room.

Queen size bed - room was $62.00

Route one is the major truck route up to Canada, so you will hear trucks periodically.

Across the street from Al's Diner. (great breakfasts!)

They do accept some credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Paw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Inn

Address: 94 Main Street, Mars Hill, ME 04758
Location: United States > Maine > Mars Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mars Hill
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Paw Inn Mars Hill, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Paw Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.