We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Axell's Scandinavian Inn to your Saves list
Axell's Scandinavian Inn
803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Waterbury, Vermont
1 review
“Experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I am an over the road salesman and have lived in motels throughout Utica New York and Bangor Maine for the past 171/2 years with a 5 day a week cycle. This motel that I stay at every time I come to Maine is owned and operated by mainers. How can you go wrong?
Steve Berry

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
18
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,196 helpful votes 1,196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This hotel is right on the main road from Augusta to Winthrop and has all amenties one might need INCLUDING FREE INTERNET. I love that because I travel with my laptop. Also has a nice coin laundry system, clean NEWER rooms, comfortable and in great shape.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

The room was warm, quiet, and cozy and the staff very friendly and accomodating. I was very comfortable and had a perfect stay of almost a full week. I will definitely stay at Axell's Scandinavian Inn again if needed and recommend with confidence.

  • Liked — perfect
  • Disliked — perfect
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

First off, this place isn't fancy. It's a well-priced roadside motel. The rooms are *very clean* (YAY for the best amenity any hotel can offer!), there's an on-site laundry facility and the proprietors are clearly people who are committed to being in the hospitality industry, because this place is truly hospitible and homey.

My room came with a kitchenette. All of the rooms come with a little sitting area out front - which I imagine would be nice to use in the morning (weather-permitting) to drink your coffee and read the paper or to meet other travelers.

It's very quiet here and they have BBQ facilities and some outdoor socialization areas. What a great find! Should I ever find myself in the Augusta, ME area again, I'd definitely stay here. It's a shame I can't do a second day. They even have free wi-fi.

  • Liked — Very clean rooms, well-priced, quiet-accomodations, friendly staff.
  • Disliked — It's far from where I live in CA, and far from where I need to be tomorrow, so I can't stay another day.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

My husband, along with our dog stayed here for 2 months (Dec. 07-Jan. 08) and we loved our entire stay, we didn't love all the snow and cold weather tho. We were part of a crew that was there for 2 months and our stay at the Inn made all the difference in the world. All of the rooms have a small kitchen area, but we had the one room that has a full kitchen in the main room, it also has a separate bedroom along with a private patio with its own BBQ which we used even tho there was about 2 feet of snow all around us! The owners and managers were so accommodating and friendly. We will definately stay there if we get up there again and would highly recommend them.

Mary Colburn & Dan Webster

  • Liked — the separate bedroom, full kitchen and private patio
  • Disliked — no couch in main room, had a bed in there, couch would have been nicer
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

The motel may be "old fashioned" but so are the owner's values and concerns for their guests. We were in the area with an entire work crew for 2 months and had 4 rooms between the Scandinavian Inn and their "sister" motel the Fairway Motel and Extended Stay. All rooms were clean and homey including kitchenettes. They are a pet friendly motel (two of the rooms we rented had dogs and there were others we met there with animals as well). Both the managers and owners live on site and are available to address any concerns the guests may have. They were extremely accommodating as well as friendly. We will DEFINITELY stay here again when in the area and strongly recommend these inns for either short term or long term stay. Each had at least one fire pit and there is are recreational facilities with outdoor pool, volleyball and a basketball hoop at the Fairway that guests of both inns are encouraged to use. We not only had a great experience but made great friends we will continue to stay in contact with!! SIncerely Gary Siler and Pam Tepp

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineSheila, owner at Axell's Scandinavian Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2008
Thank you guys! Hope you make it up again!

Sheila & Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

Wow!!

There's a saying, "There's no place like home." Well, whoever said that had never been to the Scandinavian Inn before! All the comforts of home—and none of the hassle. Simply terrific!

The rooms are great—clean, spacious, attractive and with all the right features and kitchen amenities. And yet by far the absolutely best part of the experience is the people!!!

Whether it’s the caring and considerate owners who live right on-site, the friendly, helpful staff who are always willing to make sure you have just what you need, or the other guests, many who are there for an extended stay, we have met some incredibly memorable people and made life-long friends.

Whenever we’re in the area, we make it a point to stay here!
It’s home away from home—without the hassle!

  • Liked — Friendly People Everywhere!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Axell's Scandinavian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axell's Scandinavian Inn

Address: 803 Western Ave, Manchester, ME 04351
Location: United States > Maine > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just west of the Augusta line, we are two, small, locally owned and operated motels with all the amenities of a large one. Innkeepers, Sheila and Kent, have worked tirelessly to make each and every guestroom unique, comfortable and full of amenities that they themselves would like to find while they are traveling. You won't find "cookie cutter" guestrooms here, all guestrooms are decorated differently, so if you don't like the style of one, we are sure we'll find one you love! When you visit, you must take a dip in the new inground, salt water, heated pool, located at the Fairway, just one mile from the Scandinavian Inn ! It is fabulous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Axell's Scandinavian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axells Scandinavian Hotel
Axells Scandinavian Motel
Axell's Scandinavian Inn Manchester, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axell's Scandinavian Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.